Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Erasers

Fret Erasers


Read 95 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An easy way to make your frets shine! Fret Erasers™ are flexible self-padded rubber blocks embedded with abrasive grits.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Erasers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0472 Complete set of 5 SAVE $3.00 Yes
$30.95

0467 Coarse (blue) Yes
$6.79

0468 Medium (red) Yes
$6.79

0469 Medium-fine (green) Yes
$6.79

0470 Fine (gray) Yes
$6.79

0471 Extra-fine (yellow) Yes
$6.79


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret End Dressing File



Essential Fretting Kit



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Fret Dressing Stick



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret End Dressing File
Essential Fretting Kit
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Polishing Wheels



Details
 Pictures
They're incredibly handy—use them in sequence as a final step on freshly-crowned frets, to erase fine file marks and scratches. The grits are color-coded for convenience. Frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth.

"I used to wrap abrasive papers around small rubber blocks, but that got a little clumsy. Fret Erasers are simpler and faster. No more sandy grit or sharp steel wool particles."
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Each Fret Eraser is 2-1/2" x 3/4" x 3/8" (63.50mm x 19.05mm x 9.52mm)

SAVE when you order the complete set of 5 grits.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 95 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 >
4 3-09-2013
One isn't enough

I bought the extra-fine and it made my frets shine but I should have also bought a different grit to better remove the scratches.

Luís Gil  Portugal Read my reviews (7)
5 3-07-2013
Great idea

Whom ever was inspired to invent these little miracles is a genius. It would be nice if some other genius invented a holder for them.

Softlad  Ireland Read my reviews (5)
5 3-06-2013
Brilliant - Nuts too

Quick and simple - buy these. Nice for frets and also awesome for nut polishing.

GM Reszel  Midwest Read my reviews (6)
4 2-12-2013
Pretty cool tools

Bought the two finest grits. These little things were pretty easy to use and did a good job. I liked what the 800 grit (grey color) did for the ends of the frets after using a Fret End Dressing File. It easily removed the smallest burrs and added a little polish to the ends. Had to use 0000 steel wool for about 30 seconds to get the shine I wanted.

staugbill  Otisfield, Maine
4 12-19-2012
Handy little things

These are very convenient for smoothing frets. But they need to add some in finer grits for real polishing, like 2000 or 3000. The Extra-Fine (yellow) is only 1000 grit. Steel wool is not good so I use 2000 wet/dry emery paper to finish. Also, fretboard needs to be well covered as these are not precise and will go through paper or tape easily.

Ed Sullivan  New York Read my reviews (4)
4 11-22-2012
Fret Erasers

I've been doing the 0000 steel wool treatment and have always HATED it! Messy, time consuming, not ideal. Enter these little life savers. Fast, easy, not messy. Some people are not happy that they get black so easy but it doesn't interfere with how they work. A simple wipe off after using them and they feel terrific. I still use tape on the fretboard as I don't want to take the chance but a more skilled person could w/o it. I have the 800 and 1000 but will be getting the full set next time :)

chrisharbin  Read my reviews (2)
5 11-21-2012
Great Erasers!

I bought a fret kit on the internet that made my frets rough. I should have known better. Buy a repair kit on a luthier site like stew mac. WOW! these erasers made my frets better than when my guitar was new, shiny and smooth. I don't know how i ever lived without them all these years. A must have for every guitarist. Thank you stew mac.

jimmmy  chicago Read my reviews (2)
5 10-17-2012
Nice.

Certainly worth trying out. I really like them, and will probably order more.

Franky  London, England Read my reviews (8)
5 10-15-2012
Forget sandpaper!

I've already burned through two sets of these. I use them for every fret dress and re-fret that I do. Great job Stew-Mac!

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
5 10-15-2012
Easy bend

Easy , fast , accurate .

mod  las vegas Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce