Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Erasers

Fret Erasers


Read 94 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An easy way to make your frets shine! Fret Erasers™ are flexible self-padded rubber blocks embedded with abrasive grits.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Erasers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0472 Complete set of 5 SAVE $3.00 Yes
$30.95

0467 Coarse (blue) Yes
$6.79

0468 Medium (red) Yes
$6.79

0469 Medium-fine (green) Yes
$6.79

0470 Fine (gray) Yes
$6.79

0471 Extra-fine (yellow) Yes
$6.79


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret End Dressing File



Essential Fretting Kit



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Fret Dressing Stick



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret End Dressing File
Essential Fretting Kit
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Polishing Wheels



Details
 Pictures
They're incredibly handy—use them in sequence as a final step on freshly-crowned frets, to erase fine file marks and scratches. The grits are color-coded for convenience. Frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth.

"I used to wrap abrasive papers around small rubber blocks, but that got a little clumsy. Fret Erasers are simpler and faster. No more sandy grit or sharp steel wool particles."
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Each Fret Eraser is 2-1/2" x 3/4" x 3/8" (63.50mm x 19.05mm x 9.52mm)

SAVE when you order the complete set of 5 grits.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 94 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 >
5 5-06-2013
Fret Eraser = Cool!

I'm always lloking for easier, simpler ways to do things, but ONLY if the results are equal to or BETTER than my normal approach. I first tried the Fret Erasers about a month ago on a '76 Strat refret, forgoing the traditional progressive sandpaper grits after leveling and crowning. They are easy to handle, conform to the shape of the frets, and the color-coding makes them easy to select on the bench. Most of all, the results are spectacular. I HIGHLY recommend these.

John R. Frondelli  New York, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-23-2013
Fret Erasers

I used this set to smooth some Tele frets that appeared to have a crack in them. They were deep enough to hang a fingernail or snag a string while bending. These erasers did a good job for me. The frets were as smooth as factory. No snags. I can recommend them.

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
1 4-17-2013
over rated

I suspected it may be hype, but ordered the full set. Well after using all 5 in order on frets on 3 gtr - then I still needed to use the steel wool. Sure many guys hate steel wool in their shop, but since these erasers have rubber in them you use a lot of pressure to even get them to work at all. And then after your hands are tired, you get to use the steel wool to finish the job anyway. 000 then 0000 steel wool vs these, not even close. Take a pass on this item.

Joes Guitar  Edmonton Read my reviews (2)
5 4-17-2013
Way Better Than Micro-Fine Paper

They're not cheap and I don't know how long they'd last for a pro, but they're worth it if only because of the wear and tear they save on your fingers. I'll never use paper for polishing frets again. I do recommend a quick pass with 0000 steel wool though. That last touch adds a good bit of "mirror" shine to the steel.

Dave F.  Bayside, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-07-2013
Excellent

Quick and easy way to shine up the frets. Any chatter marks or file marks need to be taken care of before they are used, but they create a nice finish.

Beth Mayer  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (9)
5 3-31-2013
Time Saver

Thanks to who ever dreamed these up. They have saved me so much finger breaking work and time. For me they get the frets to a point where I can do a final polish. Russ

RL Guitars  Yorktown, VA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-21-2013
No more scratches

great tool for fret polish and cleaning together with naphtha

Carlos Girón  Ny Read my reviews (28)
5 3-21-2013
Stew Mac fret erasers

These fret erasers work great...I'm saving alot of time and effort with them.

jjam47  albuquerque,NM.
5 3-18-2013
Good Addition to My Tools

I bought the entire set. It sure makes the job of polishing frets easier than my paper grit holder. Masking the fingerboard and using the erasers gets better results and is faster and less tiring to my fingers. Thanks and keep up the good work. They even work well on my silver jewelry that I make.

Thom Davis  Port Angeles, WA
4 3-09-2013
One isn't enough

I bought the extra-fine and it made my frets shine but I should have also bought a different grit to better remove the scratches.

Luís Gil  Portugal Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce