Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Erasers

Fret Erasers


Read 95 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An easy way to make your frets shine! Fret Erasers™ are flexible self-padded rubber blocks embedded with abrasive grits.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Erasers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0472 Complete set of 5 SAVE $3.00 Yes
$30.95

0467 Coarse (blue) Yes
$6.79

0468 Medium (red) Yes
$6.79

0469 Medium-fine (green) Yes
$6.79

0470 Fine (gray) Yes
$6.79

0471 Extra-fine (yellow) Yes
$6.79


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret End Dressing File



Essential Fretting Kit



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Fret Dressing Stick



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret End Dressing File
Essential Fretting Kit
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Polishing Wheels



Details
 Pictures
They're incredibly handy—use them in sequence as a final step on freshly-crowned frets, to erase fine file marks and scratches. The grits are color-coded for convenience. Frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth.

"I used to wrap abrasive papers around small rubber blocks, but that got a little clumsy. Fret Erasers are simpler and faster. No more sandy grit or sharp steel wool particles."
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Each Fret Eraser is 2-1/2" x 3/4" x 3/8" (63.50mm x 19.05mm x 9.52mm)

SAVE when you order the complete set of 5 grits.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 95 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 >
5 2-01-2014
Another great product!

These are great time-savers! Also work great for cleaning up plastic binding before final clear!

rwolfe9  Akron Oh USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-03-2014
Great!

I bought the Fine (gray) one with the intention of cleaning up the frets on my strat, and it's great! Leaves the frets nice and smooth, and the guitar now bends strings easily and it feels as it is more resonant (I may be imagining it, but it does feel that way!)

Deeespinoza  Honduras Read my reviews (4)
5 12-26-2013
Elbow grease required....but worth it

I was a bit skeptical about the fret erasers doing a good job but after years of picking out steel wool shavings from pickups, I was willing to give them a try. I recently acquired a vintage 1960's Gibson ES-330 and wanted to give it the best polish possible after leveling and re-crowning. I worked my way up to the 1000 grit eraser and resulted in frets that are mirror finish smooth. By far the best fret finish of any I have seen. Also I am so happy not to have to clean up the steel wool "hair" any more!

Mark123  Snohomish, WA Read my reviews (3)
5 11-24-2013
Need Modification

I ordered the set of Fret Erasers, and after first use I used a small round file, chain saw file, to cut a rounded groove in each Eraser, they work much better now.

zapkat  Sierra Vista, AZ Read my reviews (8)
4 11-10-2013
Good job

Good eraser but not perfect. For cleaning frets its perfect!

Sylvain  Matane Qc Read my reviews (6)
5 10-16-2013
Fret Erasers

I put off ordering these for quite awhile thinking they seemed a little expensive and I couldn't see that they would be that great. I was wrong. They do a very nice job with a little elbow grease and they are holding up really well with little wear at all. Slick.

John Standefer  Vancouver, WA Read my reviews (3)
5 10-05-2013
These are just great!

For years, I struggled with fine emery papers and wet and dry sandpaper, to give my frets a finish. It makes a repetitive job tedious, when you have to wrangle those materials. These are lovely. You use them like pencil erasers, taking the grit finer and finer, until you achieve a polished surface. Perfect for removing file marks and for presenting a professional finish to your fret work. That impresses the guitar players. Your finished frets feel lovely to play. Always use with a fret guard, though.

Michael T  UK Read my reviews (4)
4 7-22-2013
Fret Erasers

An ok product. You need to make sure the frets are smoothly filed first as the material removal rate is very fine. The make a nice polish and are not a risk for an accident like other products could be.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
4 7-10-2013
Fret Erasers

Fairly time consuming but in combination with the Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads it creates a mirror finish. Using both products I was happy with the results. The Fret Erasers are definitely going to last a very long time.

Bradley  canada Read my reviews (4)
4 6-27-2013
Work just fine

I bought these to polish up the frett work I did my SX bass. Did the job well. Easier on the fingers, and the rubber allows them to mold around the frett shape.

John Weedmark  Toronto, Canada
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce