Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Dressing Stick

Fret Dressing Stick


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The Fret Dressing Stick features interchangeable sanding belts for removing the scratches left by leveling and crowning files.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Dressing Stick
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1826 Dressing Stick with 10 belts (2 of each grit) Yes
$10.74

1827 Dressing stick only Yes
$2.89

1828 120-grit replacement belt (red), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1829 240-grit replacement belt (blue), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1830 320-grit replacement belt (green), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1831 400-grit replacement belt (yellow), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1832 600-grit replacement belt (black), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Details
 Pictures
File a notch in the end of the stick to conform to the crown of the fretwire, and with the finer-grit belts it becomes a great tool for fret polishing.

This 6" x 1/4" (152.40mm x 6.35mm) tool is spring-loaded to keep pressure on the sanding belt. A flip of your thumb rotates the belt for a fresh sanding surface.

The Dressing Stick isn't only for fret work. It's great for leveling drip marks in lacquer finishes or super glue touch-ups, for sanding inlays, for fine scroll work, and more.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 12-15-2011
Dressing Stick.

I have had one of these for a lot of years and use it for many projects even to smoothe the edge of the frets after a debur job it also makes it easier to polish the fret edges by using the finest sand paper strip no one should be without this product.

Fixit  New York Read my reviews (2)
5 10-26-2011
This tool is a Must Have!

Even my Fine and X-tra Fine diamond files cannot do what this little baby does! It's clever.

ddanze  arlington va Read my reviews (5)
5 10-12-2011
five stars

I bought one and will buy at least two more. Excellent product and if you make a small notch on the stick's tip it's perfect for dressing frets.

Filip  Romania Read my reviews (3)
5 7-20-2011
Great little tool

Works like a champ not only for dressing frets, but is extremely helpful in tight curves like mandolin scrolls.

Bill Scanlon  Keller, TX Read my reviews (9)
5 7-20-2011
Works very well

It works great. Simple yet effective. If there was one constructive comment, it would be to make a version that has a concave end, to somewhat match different fret radii. But as is, works great.

buftfan  Newport News, Va Read my reviews (3)
5 6-21-2011
On my all-star fretting team

It doesn't look like it can, but this is on my top 3 tool when it comes to fret dressing. Must have! One of the best bang for the bucks.

No name brand  Gatineau, QC, Canada Read my reviews (5)
4 6-20-2011
Works Good

Works good for all kinds of sanding applications. I use them a lot for fret dressing, saddle work, nut work, and refinishing. I sand down the ends for different angles and to shape for fret dressing.- MAtt Dreher

Spider Web Music  Howland- Warren, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
5 5-25-2011
BEST TOOL EVER

I have 14 of these around the shop. Absolutely great. I love it and it's the best tool I ever bought from Steward-MacDonald. :D

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
4 5-12-2011
Okay Tool

Does a good job. Description says you can file a notch in the end to conform to the crown of the fret. Would be better if they were sold with a groove in them just like the fret files. As cheap as it is there could be a set for narrow, medium and wide for $10 to $15. Would be worth it.

R J Adams  Waynesboro, Va Read my reviews (8)
5 4-07-2011
Nice!

awesome tool, compresses so you can change the belts easily, gets in tough places.. very cool.

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce