Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Cutter

Fret Cutter


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spend less time filing fret ends!
This is the best tool for trimming the ends off fretwire.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Cutter

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0619 Fret Cutter Yes
$28.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Puller



Fret Beveling File



Fret End Dressing File



3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Puller
Fret Beveling File
Fret End Dressing File
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
A Stewart-MacDonald exclusive, our custom-made steel cutter has improved features you won't find on hardware store nippers.

The jaws are specially hardened for fret work, and they're profiled and flush-ground to cut the wire close to the fretboard. The result is a cleaner cut without pulling the wire, so you'll need to do less filing. Longer rubber-coated handles allow better access to the frets over a guitar body.

1" (25.4mm) jaw width, 8" (203.20mm) length.

Not recommended for use with stainless-steel fretwire.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Cutter is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  9 >
1 8-17-2011
Do Not Buy!!

Chewed the ends after one fret job (stewmac wide/tall nickel wire), sent me another pair..2nd guitar build same thing happened, harder steel required!!

Adam P.  Tasmania, Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 7-07-2011
HOT KNIFE n BUTTER's got NOTHING ON THIS CUTTER

I cannot rave enough about this tool, it's the 5th cutter I've bought and the last - BRILLIANT . . . proverbial hot knife thro' butter.

MIke's Custom Guitars & FretWorx  Cape Town, South Africa
5 5-26-2011
Great set of nippers

This is a substantial set of cutters great for fret removal and trimming

BAClark  Hamilton, Ohio Read my reviews (8)
5 5-01-2011
Worth every penny!

If you are looking for a set of nippers, stop looking and buy these. I used to get cut up doing fret work with a regular set until I got these. These nippers are just easy and comfortable to use. They make filing easier too. Just look at all the reviews here. Many people obviously like these a lot and if you are reading these reviews, then you must have a desire to make your fretting work easier right? These are the answer.

Steve M.  Florida Read my reviews (3)
5 4-30-2011
excellent product

product of high quality, lightweight and easy to work, a beauty

Gilton ss  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
5 3-25-2011
great fret cutter

Smooth! A veritable pleasure to work with. It cuts so clean and saves so much tedious filing. It is also very useful for other precision cutting works.
A real must in a workshop.

Ciro Marzio  Napoli - Italy Read my reviews (12)
5 3-14-2011
Works great

I used these to trim the ends of fretwire on my first dulcimer build. They work great. Very sharp and easy to use. A high quality tool. I also found they will cut small screws with ease. I recommend.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
5 3-06-2011
really sharp and strong

To be honest I have only used this for cutting strings but I love it already. It makes even Bass strings feel like butter.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 3-01-2011
they do the job and more

these cutters not only cut close and clean..they also work great for fret bending.. and the price is right.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
5 2-22-2011
Fret Cutter

Very nice tool, I had previously tried to make my own from a standard end cutter, but none of my attempts would cut as great as this does. Makes a nice, square cut and up close too!

Carefulwithax  Las Cruces, NM, USA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce