Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 >
4 7-25-2011
Fingerboard guards

Neat little device, sturdy; does the job; very useful.

dangereye  charlotte nc Read my reviews (2)
5 6-02-2011
Perfect...

THE right tool, at a great price.

Randy S.  Richmond, VA
Customer supplied image for review
4 5-25-2011
A few ideas...

In honesty I haven't used these yet. I can tell they will prove handy but You fellows should make them in different sizes (ie. ones that correspond with the distance between frets).

Peter Sorensen  Wellington, New Zealand
4 5-14-2011
Fret board covers

Excellent product priced right, but I go find that you will need to cut a few down because they won"t fit higher up the fretboard on most guitars.

PVL  Winnipeg, Canada Read my reviews (5)
4 5-09-2011
Good but needs improvements

These work but are awkward. They are a pain in the butt to hold down when using a marker. Other than that they do what they are intended to do.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
3 4-24-2011
Mixed results

I found these totally useless on vintage frets. The slots are too wide and the guards themselves are awkward to hold without your thumb being in the way. Even when I got one in place there was very little of the leveled fret accessible due to the thickness of the guard.

Then I tried them on another neck with medium jumbo frets and got a much better result. The slot was a closer fit to the fret width. Once I got my technique down I moved right along. I can see using these for quick work on a couple of frets but if I am going to work the entire fret board I'm going to stick with taping.

K Moran  Northborough, MA Read my reviews (3)
5 4-23-2011
Perfect

These are a must for bringing those tired frets back to life.

Chewy  Cleveland, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
4 4-17-2011
Good idea, but needs refining

They are a good idea but I had to customize them in order to make them work. Generally anything medium and above fretwire, in my case, didn't fit, also 20th fret and above they were too wide to really fit between the frets (in some cases actually marking the neighbouring frets, so... I can suggest to enlarge the slot by 1mm and make the side narrower by at least 1mm, and the thing is since there are 6 in the set you can make the sides narrower only on one or two, sides work ok on hi lower frets. I do find them easier to use than taping when doing just quick fixes on marks on the frets.

Tim Gospodinov  NYC Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
3 4-03-2011
Nice, works ok.. hard to hold onto.

To me, it's just easier to do a good tape job on the fb. These are clumsy to hold while working on the frets. Maybe I'm doing it wrong?

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
4 3-04-2011
It's a great idea but . . .

If you are using this with steel wool I really wouldn't suggest it. For starters you have to get the wool very condensed and small so you don't scratch the fingerboard. However I think I am going to purchase the Dremel multi wheel fret polisher thing and I suspect it will be much more practical. For now I will stick (no pun intended) to painters tape. It allows me to polish fret side to side and up and down.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce