Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 >
5 2-22-2012
Fingerboard Guards

This simple idea makes the job very easy. No more masking tape or adhesive issues. A real time saver.

ChrisJ  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 2-10-2012
Real time savers.

I previously would do the standard "painters tape" and Micromesh method to polish frets. The stainless guards save me about 40 minutes perjob now. My only suggestion is to wrap the outer edges with tape to prevent the sharp sides from digging in to the fretboard which can happen from time to time. I highly reccomend these as a real time saver!

Bob Scoby,
Scoby Guitars

Robert Scoby  Memphis,TN
4 2-07-2012
Generally good

I like these, you get 6 for not much money and they mostly work well. Only issue is getting towards the high end of the fretboard, especially with wide frets, where you'll have to file the guards to be narrower if you want it to fit.

J. Carter  Manchester, UK Read my reviews (4)
5 1-31-2012
great!!!

used these on a recent refret...worked like a charm and has a way better choice than the ol' tape trick..in conjuction with the diamond files they are a win win go to tool in my box

will lee  savannah, ga Read my reviews (9)
5 1-06-2012
This is a time saver

I had several of this in the past. But it is good to have more. Great little tools but for the higher frets it is necessary to make them smaller.It is also usefull to have some bended 90 degrees to work at the end of a fret. Great to save the frentboard when polishing frets with a Dremel

Martin Fuerstenau  Unterfoehring Read my reviews (10)
4 12-17-2011
Quality!

Good idea!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
4 10-12-2011
Saves the fretboard

A very good product, I just wish that you will make some narrower guards for the higher frets

Filip  Romania Read my reviews (3)
3 10-01-2011
good idea but..

I prefer using tape

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
5 9-02-2011
Clean up your guitar!

Indispensable tool for cleaning frets without scratching the fingerboard. Fits all kind of frets.

Fred Carpita  Rome, Italy Read my reviews (8)
5 8-31-2011
Must Have

I use these while doing anything from cleaning to shaping frets. Does a great job protecting the fingerboard.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce