Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 >
5 7-02-2013
fingerboard guards

Great for protecting the fret board while crowning or polishing or shaping fret ends after replacing frets. They can be just a bit too wide to fit between the frets once you get to the 19th fret, but they're easily trimmed with shears or scissors.

Billy M  Baker, LA Read my reviews (10)
4 5-24-2013
works well

only product on market I know of. some ways to use them would be good. it is an exploratory operation. hindsight suggests taping or bending to fit neck and using 2 or 3 at once with tape.

airman  NC Read my reviews (2)
4 5-15-2013
Love these things!

Tape, tape and more tape..... Or not? I prefer or not! Always protect surfaces where needed but these are time and finish savers. A pack will last you many jobs and are well worth the money. A must for polishing and will save you a fortune in tape.

DLan  Vancouver, Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 4-23-2013
Fingerboard Guards

I used these items while smoothing and polishing frets on several guitar necks. They may not fit every application, but they are ahead of anything else I've seen.I would not want to be without them. They save a lot of time. I can recommend this item.

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
1 4-09-2013
Close to useless...

If you have jumbo frets these may not fit over the entire fret. As already mentioned in other reviews, these have no use beyond the 19th fret. Why list this as a "set of 6"??? This is not a set at all, this is 6 of the same item. User beware, heed the negative reviews.

MrMesh  Europe
5 3-24-2013
Fingerboard Guard

I like to clean my frets when I change a set of strings and the paper guards I got with the cleaning paper don't hold up real well. These metal guards were exactly what I was looking for.

Jim T  Newton,H
5 3-18-2013
Love 'em!

I make tape wings for mine to make quick polishing jobs even quicker.

JSlugman  Fairfield, California Read my reviews (2)
5 2-09-2013
Buy some.

If you are filing frets a bit or just polishing up these things are magic! For 10 bucks .... wow ... ya never really have to tape off fret boards any more. Easily worth the money, I'd buy them if they cost double.

RockinRonnie  Ontario Read my reviews (5)
5 2-07-2013
I was desperately seeking a way to clean frets.

I have been spraying necks for over a year and building Fender style guitars the way I choose; it has become a problem cleaning the clear coat off the maple frets and one day I found in the stew-mac catalog just what I needed, I will be using the Fretboard guards from now on and now makes my projects take much less time. Thank you Stewart MacDonald!

Jbyland  Palmdale, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-02-2013
Essential tool!

An essential tool for filing or polishing frets!

Roger Sadowsky  NY, NY Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce