Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 >
5 11-06-2013
Dose the job

Well thought out - good size assortment - makes the job easy

banjomobile  NYC Read my reviews (3)
4 11-01-2013
Does the job

Like others, I would have preferred the collection to have graduated widths, but it was quick work with my snips to "correct" a couple of them to fit the narrower spacing of the upper neck. Otherwise, they do the job nicely and save time in taping off the fingerboard. They also allow me to apply a little more aggressive pressure to my polishing media than I could do with tape. 5 stars reserved for when they come already graduated in width at this price.

Angelwood  IN Read my reviews (11)
4 10-22-2013
Fretboard Guard

It does exactly what it promises to do: protect your board from scratches... but as the distance between frets gets narrower you simply have to "trim" one or two of the 6 "guards" to fit around 18th and up frets

psaltis john  greece Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-05-2013
Invaluable

I used to make my own guards, but could never quite get them thin enough or make the fret slot without opening one end. That meant they were less stable and had a tendency to splay out. These are closed on both ends, with the slot perfectly stable. The material used is also very thin, so you can get right to the base of the fret wire. It's also flexible, so it conforms to the radius of the fretboard. If you are doing fret polishing and dressing, these are invaluable. They prevent you marking the fretboard with missed and accidental strokes. The safety provided also lets you put a little elbow grease into the fret finishing, without fear of catastrophic scratches to the inlay or wood.

Michael T  UK Read my reviews (4)
5 10-05-2013
Very handy!

This is a very handy item. Really helps speed up the fret work process. Good stuff!

Peter  Edmonton, Alberta Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 9-18-2013
Cool gadget

These work great but as many others have stated. It would be nice to buy a set to accommodate all sizes, such as narrower ones for 19,20,21 frets etc. larger slots to fit jumbos etc. When that set comes out, I want to be first in line.

Kelly T  dededo,guam Read my reviews (13)
4 9-04-2013
No brainer

If you work on Ebony and Maple, these are a no brainer purchase. Also great to protect the fretboard during fret work.little thin for most modern jumbo frets though. Would like to see a guaged option.

XevKai  St.Clair Shores, Michigan Read my reviews (11)
3 8-25-2013
size matters

Great for the lower frets on the neck, had to cut one down for the upper frets. should sell both sizes.

Trebor  Apollo Beach,Florida
5 7-26-2013
Protect!

Great guards for protecting you fretboard while cleaning, polishing or repairing.

n17r0uS  Almaty, KZ Read my reviews (23)
4 7-07-2013
Like a charm

I use these all the time when polishing frets and they are a neat product, and will last a long time. However, I would really like to see one more fingerboard guard with a slot big enough for wider frets :) -GitFix-

Preben Kobro  Arendal, Norway Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce