Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Behlen Naphtha Solvent

Behlen Naphtha Solvent


Read 12 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Naphtha solvent is safe for use on most metal surfaces or guitar finishes, to remove waxes, grime, oils and sticker adhesives.

See details below

Email a friend
Behlen Naphtha Solvent

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0775 1 quart
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.48


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Medium Fretwire



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Polishing Cloth



StewMac Medium Fretwire
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Polishing Cloth



Details
 Pictures
 Video
It can be used to help remove oils and waxes from wood surfaces before finishing, and is recommended for cleaning oils from fretwire prior to installation. 1 quart.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 12 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 9-28-2013
Excellent cleaning solvent

It's no "GOO-BE-GONE" and that's lucky because that stuff doesn't clean a guitar finish in between coats. I have refinished and new finished several mandolins, guitars and basses and Naphtha is hands down the best cleaner when you're not looking for stripper. And hopefully you don't see the results, that's the idea! Use this stuff it just plain works.

Dave Dennis  Eaton Rapids, MI Read my reviews (10)
5 6-20-2013
Works Great

I use this to clean all sorts of items on my instruments now. It is a great way to get rid of oils and grease on multiple surfaces.

Terence  Missouri Read my reviews (15)
2 4-20-2013
No Visible Results

I attempted to remove glue residue from my 50-yr old Gibson flat-top and its pickguard, which had fallen off. Could not see any significant results. There was not a lot of residue, so I re-attached the pickguard with no further cleaning... hope it lasts.

Curlyjm  Wausau, WI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-21-2013
everything you need to clean

a product that surprised me at the time to use it, is the heart of a guitar shop, I keep using it and I love it

Carlos GirĂ³n  Ny Read my reviews (28)
5 2-22-2013
Great Product!!

Really Helpful for Cleaning dirty fretboard.

Matan  Dimona, ISR Read my reviews (5)
3 7-06-2012
Behlen Naphtha Solvent

A good product

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 4-06-2012
Great stuff

This has been a must have on my Les Paul build.

Clinton mills  Louisa, kentucky Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-04-2011
great for cleaning many parts on the guitar.

Great product for cleaning gummy dirt etc... Also, great for cleaning dirty tuning machines.

Set-up Technician  Solon,Ohio Read my reviews (18)
5 5-28-2011
YOU WANT IT CLEAN

This item is a must, don't even start a project without it. If it is not clean when staining a fingerboard that stain will come up you must remember the oil and the dirt on the board has been there for a long time and will serve as a repellant using Naphtha will cure the problem it cleans the wood so it is able to take the stain the way it should. And guess what no residue stain on your fingers. Try this you wont be sorry

Harv  Arnold Missouri Read my reviews (3)
5 3-10-2011
We use it everywhere

I clean tuners, fretwire, new strings, bridges, you name it. I'll soak parts overnight or longer in it on antique restorations as well. In small amounts I'll use it to help clean the gunk that collects on older fingerboards against the frets! It's just a great all round cleaner to have in the shop.

TWO PRO LUTHIER TRICKS: [1] Clean your strings before putting them on. Solder [tin] the loop ends carefully for maximum sound transfer and aid in tuning stability. [2] Apply a spray carnuba wax to strings [wipe of excess well] just before stringing up. Do these things and you'll be as prepared and sound as good as any top pros today! For Pro Shops, it's a great little extra touch you can tell your clients about! These days we need that edge to keep them coming back!
GREG GUITARS

doc  southport, nc Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce