Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw

Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw


Read 62 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our Fret Slotting Saw has a rigid brass spine, and a comfortable traditionally-turned hardwood handle with ferrule. It looks right at home on a luthier's workbench.

See details below

Email a friend
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5745 Saw and depth stop Yes
$36.13

5744 Saw only Yes
$28.36


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Work Step-By-Step



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Work Step-By-Step
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series



Details
 Pictures
Sheffield steel blade.
Make no mistake: this is NOT a standard hardware megamart backsaw! We started with a blade of legendary corrosion-resistant Sheffield steel, and specified .023" width to match our fretwire. We insisted on precision pull-cut teeth, to greatly reduce blade flex and jamming in harder fingerboard woods. Lastly, we designed an easy to use, removable clear acrylic depth stop. It slides up or down, with thumbscrews to precisely set any fret slot depth.

And one more thing: this saw works seamlessly with our Fret Slotting Miter Box.

The acrylic depth guide can be adjusted to expose as much as 1/4" of the blade, and is removable for cutting off the ends of a blank fingerboard. It's also sold separately.

Overall length 15-1/4" (387.35mm)
Cutting length 10" (254mm)
Blade depth 1-3/4" (44.45mm)

Cut accurate 90-degree slots when you use the saw with our Fret Slotting Miter Box. Add a Fret Scale Template and you'll never miscalculate your fret positions.


Need help calculating your fret locations?
Our online fret scale calculator can calculate any scale length you want to use. It will also give you accurate measurements for locating the bridge on your instrument.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 62 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7 >
5 1-07-2011
Fretting Saw

Very good quality, cuts well in ebony too.

Mack Guitarworks  Hungary/Europe Read my reviews (11)
4 12-30-2010
Fretting saw & miter box

Miter Box is a must. Great. On my third saw, they dull easily, can sharpen only once. Next time will get the Jap saw.

Robert Smith  Spring Grove, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 12-29-2010
Makes life a little easier.

When used with the templates, it's very accurate. I was able to slot my first board in just a few minutes.

RT Basses  Willow Street, PA Read my reviews (3)
5 12-18-2010
Fret saw and depth stop

Being an avid woodworker/guitar maker/player, I have come up with some custom guitars for myself. Until recently, I just ordered the preslotted FB. Now,I decided to go into some custom ukele styles and because it is difficult to order FB with smaller scales. I decided to get the saw and depth stop and made my own miter box.

First use was for a Cigar Box guitar, using a S-M preslotted FB as a reference with a blank rosewood FB that I can get locally. Next I'm cutting fret slots for a 15 inch scale uke.

CarverDan  Ottawa Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-15-2010
One flaw

In my opinion this is a great saw. It cuts fast and effortlessly. Only problem I have is the cut ends up being wider than the fret tangs. So if you buy this saw you will also need a fret fitter.(under pliers, nippers, etc.)

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
1 12-03-2010
The saw

I bought the set and wish I had bought the Japanese saw, as the one I got is so dull it will barely cut pine. I would not recommend the saw that comes with the set.

Al Pryor  Berryville, Arkansas, USA
4 11-27-2010
Its great

I bought this for a couple of my projects and has worked great except one problem is the screws on the depth stop keep coming loose so i just put some plumbing tap on it and has worked great


a definite buy!

Kyle  Utah
4 11-07-2010
Great for a small shop

I do a small number of fretboards from scratch. This tool works so nicely. Don't try to cut your fret slots without a product like this.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
5 11-04-2010
Should have got it sooner

I spent way more time improvising than in doing it right with this saw and miter box. It saves time and money and makes a much better fretboard.

Huntzmeyer  IL Read my reviews (5)
5 9-09-2010
Great Tool!

I bought my first miter box 5 years ago,It still work in my old shop,no problem was found.Great design,great quality!

Zhao Hong Bo  China Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce