Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw

Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw


Read 62 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our Fret Slotting Saw has a rigid brass spine, and a comfortable traditionally-turned hardwood handle with ferrule. It looks right at home on a luthier's workbench.

See details below

Email a friend
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5745 Saw and depth stop Yes
$36.13

5744 Saw only Yes
$28.36


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Work Step-By-Step



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Work Step-By-Step
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series



Details
 Pictures
Sheffield steel blade.
Make no mistake: this is NOT a standard hardware megamart backsaw! We started with a blade of legendary corrosion-resistant Sheffield steel, and specified .023" width to match our fretwire. We insisted on precision pull-cut teeth, to greatly reduce blade flex and jamming in harder fingerboard woods. Lastly, we designed an easy to use, removable clear acrylic depth stop. It slides up or down, with thumbscrews to precisely set any fret slot depth.

And one more thing: this saw works seamlessly with our Fret Slotting Miter Box.

The acrylic depth guide can be adjusted to expose as much as 1/4" of the blade, and is removable for cutting off the ends of a blank fingerboard. It's also sold separately.

Overall length 15-1/4" (387.35mm)
Cutting length 10" (254mm)
Blade depth 1-3/4" (44.45mm)

Cut accurate 90-degree slots when you use the saw with our Fret Slotting Miter Box. Add a Fret Scale Template and you'll never miscalculate your fret positions.


Need help calculating your fret locations?
Our online fret scale calculator can calculate any scale length you want to use. It will also give you accurate measurements for locating the bridge on your instrument.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 62 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  7 >
2 10-29-2012
Decent saw, but baffling shortcoming

I'm a little disappointed with this item because, though the saw seems fine, the depth guide has limited adjustability. If you want to make slots only as deep as the tang on the frets you plan to install, the depth guide will not adjust low enough to permit slots that shallow. Not even close. I don't remember the measurement, but the shallowest cut the guide would permit was about twice the depth of the tang.

Pentatonic Chronic  Santa Cruz, CA
5 9-19-2012
Fret saw works great

My old fret saw (purchased from Stew-Mac at least 30 years ago) was dull so I bit the bullet and ordered a new one. I didn't get the acrylic guides because they wouldn't work with my fret jig. The Vita-guitar I was repairing has an odd string length so I broke out a jig I made years ago. In essence it is a miter box with a screw-feed table, similar to a milling machine. The screw is a 1/4 20 threaded rod so each turn of the wheel is .050". The wheel is divided into 50 equally spaced marks on the circumference which allows me to dial directly to .001" (in theory) In practice it is well withing the variation in the saw kerf. I used the fret spacing calculator to get the fret locations and cut all the slots in about 20 minutes.

Fred Gosbee  Round Pond, ME Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
3 9-18-2012
Decent saw.

My saw cuts an accurate slot that accepts the fret-tang readily, but it really needed a polish, set and sharpening before it would cut easily.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 9-06-2012
XXX

It does its job perfectly, with my little hands, girl hands !!! Easy to manipulate.

Annieviolette  France Read my reviews (3)
5 8-29-2012
Perfect partner

A perfect partner to the Miter Box. Nice rigid blade.

sgregoryjones  Australia Read my reviews (5)
5 8-27-2012
Super!

Used this on my first build and it worked perfectly.. it's always a bit scary working on fret slots, but I don't think it gets much easier than with this saw!

Bigfoot Guitars  India Read my reviews (3)
4 7-14-2012
A nice saw :-)

my only issue with this saw is the handle not wanting to stay in place without glue. I have also found for my old broken wrists and hands I am building a more ergonomic shaped handle. These so called faults are my physical issues not the product

DocT  New Zealand Read my reviews (5)
5 6-18-2012
Great saw.

Great tool to make precise cuts for my CBG necks. Love the depth stop.

Michel Boissonneault  Qu√™bec, Cab Read my reviews (9)
5 4-08-2012
StewMac does it again

Great little saw,combined with the table saw makes new build fret boards a breese.Perfect match for StewMac fret wire,as always great products and service from StewMac makes my life easier.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 3-28-2012
ok

ok ... muito bom ... gostei...

OTANIEL  CASCAVEL, PR, BRASIL Read my reviews (25)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce