Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : 4" Radius Blocks

4" Radius Blocks


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Radius wood blocks for spot-leveling frets and fingerboards, just add sandpaper. Short length is great for working on compound radii. They make great fret-gluing cauls, too!

See details below

Email a friend
4 Radius Blocks
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0410 7-1/4" radius Yes
$10.80

0404 9-1/2" radius Yes
$10.80

0411 10" radius Yes
$10.80

0414 11" radius Yes
$10.80

0412 12" radius Yes
$10.80

0407 14" radius Yes
$10.80

0408 15" radius Yes
$10.80

0413 16" radius Yes
$10.80

0409 17" radius Yes
$10.80

0402 20" radius Yes
$10.80


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items





Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



8 Radius Blocks



8 Radius Blocks Essential Set



4" Radius Blocks Essential Set
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
8" Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks Essential Set



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Create an accurate radius quickly and without guesswork.
We make these hardwood blocks for use with Stikit Abrasives, to radius a fretboard quickly, accurately and without guesswork.

Shaping fingerboards: use 80 through 220-grit
Leveling frets: use 220 through 400-grit

When working on compound radius fretboards, simply change blocks as you progress along the neck.

These 4" blocks are used for spot leveling, and can also be used as a radiused clamping caul when gluing frets. The longer 8" blocks are better for consistent, full-fingerboard radius leveling.

Dimensions: 4" (101.60mm) long x 2-3/4" (69.85mm) wide

What's your radius?
Quickly find the curvature of a fingerboard or bridge with a set of radius gauges. Use them frequently to check your work as you smooth or shape a fingerboard or frets: a quick visual check keeps you from accidentally altering the shape—a mistake that's easy to make and hard to fix.

Radius Gauges


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
4 Radius Blocks
4" Radius Blocks
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 2-20-2014
The right shape!

Ahhh...perfectly shaped. A few quick runs over and I was done.

seb  Sydney Read my reviews (2)
4 2-08-2014
Neat

Works as advertised. Takes a lot of elbow grease.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
5 10-19-2013
Absloutely Perfect

Definitely saved time and makes sure the radius is constant. I have several different blocks for several different needs.

CDC  Austin, TX Read my reviews (11)
5 6-14-2013
Handy tool

Very handy tool. Next time i'll buy the longer aluminum one. I feel there is a need for them both

Gustav  Sweden Read my reviews (18)
5 4-18-2013
Serves its' purpose

Does exactly as it's intended to. I have both short and long one and love them both.

Smitty Lange  Erath, LA Read my reviews (4)
5 9-27-2012
Works as expected -

Not the first one I've purchased - Works great and I'm sure I'll purchase more.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 9-13-2012
radius block

works fine , once you get the hang of it

bluesplayerx  ca Read my reviews (9)
5 6-17-2012
Excellent sanding block!

I didn't even shop around for where else I might have gotten a 16" radius sanding block (since StewMac always comes through for me, and FAST). But this was a VERY nice block, consistent. Did exactly what I needed it to do, and the price was pretty good. The project I used this on was an ESP Ltd B-255 that I converted to fretless (defretted, slot-filled w epoxy & rosewood dust, then covered the fingerboard with about 2mm of epoxy). Used this block to sand the epoxy on the fingerboard back to correct 16" radius. Worked Great!

Pat K  Cleveland, OH Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-02-2012
Very good tool

Stewmac is very consistent with their products, this is the second block i bought, i have the 8" long one and i just wanted to get the shorter one to do a spot-radius correction near the heel of my fretless j-bass (approx. positions 15 - 20). Both blocks look just about perfect.

Quicksilver44  FL Read my reviews (2)
5 4-11-2012
4" Wooden Radius-sanding Blocks

I purchased the 9.5" radius block to refinish the frets of my 1999 Strat. Using progressively finer sand paper (400-1000)and finishing with 0000 steel wool, the results could not have been better. The block is high quality and worked flawlessly. All frets are of uniform height and shine like new. My guitar looks and plays better than ever.

username  Napa, CA
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce