Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Finishing : Spraying : Airbrush Outfit

Airbrush Outfit


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

You'll get fine control for spot lacquer finishing, stain retouching and custom graphics with this affordable, easy to clean airbrush set.

See details below

Email a friend
Airbrush Outfit

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5439 Airbrush Outfit Yes
$26.55

5440 Extra 2-ounce jar with lid Yes
$1.99
6 or more $1.59  


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Mixing Cups



Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Mixing Cups
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Seagrave Nitrocellulose Spraying Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
 Video
We've used it with good results, and we think it's a great value.

The outfit includes everything you need to hook up to your compressor and spray at 15-60 psi. The siphon-feed airbrush has a .4mm nozzle and adjustable fluid cap.

Unlike other airbrushes that have an annoyingly stiff plastic hose, this one includes a 10-ft. flexible braided hose that gives you a full range of motion.

Two extra glass jars are supplied for mixing and thinning lacquer and stains (many other airbrushes have plastic jars that can react with solvents and finishes). These 2-ounce jars are handy for storing partially used mixes.

Lacquer should be strained and thinned 1:1 before spraying. Not recommended for spraying waterbase finishes.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Airbrush Outfit
Airbrush Outfit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
4 3-08-2012
need instructions

nice unit but it would be nice to have a small assembly and basic use instruction for those who have never used an air brush.

steve maresch  accokeek md
5 2-15-2012
The secret to successful shading

I recently completed an A-style kit mandolin and needed someway to give it that traditional shaded burst look. My 8 oz touch up gun does a nice overall spray, but has trouble with areas that join at an angle (neck/body, fretboard overhand, etc). This airbrush was the solution to my shading problems. I was able to fill in the hard to reach areas and do a nice even tapered burst. Money very well spent.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-04-2012
Airbrush!

I bought this to teach myself how to airbrush my guitar builds! Turns out,it's better than some of the more expensive brands and much simpler to use and clean! Thank you!

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-03-2012
touch up-grade

finally moved into the latest century and put down the artist brush....this little unit works well for all my touch up needs.

mark dearborn  mirror lake nh Read my reviews (6)
5 12-21-2011
Sunburst

I have been making an A-2 copy and wanted to get a vintage sunburst. I had tried hand application but wasn't happy with it. Saw your video and found the price of your airbrush reasonable and after a few practice runs was able to get a VERY NICE vintage sunburst with water based dyes. Good sturdy item--Thanks

Mike Ziegler  Burlington, VT
5 12-19-2011
Great air brush kit

This kit is not very expensive but do the job,,nice flow,not to wide,just enough,braided hose (not plastic)and very easy to clean. For the price its a very good kit, try it and you'll see.

Denys  Gatineau,Quebec,Canada Read my reviews (8)
4 9-15-2011
Airbrush Outfit.

This airbrush works pretty well provided that you have properly thinned whatever you are spraying. Comes with an extra glass container w/lid, and additional glass containers are very reasonably priced. I bought a couple extra. The plastic lid/paint supply, being plastic, is a little bit flimsy and you only get one of them. Don't know if replacements can be purchased, but the possibility of breakage is of some concern. It's pretty easy to clean up after use, and it worked well for my purposes.

The Brave one  Iowa City, IA
2 9-11-2011
I Kinda Like It, But...

Still getting used to it...seem to be having problems with controlling the amount of spray-it's a small gap between way to much and just a little bit, no matter how much I fuss with the adjustment, or my compressor air pressure, and sometimes it just sputters & spits. Also the trigger is a bit unpredictable too...

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
5 5-17-2011
Nice affordable airbrush

This is a very nice little airbrush kit.I ordered an extra glass sealable paint jar and now have three paint jars.All of the seals for the air brush come with it but they include extra seals.All you need is a little air compressor and some fittings and your ready to go.I thought it couldn't hurt to have a little air brush around.The compressors are very cheap to buy and it beats painting with cans.The colortone aerosol is very awesome stuff if you know how to use it but nothing beats having extra spray pressure and a more even coat.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
4 5-04-2011
Airbrush

Great little helper although I can't find an adaptor that screws on the UK propellant can that fits the tubing! Sure it is excellent as have similar 'Badger' ones here in UK that are reliable for touchups when you know what you are doing.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 40 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce