Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Finishing : Buffing : Foam Polishing Pads

Foam Polishing Pads


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get a high gloss finish with your hand drill! Shaped pads are great for guitar body contours.

See details below

Email a friend
Foam Polishing Pads

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3414 Large, 5-1/2" dia. Yes
$15.95
2 or more $14.36  

3410 Small, 3" dia. Yes
$11.98
2 or more $10.79  

3409 Hourglass, 3" dia. Yes
$11.98
2 or more $10.79  

3411 Cone, 3-1/8" dia. Yes
$11.98
2 or more $10.79  

3420 All 4 sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$47.89


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Polishing Compounds



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



ColorTone Waterbase Lacquer

Micro Finishing Papers



StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



ColorTone Polishing Compounds
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
ColorTone Waterbase Lacquer
Micro Finishing Papers
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
High gloss finishes without swirl marks
Fits variable-speed hand drills

Your finishes can have a more professional look when you use these fiber-free foam buffing pads. They're perfect for applying polishing compounds with your power buffer or variable-speed hand drill.

Foam polishing pads are perfect for applying polishing compounds, like our ColorTone Polishing Compounds. The gentle polishing action helps avoid swirl marks, fine scratches and burn-through, leaving a beautiful mirror-gloss surface.

For the small shop or casual builder, this is a great way to get factory-quality finishes without tedious hand polishing or expensive buffing equipment. Larger well-equipped shops find foam pads handy for getting into tight areas for fast spot refinishing, too. Each pad has a 1/4" arbor—you can use it in a drill press or variable-speed hand drill.

"Hourglass and cone-shaped pads are great for getting into guitar cutaways and hard-to-reach contours. I find a use for them all!"
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Important: A separate pad should be used for each grade of polishing compound, to avoid adding scratches to the finish. Apply the compounds in sequence, from coarse to fine grades.

Using a foam buffer in a hand drill on Junior Brown Guit-SteelsĀ®
Using a foam buffer in a hand drill on Junior Brown Guit-Steels
Using a foam buffer in a hand drill on Junior Brown Guit-SteelsĀ® Read more

In this issue:
When a pedestal buffer can't accommodate the shape of Junior Brown's famous Guit-Steels, Michael Stevens finds that a simple foam buffer does a great job!
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Foam Polishing Pads
Foam Polishing Pads
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 >
5 1-10-2013
Worked great

Great time saver. Highly recommend if using Nitrocellulose finish.

UncleHammy  Towanda, Kansas Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-25-2012
Time saver!

The 3" is VERY handy! I've got my eye on the larger size for my next one. Nice to see there are more shapes available now..

CWaggs  Illinois Read my reviews (44)
5 9-18-2012
Large 5-1/2" Dia.

These are great for quick buffing jobs when you want to do a light buffing or can't be bothered firing up the pedestal buffer.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 8-15-2012
great quality pads

great pads. if you take care of them , they will last quite ahwile. i use them all the time . i also have an arbor machine for the big jobs. thanks larry, riedell guitars

larry riedell  grafton, wisconsin Read my reviews (10)
5 7-21-2012
Pro Finish ,Foam Polishing Pad

Be sure to get all sizes it makes the job so easy. Clean up was easy, I put the pads on a small tray of soapy water and let them soak. "Do not allow the water to exceed any more than an 1/8th of the pad just enough to remove the polish area on the pad. Ten Stars to Stew Mac

Doug Lewis  Glen Burnie, Md. USA
4 7-07-2012
Worth every penny!

Great product. It works best if you have multiples so you are not using different "grits" of polish on the same pad.

Wv Bluesman  Suwanee, Ga Read my reviews (4)
3 6-28-2012
kinda pricey for what you get

but good luck finding anything else that you can stick on the end of a drill . I would recommend cleaning out the sponge with cold clean water after each use.

Garry  Los Angeles CA Read my reviews (4)
4 6-28-2012
polishing pads

For the price they are pretty good you certainly wont get a factory finish with these also to watch out for make sure what ever you polish it is tied down if your drill is rapid it will fling it across the room best used on a bench drill holding your project with both hands also watch out for over heating it will drag finish off your project if your not careful
final thing stewmac offers the best service bar none cheers

ukmanufactured  england Read my reviews (9)
2 6-19-2012
Polishing Pad

I purchased a guitar refinish kit of paint, clear coat, sand paper, three grades of polish, swirl remover and the Polishing pad. Everything was of outstanding quality and function except the pad. I used it with the swirl remover polish. It seemed to leave fine marks in the paint more obvious than what the fine polish had left (which was next to none). I used a Black and Decker orbital foam pad instead on a B/D random orbital sander/polisher and it took out the pads marks and any swirl on the paint. I believe the pad had too course a quality for fine buffing work. I may use it with a courser grade of buffing compound for rough polishing after sanding.

R.L.Vitt  Folsom, Ca
1 6-07-2012
Buffing Pads in a Drill??

Well, here's my take on these pads. Although they are fairly nice pads, I find buffing a whole guitar with a drill, and these pads VERY awkward. I totally give a thumbs up for smaller projects like blending, or a headstock. BUT having the weight of the machine directly over the pad creates a situation where you cannot keep even pressure as your hands get tired. The thing that bothered me about this product was that I have a $300 Bosch variable speed sander polisher, and couldn't use it. So I've had to stop, and order pads from other suppliers and wait for them to arrive. Also the consistency of the pads should correspond to the polishing compounds. :( I'm not complaining, just asking. There are some really great power hand tools out there that can do a much better job than a pad chucked in a drill. I have hours of sanding and lac application, and these pads seems cheesy to me. Just my opinion. I am a loyal Stew Mac customer!!

WinstonF  St. Charles, MO Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce