Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Humbucker Helpers

Humbucker Helpers


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spring tamers for easy pickup assembly.
Dan Erlewine devised this set of steel clips to hold a humbucker together.

See details below

Email a friend
Humbucker Helpers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0066 Humbucker Helpers Yes
$8.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Pickup Height Springs



Pickup Height Screw for Strat



Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Pickup Height Springs
Pickup Height Screw for Strat
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Flat Bodies



Details
 Pictures
Installing the screws, springs and mounting ring on a humbucking pickup can be a pain, especially when the pickup's already wired into the guitar. The springs tend to go flying off while you're fumbling to hold everything together. Let our handy humbucker clips do the work instead!

This set of two simple stainless steel clips holds the springs, height screws, and mounting ring together as a single assembly and prevents the springs from flying across your shop. Just set it over the pickup, turn the screws into the pickup mounting tabs, and pull away the clips. They make a clumsy operation a breeze, with less chance of scratching the guitar top.

Thanks to Dan Erlewine for developing these handy helpers!
"They are always on my bench, I don't remove, or install, a humbucker without 'em!" — Dan

TECH TIP: Pickup installation is an easy time to scratch a guitar - use a felt pad to protect the top.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Humbucker Helpers
Humbucker Helpers
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 12-06-2013
Hard to use for an old guy

Since I've done it the old fashion way for years, just a screw driver, I found these require a little practice to get the hang of it. Not a bad idea just practice.

Buddy  villa rica, georgia Read my reviews (12)
3 7-22-2013
Humbucker Helper Helps

They work alright. Simple concept but it frees up your hands.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
2 1-14-2013
Not much humbucking help!

I found the task just as clumsy with these. For me, it's just one more thing to try to hold onto and the spring shot away just the same. I find that cutting the spring a bit shorter makes the job simpler. Give them a try if the price is nothing to you, but I'd put the money toward something else.

Gregg L.  Lombard, IL
5 11-25-2012
Good idea

Good simple idea.

Will-Halligan  Southport England Read my reviews (4)
5 10-31-2012
So simple!

I am impressed! No more flying springs or needing three hands to work on Humbuckers. A brilliant yet simple solution.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 8-14-2012
Humbucker Helpers

An ingeniously simple tool! What a time saver! I wish I invented them!

Dave M  Los Angeles, CA USA Read my reviews (7)
4 6-13-2012
Springs drive me mad...

These definitely help if you are the type that find yourself looking for wayward springs. (Raises hand...) I'll echo what others have said, there is an adjustment to get used to using them but once you do it's all good.

Matt B.  Ottawa ON Read my reviews (12)
5 4-28-2012
Awesome tool

I can't count the number of times I've fumbled with pick-up springs. Never again. Tricky to use the first time, but once you figure them out they are a "must have."

cor57vette  Sioux Falls, SD Read my reviews (5)
4 3-26-2012
Does the job. Will scratch metallic rings.

Does what you bought it for once you figure it out. Be careful, you can easily scratch metallic mounting rings with these. I put some tape on the inside of the top the second time and it helped some.

AintB  ATL
5 3-20-2012
Simple but valuable

These save you a lot of time and hassle once you get the hang of using them.

Ryan K  Calgary, Canada Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 47 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce