Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Batt-O-Meter

Batt-O-Meter


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The smart battery tester for musicians. Stop worrying about running out of juice.

See details below

Email a friend
Batt-O-Meter

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0323 Batt-O-Meter Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Battery Box



L.R. Baggs Battery Bag



9-Volt Battery Connector



9-Volt Battery Mounting Clip



Fieldpiece Digital Pocket Multimeter



Battery Box
L.R. Baggs Battery Bag
9-Volt Battery Connector
9-Volt Battery Mounting Clip
Fieldpiece Digital Pocket Multimeter



Details
 Pictures
 Video
When your performance depends on good batteries—or if you repair guitars—the Batt-O-Meter is a must-have in your gig bag or on your workbench!

The Batt-O-Meter not only indicates the percentage of life left in an uninstalled 9-volt, AA or AAA battery, but better yet, its smart circuitry works for installed batteries, too! Plug it into a pedal, effects box or active guitar: it measures the power being pulled from the battery, compares that load to the battery's remaining energy, and calculates the remaining hours of battery life.

Use it before you go on stage and stop worrying about running out of juice during your performance. It's a must for troubleshooting in the shop, too. Save time by checking battery life before you take things apart!

• Ends guesswork about battery replacement
• Saves you money—buy fewer batteries and get more life out of them
• Helps the environment—minimizes discarded batteries
• Fast, accurate and easy to use
• Compact—fits easily into a guitar case or tool box.

The Batt-O-Meter is switchable for alkaline, rechargeable and carbon zinc batteries. It's designed for circuits powered by a single battery (highest testable voltage is 10.23-volts), and includes a 1/4" test plug.

Note: The Batt-O-Meter will work with normal "negative ground" circuits, but will not work with "positive ground" pedals. If the black wire from the battery connects to ground (on the circuit board or jack), it's negative ground and the Batt-O-Meter will work.

The lighted display indicates battery type, voltage, percentage of battery life, hours remaining of normal use, and low battery status.

The Batt-O-Meter is powered by its own 9-volt battery (not included) with self-test function.



/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Batt-O-Meter
Batt-O-Meter
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 3-12-2014
Battery checker

Great product ,very versitile

art  sydney nova scotia
4 10-10-2013
Easy to Use

The Keith McMillen battery tester is easy to use just plug in and squeeze the button. The only problem I can see is it dosen't give the hours left reading with all my basses.

Old Bass Wizzard  Bellefonte, Pa. Read my reviews (4)
1 10-04-2013
Cool Idea, BUT

I looked for something like this for quite a while and thought this would do the trick. Well, it only works on a few of my guitars and even the ones it works on are intermittent. It seems the only battery level this thing can read reliably is the one inside itself (SLF!!!). I don't understand why it doesn't just have a normal 1/4" plug rather than the ridiculous 'probe' it comes with, it's obviously not making contact. I'm thinking about trying to retrofit my own plug on it. Extremely disappointing product. HUGE FAIL.

PG  FL
StewMac responds

PG,
Thank you for your order. We're sorry you were unhappy with the Batt-O-Meter. We offer a 100% guarantee; if any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

3 6-14-2012
Room to improve

This tester seems to work well on individual batteries and stomp boxes, however, like another reviewer said, you have to work to find the sweet spot when checking an installed active pickup battery. I tried it on a Fishman Matrix, Baggs Element, and a Takamine with factory electronics and got the same results. Close, and better than nothing or guessing, but no major cigar. Maybe the next version.

Lefty S  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
4 6-09-2012
works great

best this for quick handy battery checks. tells you power in volts. great for keeping tabs on using drained batteries for tweaked sounds.

jon smith  ny usa Read my reviews (3)
5 5-23-2012
swiss army knife...for batteries

I've found this tiny box amazing, not only for simply measuring batteries. The top feature is to show customers how much battery drain is their device using in real time! Gives a really professional point of view on your job: a must-have.

Dani Guitar Shop  Firenze, IT
4 5-23-2012
Doesn't work in a positive ground pedal

It's a very useful tool anyway, but you need to remove the battery in positive ground fuzzes, etc... Perhaps a diy cable reversing ring and ground should work?,(not sure)

Loren  Spain Read my reviews (2)
StewMac responds

Loren,
Thanks for pointing this out. We've added a note to our description based on your observation. The Batt-O-Meter works as designed for most pedals, but in the case of positive ground, you'll want to remove the battery and test it with the Batt-O-Meter outside of the pedal.

5 1-21-2012
Handy Money Saver

Makes checking batteries installed in instrumements and pedals a snap. Instead of changing batteries just to "be safe", use this. Can pay for itself in no time. Certainly can't expect it to be exact, but more of a benchmark tool. When the number gets low, change the battery. Simple.

David Deaton  Arkansas Read my reviews (5)
5 9-09-2011
This gizmo is a gig-saver!

Make sure you save the instructions. This device has some neat features. (You may need to review) The Batt-O-Meter has already saved me from battery failure-related catastrophies 4x in only 2 gigs. Easy to use for 9V. It even reads the batteries while installed in the instrument or stomp box. Shows battery power remaining. Reads the rechargeable ones too!

erieknight5  Cleveland Read my reviews (2)
5 8-28-2011
Outstanding!

So handy! This thing saves so much time and worry, you'll wonder how you ever lived without it.

twang  california
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 54 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce