Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Electronics, pickups : Pot Cleaning Cap

Pot Cleaning Cap


Read 13 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The easiest way to clean noisy control pots, without extracting them from a guitar, amp, or stomp-box!

See details below

Email a friend
Pot Cleaning Cap
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0291 Pot Cleaning Cap Yes
$20.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner



Knob and Bushing Puller



Knob Puller



Guitar Player Repair Guide



CTS Control Pots



DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
Knob and Bushing Puller
Knob Puller
Guitar Player Repair Guide
CTS Control Pots



Details
 Pictures
Works for rotary switches and Gibson Varitone switches, too. The cap directs your cleaner right where it's needed, inside the pot housing on the contacts around the shaft. No mess!

"An absolute must for vintage F-hole instruments. Every guitar shop needs to have at least one."
—John Brown, Brown Guitar Factory

Simply remove the control knob, and screw the Pot Cleaning Cap on the shaft. An access hole guides your spray cleaner extension tube directly to the pot shaft. The cleaner flows down the shaft to where it's needed on the contacts inside the pot. A hole in the top of the cap lets you turn a split pot shaft with a screwdriver for thorough coverage.

Works with 3/8 x 32-thread, made in USA potentiometers: CTS, Allen-Bradley, Bourns, CentraLab, Clarostat, and others. It's not compatible with imported or metric-thread control pots (like Alpha).

Pot Cleaning Cap is made from precision machined stainless steel.

We recommend DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner.

TIP: Aerosol contact cleaners can spray cold, and can potentially crack a guitar's finish. Always protect the finish with a cloth when cleaning pots and switches.
This product is made exclusively for Stewart-MacDonald by
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Pot Cleaning Cap
Pot Cleaning Cap
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 13 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 4-18-2014
Good Idea

Thought this tool may save a lot of time in my workshop. So far, I've not found a pot that it will screw on. Yesterday, a wonderful Gibson 335 came in for a setup so I got out my pot cleaner cap out to try. Didn't even fit on the thread as their wasn't enough thread to bite. doh! I'm sure it will be useful, but only had it a couple of weeks and It doesn't fit alpha type pots. Good idea though. Will persevere with it...

Chris Cutmore, Essex Guitar Services  England Read my reviews (9)
1 4-09-2014
whoa

still sparys all over the place. save your money

Papi Frazinelli  CT Read my reviews (5)
5 3-22-2014
Pot Cleaner Cap

I purchased the "Cap" to facilitate efforts to apply cleaner to the pots on my vintage guitar. It slipped right over the stems and made application of the cleaner simple and avoids making a mess from over spray. A good choice and nice tool to have available for maintenance of old pots.

Lenny1716  Redondo Beach, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 3-13-2014
Indespensible...

Can't imagine spraying without it. Works perfect. Saves a big mess.

Shepherd  Los Angeles Read my reviews (9)
5 2-27-2014
handy tool

Keeps the Mess down...makes it easy to hit every pot

mikrow  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (33)
5 12-26-2013
Excellent time saver for archtop guitars!!!

Wow....I really did not think this product would actually work but was willing to give it a try. I Always dread disassembling archtop components just to clean a pot or two. I used this to clean pots on a vintage 1960's Gibson and worked absolutely perfectly to clean scratchy pots. Turned a 1-2 hr job into 5 minutes!

Mark123  Snohomish, WA Read my reviews (3)
5 12-05-2013
Great for semihollows 'n more

Got this pot cleaning cap to do some maintenance on the guitars and old effects after spending a long time working on a 335 via F-holes. I should have ponied up for this piece a long time ago. If/when I lose this thing (about the size of a 1/4 socket), I'll replace it.

drmatty  San Francisco, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 11-15-2012
Good but...

I never noticed it doesn't fit Alpha pots (my fault) so ended-up making my own dowel, tube version. Still, worth having around for pots that will fit the tool.

Franky  London, England Read my reviews (8)
5 7-05-2012
Great Tool For A Common Problem!

Who hasn't heard a static crackle when turning the pots on an old guitar or amp, new ones too. Chances are, that it's a dirty pot that may only need a quick cleaning to function smoothly. The "Pot Cleaning Cap" is an essential tool that directs your DeOxit or other cleaner right where it's needed, inside the pot housing on the contacts around the shaft. The cap directs the cleaning solution cleanly, instead of spraying it uselessly all over the outside of your components. I used the cap immediately after receiving it and was able to clean up the sound of an old Teisco Amp that did nothing but crackle. Now volume change is smooth, and tone changes noiselessly. This is certainly an easy to use tool that any musician needs for a quick cleaning of their knobs.

JFGUITAR21  Chicago, IL
5 5-15-2012
Essential!

I was mildly skeptical when I ordered this - because trying to get cleaner down the shaft of a pot never works! But this is fantastic! It works great for 3/8 x 32 pots but it works surprisingly well with other sizes as well (messier of course). I use it on every amp and effects pedal I service (put it somewhere safe though because it's easy to lose on a messy bench!).

Deane-Freeman Electronics  Adelaide, South Australia Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 47 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce