Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Cleaning, maintenance : String Spreaders

String Spreaders


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Why waste time unstringing a guitar for a spot job on the nut or fretboard, when all you really want is to simply get the strings out of the way?

See details below

Email a friend
String Spreaders

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4802 Set of 2 Yes
$9.95
3 or more $8.95  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Lifter



Mini String Spreaders



String Spacing Rule



Fingerboard Guards



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



String Lifter
Mini String Spreaders
String Spacing Rule
Fingerboard Guards
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Try these handy string spreaders instead of the makeshift method you've been using—they'll become a busy addition to your basic tools.

Each curved brass spreader fits behind the neck, to capture the loosened strings and give you room for filing, cleaning, polishing or light repairs. Finish-friendly rubberized coating protects the neck.

3-3/8" long, set of 2.

Our thanks to repairman David Lynch for inspiring this handy tool.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Spreaders
String Spreaders
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 3-05-2014
String spreaders

Just a phenomenal tool. If you work on guitars you need these, it's that simple!

Denny Burns  Hoffman Estates Il. USA Read my reviews (6)
5 2-13-2014
Great Tool! Makes life so much better!

I used these spreaders when doing a new nut, and when cleaning a few gigs worth of finger snot off a rosewood fingerboard. They worked great. I found them incredibly handy, and saved the time and hassle having to remove the strings. I love these things!

Rockin' Mike Burton  Canada Read my reviews (22)
5 2-12-2014
Spread 'em!

Quality made tool. Does what it's suppose to do. Makes access to fret board for cleaning & maintenance easy.

Clutch Cargo  USA Read my reviews (4)
5 1-03-2014
String spreaders

Excellent product. Touching up or re-crowning frets is a breeze with these. No more removing the strings. Also great for oiling the frets without getting oil on anything else. Could not make them for the price ! repair or replace of the nut also easy

jazzer76  Georgia
5 11-20-2013
Great Tool

These are great! The rubber coating makes sure that they don't mar the finish. An essential tool in my shop.

jtrimble62  Summerville, SC Read my reviews (7)
5 11-07-2013
Extremely usefull.

I like these little helpers. In the past I used a wooden strip for the job. But these spreaders works much better. I have added a small hole at the ends so I can put them on the tool wall on a little nail. From Germany

Martin Fuerstenau  Unterfoehring Read my reviews (10)
5 10-26-2013
Neat!

Very handy for fret/fingerboard work...save a lot string hassles.

unluthier  NC Read my reviews (9)
5 10-24-2013
string spreaders

great item.........

Ray+  Canada NB
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-16-2013
String Spreaders

I've been using twist ties or wire or whatever I had around to keep strings out of my way for fret work, etc. for decades. What a genius little invention - and really strong and protective too. Great purchase!

John Standefer  Vancouver, WA Read my reviews (3)
5 10-04-2013
Simply Convenient

I have been using a popsicle stick with a piece of felt wrapped around it...... until now. It worked but I had to loosen the strings quite a bit. When I saw two of these for ten bucks it was just a bargain. Sure, I could sit down and make something but the money I would make in the time it would take to put them together far out weighs the cost. They are easy to use and protect the neck. Thank you Stewart- MacDonald...

Billy Etheridge  Suffolk VA
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 14 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce