Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Cleaning, maintenance : DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner

DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Cleans electrical contacts for better sound. The one-step spray for cleaning dirty, noisy control pots and switches in guitars and amps!

See details below

Email a friend
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5027 DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$17.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Alpha Control Pots



Knob and Bushing Puller



Pot Cleaning Cap



CTS Control Pots



Alpha Control Pots
Knob and Bushing Puller
Pot Cleaning Cap
CTS Control Pots



Details
 Pictures
DeoxIT™ removes oxidation from electrical contacts, leaving a microscopic layer of protection and improving conductivity. It helps keep pots and switches operating smoothly, quietly and reliably for better sound. You can avoid costly repairs, and help preserve the value of vintage instruments by maintaining the original components with DeoxIT™. Supplied in 5-ounce aerosol can.

TIP: Aerosol contact cleaners can spray cold, and can potentially crack a guitar's finish. Always protect the finish with a cloth when cleaning pots and switches.

When cleaning CTS brand pots, use DeoxIT with the Pot Cleaning Cap. This time-saving attachment lets you keep control pots clean and noise-free, without extracting them from your guitar or amp.

Fixing dirty, scratchy control pots on a Supro lap steel
Pit stop at Dan's shop: dirty, scratchy control pots
Fixing dirty, scratchy control pots on a Supro lap steel Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine's fixing nasty-sounding control pots on a great-looking Supro lap steel from 1960.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 6-25-2012
Wise first choice for scratchy pots and switches.

Great first course of action for dirty contacts, switches, etc. Why replace and re-solder if you can fix it with this first? It is a chemical so StewMac has to ship by ground, no overnight air. If you use it often keep a couple of cans in stock.

Guitarzan  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (4)
5 5-10-2012
Just Like New

DeoxIT D5 is THE best solvent/cleaner/lube I have ever used. After using pot and electronic cleaners for years in the car business, I wish I knew about this stuff then. I had a totally dead vol. pot on an old (early 70s) Peavey PA brain and coupled with the Pot Cleaning Cap, FIXED! It even worked on the ABS control unit plug on the '02 BMW that used to cause ABS faults, (dirty contacts in the modular plug). Money well spent on this product! But get the Pot Cleaning Cap with it. You'll be glad you did.

axe fixr  Richardson (Dallas) Texas Read my reviews (10)
5 11-14-2011
Clean sound

I used this on my old Kalamazoo KG-2, and it cleaned up the balky switch and the pots, and I swear it even sounds better. It takes awhile to dry, so be patient, but it's the stuff.

bmclaughlan  Michigan Read my reviews (3)
5 11-13-2011
Just the threat

Just the threat of having this on the way cleaned my pots!! Bought an Epiphone Casino that had only been played acoustic recently & had some volume issues with the select switch. Kept playing it before the "magic juice" got here & it cleared up by itself. Now I just show it the can & it still sounds great. Very cost effective...

Gunny48  Jacksonville,FL
5 9-14-2011
Great Cleaner

Some of the best I've used. Been in the electronic business for thirty yrs and I doubt that you will find any better cleaner. Guitars, amps, old tube radios etc. Good stuff.

w8rok  Chas, WV Read my reviews (5)
5 8-23-2011
cleaner

Works really good. better than radio shack stuff. About half of the size that it looks in the pics though.....

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 6-21-2011
Works like a dream!

I have a Hamer Standard that I hadn't played in awhile. Took it out of the case, and the volume pots were awful. I couldn't get sound except for scratching. I sprayed some Deox-it in both pots and worked them back and forth, all of the noise left and they are smooth as silk. Anyone who owns an electric guitar needs to have a can of this stuff! An outstanding product!

Moogster66  Westfield,IN Read my reviews (3)
5 2-24-2011
Deoxit does the job

I use Deoxit all the time. I specialize in fixing up old cheap guitars that almost always have noisy pots. A few quick shots with this stuff and they come back to life. I use it on amps too. Here is an old Hagstrom 1 that came to life once the pots were cleaned.

PES  Islip NY Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-17-2011
Contact Cleaner

I have purchased other contact cleaners and all contact cleaners are not made the same and you get what you pay for. The DeoxIT does the job very well, I am very happy with it and I make sure I always have it on hand in my guitar shop.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
5 11-27-2010
Amazing product

I bought an old, used audio mixer. Several pots were VERY noisy and several channels worked intermittently. Cleaned all XLR inputs with Deoxit and shot it down the shafts on the noisy pots. After just a few turns of the pots, I could actually FEEL them turning easier.

When I powered it up, everything worked perfectly!! Absolutely amazing!!

jimirb  Brandon, SD
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 47 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce