Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : Seam Separation Knife

Seam Separation Knife


Read 14 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The ideal knife for removing tops, backs and fingerboards from most instruments.

See details below

Email a friend
Seam Separation Knife
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4465 Seam Separation Knife Yes
$8.99


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Offset Disassembly Knife



Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife



Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron



Bridge Spatula



Offset Disassembly Knife
Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife
Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron
Bridge Spatula



Details
 Pictures
The stiff 3-3/4" x 3/4" high-carbon steel blade has a long knife edge that is capable of cleanly entering narrow cracks for separating a glue seam.

The gentle wedge-shaped cross-section exerts the ideal pressure to help the glue yield, yet doesn't tend to cut into the wood. The blade can be heated and moisture applied to help speed the work. Hardwood handle.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Seam Separation Knife
Seam Separation Knife
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 14 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 4-28-2013
Strong

This is my go-to tool when a seam is resisting my efforts to separate it. Very sharp, no gouging, but strong enough to apply necessary leverage.

John L  Kalamazoo, MI Read my reviews (15)
5 9-27-2012
Sharp

Sharp...oh and just in case I did not mention ... SHARP SHARP SHARP... Multiple uses at the desk...
DId I say...SHARP?

david emswiler  bellville texas
5 8-16-2012
nice

it's a decent knife. it's cheap, works super. no complaints here.

ianianianianian  london Read my reviews (4)
5 8-06-2012
Great knife

Super useful for opening up seams. The razor edge is just that - quite sharp. A no-brainer, especially given the price.

Crawfish  Maryland, USA Read my reviews (6)
5 7-06-2012
Seam Separation Knife

A very useful tool.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 6-18-2012
Multipurpose Knife

When you need a good, sharp, sturdy blade to wedge in between things, this is your knife. For the price, it is superbly made and useful in many applications.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
5 4-17-2012
Cool tool

I like this tool a lot. It will replace some of the knives and chisels I have used in the past for multiple jobs. Including hand cutting v shaped patches for cracks in spruce tops.

Jon Herter  Syracuse, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 3-15-2012
Another Pleasant Surprise

Just like the offset knife - this is a dandy tool. Inexpensive and well-made in good old Nippon(Japan). Sort of the Ibanez of knives ;-) The blade is great- I use it as-stated to open up seams I'm getting ready to re-glue.

Moo  NYC Read my reviews (3)
5 2-21-2012
Fretboard removal made easy

I will never attempt another fretboard removal with anything but this tool. It cut my time by 60% and leaves the separation seams clean enough to not require additional finishing upon reassembly.

Bonneur  South Bend, IN Read my reviews (6)
5 8-28-2011
Simple Excellence

This gem is a "fooler." In reality, the gentle wedge and razor sharp leading edge makes for controlled separation of glued seams. What was a purchase on a "whim," has become a reliable tool.

J. E. Mike Tobey  Davenport, Iowa Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 29 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce