Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Mitchell Abrasive Cord


Read 36 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Guitar floss! After using your nut files, smooth the string notches with Mitchell Abrasive Cord. It helps keep the strings from binding in the slots, for more reliable tuning.

See details below

Email a friend
Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6125 .015" (.38mm), 200-grit, Mitchell's #60 Yes
$6.10

6126 .018" (.46mm), 200-grit, Mitchell's #55 Yes
$5.95

6127 .030" (.76mm), 200-grit, Mitchell's #54 Yes
$5.95

6128 .055" (1.40mm), 150-grit, Mitchell's #52 Yes
$5.95

6129 Set of all 4 SAVE $1.50 Yes
$22.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Double-edge Nut Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Guitar Grease



Gauged Saws



Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Double-edge Nut Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Guitar Grease
Gauged Saws



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Available in four versatile thicknesses, Mitchell Abrasive Cord also smooths the string notches in metal bridge saddles, to reduce string breakage.

12-foot roll (3.66 meters).

Sold individually or SAVE when you order all four.

Tough Mitchell Abrasive Cord is coated with durable silicon carbide and aluminum oxide microgrit. It's great for smoothing the string slots in archtop guitar, banjo, mandolin, violin and resonator guitar bridges, to help eliminate string buzz.

Cleans screw threads
Deburrs metal and plastic
Smooths fine edge details in sawn pearl inlays
Smooths bridge pin hole string slots
12-foot (3.66 meter) roll

You'll find lots of other handy uses for it in your shop!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 36 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 7-11-2012
Great Product

An inexpensive way to deal with nuts & saddles

DPK  Longmont Colorado Read my reviews (2)
2 7-06-2012
Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Useful for a few seconds, it breaks very quickly.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 5-24-2012
Abrasive Cord.

Easy to work with. Cleans up saddles after file work is done.

Danno  USA Read my reviews (3)
5 5-19-2012
Another winner!

Used this to locate the saddle slots on a Schroeder Stoptail bridge. The entire process took only minutes and the result is spot on and very comfortable feeling.

Vincent Iannone  Lake Havasu City, AZ Read my reviews (4)
5 4-22-2012
Abrasive Cord

This cord was exactly what I needed to smooth out a hole in the triangular plate that acts as a top ferule for a string-through-body Dean ZX that I was working on. The metal plate was cheap and the high E string constantly broke where it came out and bent to head towards the bridge. This cord smoothed out the inside of the hole and put a bit of a radius on the lip. It was probably more of a job than this cord is designed for but it was the only thing I could find to do it. Given this harsher job, it didn't last that long and broke a little easily. However, in its more usual applications it holds up well and I highly recommend it. I regret not getting the multi pack with all four of the different diameters. I plan to keep it around the house permanently.

Lockheed_Tvr  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-04-2012
Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Love this stuff. Does everything they tell you it can do and then some.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
4 3-11-2012
Very Handy Item!

This is very good stuff...would like to see more guages available too!

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
5 2-29-2012
Great tool in the arsenal

I don't know why I waited so long to order some of this.

David Winters  The Colony, TX Read my reviews (5)
4 2-12-2012
yes, you should

I use it maybe twice a year or so. Perfect for smoothing those string-breaking saddles on tune-o-matics. Also useful when you need to make a bone nut slot a little wider without chipping the edge (common problem if working with nut files). So it isn't a "must have" tool, but definitely a "should have". Strongly recommended.

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
5 12-16-2011
What a wonderful Product!!!!

The best! It allows you into very tight areas and smooth out any rough spots. Perfect for guitar nuts and comes in a variety of sizes. A+++++

Rev. Jim Berlin  Richland Center, Wisc. Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce