Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : Japanese Super Fine-Cut Saw

Japanese Super Fine-Cut Saw


Read 6 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Precision cuts for braces, nut blanks and more!

See details below

Email a friend
Japanese Super Fine-Cut Saw
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3617 Japanese Super Fine-Cut Saw Yes
$34.30


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Saws



Dozuki Cross-cut Saw



Japanese Fret Saw



Japanese Flush-cut Saw



Cutting Lubricant



Gauged Saws
Dozuki Cross-cut Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
Japanese Flush-cut Saw
Cutting Lubricant



Details
 Pictures
The finely-crafted, astonishingly thin .0075" alloy steel blade on this featherweight mini backsaw is just right for short close-tolerance cuts: making perfect joints for braces, trimming nut blanks, making crack repair cleats, violin work, and more. This precision is possible because, unlike Western saws, the traditional Japanese-cut teeth work on the pull stroke. This helps keep the ultra-thin blade taut for a smoother, more accurate, jam-free cut.

Comfortable bamboo handle and rigid steel spine.

Cutting edge: 2-5/16" (58.74mm)
Cutting depth: 1/2" (12.70mm)
Handle length: 5-1/16" (128.59mm)

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Japanese Super Fine-Cut Saw
Japanese Super Fine-Cut Saw
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 6 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 6
4 3-24-2014
Nice little saw ;)

Love using this

JSD  Europe Read my reviews (31)
4 9-04-2012
My New Fav Little Saw

I received my new japanese Super Fine-cut Saw from StewMac a few weeks ago and have had plenty of opportunities to put it through its paces. It is indeed a very sharp saw, and capable of very fine and accurate cutting. It cuts as well as I hoped and expected. I've used it for trimming brace ends on tops and backs, as well as for trimming some bindings. The only thing that kept this at a 4-star rating instead of a 5 is the handle. I wish it had a slightly heavier handle. As is, it just seems too light weight. Perhaps a heavier wood would have been better. A little more length to the handle would not be amiss either. I also think that due to the nature of how this saw is used, a handle that was angled slightly upward to give some hand clearance over the work would be a good improvement. All that said, I really like the blade on it, and will probably replace the handle on mine with ebony or something a bit heavier. If I can bend the tang of the blade back at an angle, I may do that as well.

Don Williams  Pawtucket, RI
5 4-25-2012
Very fine very sharp very useful

Very fine edge, very sharp teeth, very useful, very practical.

shrinkDave  Miami, FL Read my reviews (2)
5 4-10-2012
Banzai!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Precise as a scalpel!

Flavio Petruy  Brazil Read my reviews (8)
5 10-06-2011
A Fine Quality Saw

This saw is of the highest quality. The blade, as advertised, is extremely thin. The blade is strong and very sharp. Makes excellent cuts. Couldn't ask for better.

Stephen Blair  San Bernardino, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 8-16-2011
I love my Saw!

I heard about these clever saws from a fellow luthier and figured I'd pick up one or two for myself. This little baby is just perfect for cutting to size braces without fear of damaging the surrounding wood as well as for cutting the joints of the Crossbrace of the Soundboard. Highly recommended.

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
Displaying 1 – 6 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce