Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : JLD Bridge Doctor

JLD Bridge Doctor


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

• Enhances volume
• Flattens 'bellied' soundboards

See details below

Email a friend
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3694 Screw mount Yes
$22.50
3 or more $20.40  

3695 Brass pin mount Yes
$52.75
3 or more $48.00  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



Thompson Belly Reducer



Digital Humidity Gauge



TUSQ Bridge Pins



Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
Thompson Belly Reducer
Digital Humidity Gauge
TUSQ Bridge Pins
Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A unique solution to a common bridge problem, this spruce device attaches beneath a guitar bridge. An adjustable spruce "pressure post" rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard.

The spruce block is 3/4" x 1-5/8" x 3-3/8" tall. The 1/4"-diameter tension rod is 9" long. The mounting post has three different positions to accomodate a variety of bridge styles.

Screw mount: This spruce device attaches beneath the bridge via an inlaid screw (a white pearloid dot is included to hide the bridge screw). An adjustable spruce pressure post rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard. Better bridge contact and alignment can also enhance sound projection.

Brass pin mount: The pin-mounted version of the JLD Bridge Doctor attaches beneath the bridge using a threaded brass bridge pin. The strings mount horizontally through the tops of the matching brass bridge pins (included).

StewMac Tech Tip: We recommend the brass pin mount version for 12-string guitars.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 >
5 1-19-2011
Bridge Doctor

I have a Yamaha FG260 12 string. The belly bulge was so bad I couldn't begin to get the strings low enough to enjoy playing. I shortened the bridge and the belly bulge was so high that some of the strings went right over the bridge. The Bridge doctor pulled the belly flat and also improved the sound of the 12 string. It used to be so brassy that it was not enjoyable.

Now it is more balanced and sweeter, a bit lighter and far more usable. I thought the guitar was bulging beyond reasonable costs to repair. The Bridge Dr was something I could easily so myself. Thank you for having them on hand.

Jeff Minniear  Schenectrady, NY USA
5 12-17-2010
Bridge Doctor

I recently bought a bridge doctor to sort out an old 60's epiphone acoustic, which had bellied and sunk near the soundhole. It was the first time I had tried one and it worked great. Much better now with no adverse effect to the tone. I have bought another one for a 50,s gibson LG0, which has the same problem. I highly recommend fitting one to rectify this or similar problems.

Trevor Rowley  Shropshire England Read my reviews (2)
4 12-14-2010
Great tool

I have redeemed my Fender 12 string and a six string Alvarez, both with the JLD Bridge Doctor brass pin mount system. I opted however to use only one brass pin and reinstalled the other original pins. I did not trust the brass pins with the nuts to stay tight and was afraid to tighten then enough to hold because the shaft was a good deal smaller than the holes for the original pins, letting the brass pins lean with the stress of tuning to pitch. I guess I'm just pickey that way but like things tight. As for the intonation and restoration to a perfectly FLATTOP, I couldn't be happier.

J.D. Lang  Waycross, Georgia Read my reviews (2)
4 12-07-2010
Bridge Doctor

Good economical product. I used this to repair a bridge bow on a friend's Goya guitar. It pulled the majority of the bowing out and improved the guitar's tone. Though the guitar was an old beater I repaired it for sentimental reasons and I'm sure I extended the guitars life for another 5 to 10 years.
Be careful when counter sinking the screw mount hole to prevent cracking the bridge. I recommend this product and will use it again.

Larry Halterman  Alabama Read my reviews (2)
5 11-24-2010
A must have for your acoustic!

A truly great invention for the acoustic guitar. It gives the guitar added strength where they need it most and enhances the sound. A great bargain. I believe Breedlove guitars uses these on their guitars. A winner!

JD  MA
4 10-23-2010
Best thirty dollars ever spent.

I have a 1979 Ibanez Concord Maple Dreadnought with a solid top that was unplayable. The JLD Bridge Doctor gave me my guitar back.
The included instructions are OK but some of us have poor eyesight and need help reading the photocopied instructions included.

Bobby Wonder  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
4 10-20-2010
Top Doctor

I have been installing these for years. They flatten guitar tops well. My customers like the pearl dot. At least they say they don't mind.It also allows for lighter tops and bracing. Something for builders to consider. cheers

Pete Farmer Guitar Works  Grand Haven, Mi Read my reviews (5)
5 10-08-2010
Outstanding Product

I have used this item many, many times. I've only had one problem guitar where I installed it too tight and it split the bridge. It does what it should do, just don't OVER-do it. I will not repair a bridge without it. Easy to setup and install.

Greer Streetman  Lexington, KY Read my reviews (5)
5 10-07-2010
Got my baby back!

I salvaged a '96 Epiphone PR160 ebony black beauty from a flea market and spent many, many hours restoring it - repaired neck, refinished, refret, new pick guard, bone nut and saddle, brass bridge pins, etc. I only got to play it for a couple of months when, one night, I was wailing on some AC-DC (don't ask) and the bridge and body just popped. I was just sick.
I'd heard about the Bridge Doctor, but was skeptical. After I installed it, the body and bridge are not only back to normal, but I swear the tonal quality is even better. I got my baby back! I plan on doing the same with an old Lyle hummingbird soon. This thing is great!

Fingerpickengood  Charlotte Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-17-2010
highly recommended

I first tried one of these (screw mount model) about 10 years ago for a bellied flattop. I was very impressed and have since taken to installing one routinely on all my acoustic guitars. More than a prophylactic against bellying, they improve the tone and volume and make me much less nervous about using heavier gauged strings. My one suggestion would be to include the exact sized drill bits required in the packaged kits. The extra couple bucks the kit would cost would be very well spent!

DanL  Normal IL
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 80 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce