Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : JLD Bridge Doctor

JLD Bridge Doctor


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

• Enhances volume
• Flattens 'bellied' soundboards

See details below

Email a friend
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3694 Screw mount Yes
$22.50
3 or more $20.40  

3695 Brass pin mount Yes
$52.75
3 or more $48.00  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



Thompson Belly Reducer



Digital Humidity Gauge



TUSQ Bridge Pins



Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
Thompson Belly Reducer
Digital Humidity Gauge
TUSQ Bridge Pins
Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A unique solution to a common bridge problem, this spruce device attaches beneath a guitar bridge. An adjustable spruce "pressure post" rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard.

The spruce block is 3/4" x 1-5/8" x 3-3/8" tall. The 1/4"-diameter tension rod is 9" long. The mounting post has three different positions to accomodate a variety of bridge styles.

Screw mount: This spruce device attaches beneath the bridge via an inlaid screw (a white pearloid dot is included to hide the bridge screw). An adjustable spruce pressure post rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard. Better bridge contact and alignment can also enhance sound projection.

Brass pin mount: The pin-mounted version of the JLD Bridge Doctor attaches beneath the bridge using a threaded brass bridge pin. The strings mount horizontally through the tops of the matching brass bridge pins (included).

StewMac Tech Tip: We recommend the brass pin mount version for 12-string guitars.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  9 >
5 11-18-2011
Elegant!

I applied the screw-mount Bridge Doctor to my vintage Epiphone FT-130. The bridge had lifted about 5 degrees, with the corresponding bulge below. It now sits flat, and ready to go for another 40 years. I hope I am. This device is simple, inexpensive, and works like a charm. That, to me, is elegance.

Alec Bruyns  Canada
4 11-15-2011
Nice device for the small-handed

Installed the screw mount version in a Harmony Sovereign H1203 with one of the worst belly bulges I've seen. As others have noted, it did bring the bridge down, but did not completely flatten the top - but I didn't expect it would. Nice improvement in playability and tone. BUT, I have large hands and doing the install was much more difficult for me than for others who have rated this device. As for so many through-the-soundhole techniques, think twice if you have very large hands.

Rick J  Powhatan, VA Read my reviews (9)
5 11-03-2011
TIRED YAHAMA ACOUSTIC REVIVED

JLD Bridge Doctor brought my old Yammie to life again without the hassle or expense of other solutions. The guitar sounds great and holds stable. I Highly recommend the product

RAYJ7  INNISFAIL, QLD
4 10-24-2011
JLD Bridge Doctor

I have installed a Bridge Doctor on two guitars: a late 70’s Ibanez Concord—which is a copy of a Gibson Dove—and a 2010 Gibson SJ200 Studio. The Ibanez got the screw mount model of the Bridge Doctor while the Gibson got the brass pins. The Ibanez was bellying a bit and the Bridge Doctor corrected that quite easily. The Gibson got the device primarily as a preventative measure—I saw a vintage Gibson Jumbo that was bellied quite badly so after the positive results with the Ibanez, I figured the Bridge Dr. would be a good way to protect my more expensive guitar. I didn’t want to drill a hole in the Gibson, though, so that’s why I went with the brass pin version.

On neither guitar did I notice an astonishing improvement in tone as some people have reported, including the manufacturer; to be fair, it’s hard to imagine anything astonishingly improving the tone of a Gibson Jumbo. I had read some discussions of this device in which people were wondering whether the lessening of the string break angle over the saddle when using the brass pins instead of the regular bridge pins might adversely affect tone, so I did a little experiment: I initially installed it using three brass pins (6th, 4th, 2nd strings) and three (5th, 3rd, 1st) regular pins. This did not result in any kind of unevenness in volume or tone quality or response from string to string. I see that one reviewer did have problems with the change in break angle in the case of a low saddle, but on a standard saddle there shouldn’t be a problem.

I recommend the Bridge Doctor if your guitar has a belly problem or if you'd like to keep it from developing one.

Tiger Gagan  Nashville, TN
5 10-19-2011
JLD Bridge Doctor

The bridge on my '88 Yamaha FG335 was starting to lean towards the soundhole and the body was bulging pretty bad. Installation took around 1/2 hour and was pretty easy. It only took a few turns of the allen adjusting screw and the body was flat and the bridge was back in place. I noticed a more balanced sound and the action was improved. I would recommend this product if you don't mind drilling through your bridge.

Timothy A  NC
5 10-14-2011
Bridge Dr.

The right fix for my Kiso Suzuki guitar with lifted bridge. Piece of cake, I was back in the saddle, pardon the pun, in no time ;)

Spaz Spandex  Oak Cliff, Texas
4 10-03-2011
Bridge Doctor

Instructions were easy to understand, the item was fairly easy to install and it performed as advertised. It was great to play that old 12-string again.

LarryB  Midwest City, OK
5 9-08-2011
Keep this in mind

I've used the JLD Bridge System, the one that requires on to drill a hole in the bridge, three times in the past with great results--great tone and restored low action. This time I tried the Bridge Doctor with the brass pins, despite the cost. In this case, it was a mistake.

With a bellied top, often the saddle has already been lowered in an attempt to make the guitar playable. This was the case here. The string holes through the bridge pins result in a string height that is somewhat higher than when the string goes through the top. The result was that none of the strings have enough string break for the best tone, and two of them are barely touching the saddle, resulting in buzzing.

I'm probably going to have to remove the Bridge Doctor and put on the other system after drilling a hole in the bridge. I'm sure this works fine with higher saddles, but you need a saddle that is at least an eighth of an inch above the bridge for this to work. Higher yet is better.

Nemo  Lenhartsville, PA
5 8-31-2011
Put one in BEFORE you need it! THEY ARE GREAT!

A new customer named John brought me this wonderful 1974 Guild. He wanted to know if I could do a neck reset. I said “I sure can” but there a lot of other things we need to look at before considering a reset. I noticed that someone had done a poor job of re-gluing the bridge and that was the starting point. This once beautiful guitar was purchased in Pennsylvania. I ask John If it had belonged to a coal miner or a steel worker because it was so dirty. The top had major and minor contusions, scratches, and you could drive a truck under the strings at the twelfth fret. When the bridge was removed I found that the pin holes were all drilled out to .250 ??? and would have to be plugged. I made a new bridge from Bolivian rose wood (sorry to say I don't have any Brazilian rose wood). Sanded and filled some spots on the top. After the bridge was glued in place I installed a bridge doctor ( No 12 string should be without one.) I routed the slot for the saddle and made a new saddle compensating for every string for best harmonics possible.

Dr. G  Van Wert Ohio
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-29-2011
Flatten your Martin, and others of course!

These are a real boon to get that belly back in trim. I've fitted these to a number of guitars, mostly older Martins and 12 strings. They work well for almost all but the very worst cases and all my customers who have them have been well satisfied with some remarking the instrument has never sounded so good!

Alan Marshall, Northworthy Guitars  Derbyshire UK Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 80 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce