Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : JLD Bridge Doctor

JLD Bridge Doctor


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

• Enhances volume
• Flattens 'bellied' soundboards

See details below

Email a friend
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3694 Screw mount Yes
$22.50
3 or more $20.40  

3695 Brass pin mount Yes
$52.75
3 or more $48.00  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



Thompson Belly Reducer



Digital Humidity Gauge



TUSQ Bridge Pins



Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
Thompson Belly Reducer
Digital Humidity Gauge
TUSQ Bridge Pins
Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A unique solution to a common bridge problem, this spruce device attaches beneath a guitar bridge. An adjustable spruce "pressure post" rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard.

The spruce block is 3/4" x 1-5/8" x 3-3/8" tall. The 1/4"-diameter tension rod is 9" long. The mounting post has three different positions to accomodate a variety of bridge styles.

Screw mount: This spruce device attaches beneath the bridge via an inlaid screw (a white pearloid dot is included to hide the bridge screw). An adjustable spruce pressure post rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard. Better bridge contact and alignment can also enhance sound projection.

Brass pin mount: The pin-mounted version of the JLD Bridge Doctor attaches beneath the bridge using a threaded brass bridge pin. The strings mount horizontally through the tops of the matching brass bridge pins (included).

StewMac Tech Tip: We recommend the brass pin mount version for 12-string guitars.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  9 >
2 5-09-2012
Not For Weissenborn...

I bought one of these kits to help with the belly on a Weissenborn clone. Not nearly enough clearance within the body, so check the clearance on your application. I also found the holes drilled through the brass pins for the unwound strings way too small, at least for the strings I had on hand. Altogether not a very successful project for me.

RCE1  California Read my reviews (2)
3 5-06-2012
beware

This is not a drop in item where one size fits all. I had a lot of problems & had to replace the dowel rod also.If your bridge pins are not in a straight line it starts there.Mine are in a semi-curve & the bridge is also set in on an angle.Both E strings are real close to the bridge & it is not possible to get the low E through the hole in the pin & over the bridge where it is tied off without enlongating the hole.Also,depending on the type of strings you use you may have a problem getting them thru the holes at the ball end where the wrap is bigger.I did & had to open up 2 of them.It has taken a lot of tweaking to get it to work because I actually lost sound when first installed & quite frankly I got sick of screwing around with it.I would never install another one.I'm not saying it don't work good for others, but the design of the guitar plays a big part of that.If you ain't good with handtools & don't have a boatload of patience,get a repair person to put one in if you think you need it.Like I said,buyer beware !

ph  Florida Read my reviews (18)
5 5-06-2012
2nd installation - astounded me again!

After recently installing the Doctor on a Washburn, when I received an old IBZ concord 12 string with a cracked/lifted bridge and belly, I knew exactly what I needed to do. Once again, immediately after restringing, I was very nervous as I could not get a decent action . . I let everything settle for 2 days, and when I checked again, it had the slickest action I've ever seen on a 12! Be patient and let the magic work itself! Already have client requests for another 2 installations!

Dave Andrews  Margate, South Africa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
2 5-01-2012
It didn't fix this one

Sadly, the JLD Bridge System didn't fix my 1980 approx Yamaga FG 110. I am relatively experienced and gave the system every opportunity but it did not pull the top flat on this Yamaha. In the immediate short term it also killed the tone but I understand that when it works, this is supposed to improve. Like another reviewer, the long dowell fractured under torque and I had to replace it. Yes, judging by marks left under the bridge plate, the device is capable of applying considerable force to the underside of the bridge plate. All I am saying is, on this particular guitar, it didn't work and I lost a lot of time over it. Stewart Macdonald issued a full refund so full marks to them for their good customer service. I hope it works for you as it seems to for many of the reviewers here.

RSDavidson  UK Read my reviews (2)
4 3-21-2012
Great Fix

Every guitar is made different, so my installation was not as clean cut as expected. 4 Stars as I feel the plug could be thicker to accommodate curved bridges. Also, a model specifically made for shallow acoustics would be awesome. Trying to modify did not work as anticipated. Would not waste the efforts on a laminate guitar again, but then again, I found multiple other structural issues on the Yamaha I was repairing.

jlokay  Montclair NJ USA Read my reviews (3)
5 3-09-2012
Bridge Doctor Performance

I have used several bridge doctors over the years and have had total success...I wished someone would design one that would fit the Ovation guitars! If there's already one out there, please let me know.

Howdydoody  Camden,Tn USA
5 2-14-2012
Exceptional results!

I received a Washburn Cumberland in for setup and repairs, but the pot-belly was huge, and the saddle had already been filed down wafer-thin. The action was too high to even think of correcting it. I discovered the JLD system online, ordered 3 (!) and installed it. It brought down the back of the bridge only, and I figured it was not going to work properly. I restrung and set up as best I could, but was not happy with the result !! I left it overnight, and when I checked it the next day, the string tension had positively affected the cantilever design of the JLD! The front of the bridge had pulled down overnight, resulting a really slick action that I NEVER imagined I would get on this guitar! Great innovation for a big problem!

Dave Andrews  Margate, South Africa Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-22-2012
Simply great!

This is the second JLD I've installed; good instructions and it completely removed the belly the guitar had. Now if only it'd work on mine.... It also sounds much better. More projection, and fuller sound.

Coolpooler  Cold Lake, AB Read my reviews (6)
4 12-15-2011
12 string installation trouble

First, thanks to Stewart-MacDonald for very prompt shipping.

I had some trouble installing this on my old Yamaha FG, 12string, but it was a success in the end. I drilled the hole near the back of the bridge, behind where all of the strings attach. That was my mistake. I realized when trying to install it that the wood piece nearest to the sound hole was blocking two strings’ pin holes, oops. The JLD Bridge system needed to be moved forward slightly. So I drilled another hole between the two rows where the strings attach. Now the wood was out of the way, but the white cylinder shaped piece was preventing one string and pin from seating correctly. So I used my drill to "whittle" away the top edge of the white cylinder piece, carefully without increasing the size of the string hole.

I ended up with an extra hole, but after installing and adjusting the rod, the belly was flattened out to almost flat. The wooden rod did slip off the interior tail piece of the guitar, the first time I tried to tighten it, but I readjusted and got that sorted. That could be a problem for a guitar with a more narrow interior tail piece.

I made a video, and plan to upload it to youtube. Just search and you should find it.

SquareAce  Billingsley, AL
5 12-03-2011
A Sure Thing

I repair guitars as a hobby. I have installed the JLD Bridge Doctor in three guitars to correct minor belly bulge, and two were factory installed in my Breedloves. Each time there has been a noted improvement in sustain, volume, and clarity, as well as taking care of the bulge. As effective as it is easy to install, I don't use them just for repair anymore.

dderooy  Grand Rapids, MI
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 80 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce