Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : JLD Bridge Doctor

JLD Bridge Doctor


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

• Enhances volume
• Flattens 'bellied' soundboards

See details below

Email a friend
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3694 Screw mount Yes
$22.50
3 or more $20.40  

3695 Brass pin mount Yes
$52.75
3 or more $48.00  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



Thompson Belly Reducer



Digital Humidity Gauge



TUSQ Bridge Pins



Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
Thompson Belly Reducer
Digital Humidity Gauge
TUSQ Bridge Pins
Planet Waves Acoustic Guitar Humidifier



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A unique solution to a common bridge problem, this spruce device attaches beneath a guitar bridge. An adjustable spruce "pressure post" rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard.

The spruce block is 3/4" x 1-5/8" x 3-3/8" tall. The 1/4"-diameter tension rod is 9" long. The mounting post has three different positions to accomodate a variety of bridge styles.

Screw mount: This spruce device attaches beneath the bridge via an inlaid screw (a white pearloid dot is included to hide the bridge screw). An adjustable spruce pressure post rests against the tailblock, providing leverage to flatten the soundboard. Better bridge contact and alignment can also enhance sound projection.

Brass pin mount: The pin-mounted version of the JLD Bridge Doctor attaches beneath the bridge using a threaded brass bridge pin. The strings mount horizontally through the tops of the matching brass bridge pins (included).

StewMac Tech Tip: We recommend the brass pin mount version for 12-string guitars.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
JLD Bridge Doctor
JLD Bridge Doctor
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  9 >
5 1-20-2013
Great Product

I have an older guitar that i had to ship to another state to have the bridge & pickguard reguled. I also had some fretwork done to this guitar in a neighboring town. The bridge again was starting to separate and it did have a bellying problem when i bought it used but I did not want to put a lot more money into it. But it does have a nice aged sound. So I read all the reviews here and what ever information I could find before ordering, as i did not have much choice than to let the guitar sit or sell it as is. So i ordered the JLD Bridge Doctor and took my time installing it. It works. My guitar is much improved. I tightened it after a couple weeks. It sounds, plays, and looks a lot better. This is a great product. Thanks for a great product and to the others for writing their reviews. That helped me a lot.

L D  Wyo Read my reviews (2)
5 11-25-2012
awesome

This thing is really amazing - so simple, yet so perfect. You'd think that adding mass would deaden the guitar, but because of the redistribution of tension, it actually opened up the guitars I put them on - and besides, unless it's an instrument of great collector value, what's the point of a guitar you can't play? In the case of my '68 Goya Cowboy T-23 Verihuge, or whatever it's called, it made the guitar "tighter" sounding sort of like it has compression on it - which I guess it does in a way - but the bottom is still fat. It's not the thinnest top in the world, but it's aged beautifully, and the materials are superb. So it's sort of big and warm now, and also - PLAYABLE! On the other hand, my Larrivee D-03 that I got 2nd hand (serial 083!) has a VERY thin top - a beautiful design, but fragile - not suited for the dry NM climate, or at least w/o careful humidification - was cracked and bulging/sinking like mad. I filled the cracks with Titebond II several times over a few months and then added the Doctor. WOW - not only did it become playable (very nice) it got punch like it probably had new - but as it's oldish now, warm and sweet too. The idea of relieving tension on the lower body behind the bridge is real, I believe. It seems to allow the booty to come back to the instrument.*******All-in-all? Easy to install if you have any mechanical skill, and a real life extender for my bunch of possible has-beens. I'd recommend professional installation for those who are not adept with tools - all I care about is tone, and you can easily mess up the looks of your baby if that matters to you.

Doctor, my eyes (are open)  Santa Fe, NM
5 11-18-2012
Screw Mount

Pretty slick arrangement. Simple to do, just try not to misplace that little white thingie! It is in the Twilight Zone as far as I can figure. And I really dont know where to find the silly thing, So i painted the screw black and it works for the $40 guitar it is installed in. Sound got better too.

Chris Durante  W.Babylon, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 10-15-2012
Belly be Gone!

I used the brass pin version on a twelve string with a significant belly and got very satisfactory results. I'm sure a more discerning ear might notice a change in the sound, but it sounded like a big, jangly 12 string before and it still sounds like a big, jangly 12 string.

Not sure what the problem is that some people seem to be having with the instructions, as they seemed pretty straightforward to me. Just know that the instructions are included for both pin and screw versions and don't confuse the two.

I would also recommend de-burring the string holes on the pins prior to installation.

Lee Callicutt  Myrtle Beach, SC Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-05-2012
Did the trick

If you have a guitar with a bulge, try this it works, don't rush it adjust a little and wait, give the wood time to respond, ( the bulge didn't happen over night) then adjust some more, it will pull back in to tolerable measurements..sound is good... sustain is better.. stays in tune better, all around good device..

Tmc  Trinity Ala Read my reviews (5)
4 9-28-2012
Worked great!

This was my first attempt to correct a 70s era Takamine 12 string which had bad action. I was able to restore proper intonation and action with a combination of truss rod adjustment, some sanding of the bone saddle and installation of the screw mount version of the JLD truss. Placement of the screw hole was critical to avoid blocking any of the pin mount holes, but installation was smooth and the effect was immediate. The soundboard had a slight belly as well which was corrected and the sound is still great. Overall I am pleased with the result and will definitely try this again should the need arise.

Andrew Morse  Portland, OR
5 9-09-2012
The doctor saves another one...

Man, I wish I had invented this thing. It totally salvaged several acoustics people have brought here for "lipo." Most recently, I got rid of the belly on a Simon & Patrick. I have had such good luck with this, I've made one standard equipment on bcustom acoustics. If there were a gripe, it'd be that there's not 2 inlay dots (MOP & black.) Breedloves come stock with a bridge doctor and a black inlay dot. Plus I dropped the inlay dot and it rolled away, never to be seen again. I had a spare the same size. Thanks for a great product that has saved guitars and made me look like a hero.

the axeman  Texas Read my reviews (10)
3 9-04-2012
JDL Bridge Doctor

As others have mentioned, the instructions are not very clear or intuitive. If you look at the diagram it appears the block must sit on a brace on the bottom. This was not an option or even necessary or desirable. I installed mine on a 12 string with a severe belly problem. Through research I found it would help to humidify the box and to stack a weight on the top for about a week or more to stabalize the flattened position prior to installing the bridge dr. This would negate having the bridge dr. do all the work. On the positive side, the belly did stabalize with the bridge dr. On the negative side, the tone completly dissapeared. It went from a ringing sound to a thud. The need for all the brass pin replacements and having to keep the bridge dr. fairly tight were probably the cause. I ended up removing it and have built a new bridge, which is incomplete at this time (saddle slot). I think the idea is sound and it may work in some instances. I would try it again on a lesser problem guitar, but not on another 12 string.

Brad H.  Carlsbad, Ca. Read my reviews (2)
5 8-31-2012
JLD Bridge system

Installation no problem on my 12 string. If you take care drilling and follow the directions carefully, it's about a half hour job (adding in first time "think about it" delays. Love the product and considering installing it on my 6-string Tak just because.

Johnk860  Connecticut
4 8-26-2012
Is there a Doctor in the house?

Well now there are two! I bought the the screw mount but when it arrived, I realized that it wouldn't work on my j200 because of the curved pin line and no room for the screw beneath it but I'll keep it for another guitar. I ordered the brass pin mount, installed it and it works as advertised, flattening the belly, bringing the action down and allowing for better adjustment and enhancing the sound. A side benefit was almost subconcious. Before the doctor was installed, the belly bulge and bridge tilt drew my eye like a wart on someone's nose or an infected lip piercing. Now things are as they should be! My only issue was that on first application, I (yep) broke the dowel. Did I tighten it too much, too quickly, or would a hardwood dowel be the answer? Or would that affect the sound adversely? Or is there a built in fail-safe provided by the pine dowel, allowing it to break before something else does? Whatever, it is easily replaced (I stole one from my other kit temporarily) and my second try went better, adjusting it a little at a time over two to three days which I obviously recommend now. Delayed gratification pays off. The guitar is being played again!

Billsguitarz  Sunnyvale Ca
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 80 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce