Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : Gauged Saws

Gauged Saws


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Quickly rough-in new slots with these low-profile saws, and save your nut files to refine the depth and width.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Saws
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3600 All 5 saws SAVE $5.00 Yes
$39.90

3594 0.030" (0.76mm) Yes
$8.98

3599 0.025" (0.64mm) Yes
$8.98

3598 0.020" (0.51mm) Yes
$8.98

3597 0.015" (0.38mm) Yes
$8.98

3596 0.010" (0.25mm) Yes
$8.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut Slotting Gauge



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts



String Spacing Rule



Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Nut Slotting Gauge
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Bleached White Bone Nuts
String Spacing Rule
Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Handy for trimming nuts, saddles, bridge blanks, violin pegs and other small parts, too.

Each saw has a 5" x 7/16" (127mm x 11.11mm) steel blade with 22 teeth per inch, and a comfortable turned wooden handle.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 >
4 2-13-2014
Great Saws. But for accuracy and Convenience, Why not make them Pull-Cuts?

I used these saws when making a couple of bleached bone nuts. I even used one to cut the excess side material off. They certainly got the job done, but I think they should be Pull-Cut saws...That would put these bad boys over the top!

Rockin' Mike Burton  Canada Read my reviews (22)
5 2-09-2014
Worked like they said they would

Bought these to get the string slots in the nut started and they've done great at just that. Big time savers in the shop. I saw down to just short of my mark for final depth and then file the rest of the way.

Robert1986  Kalispell, Montana Read my reviews (4)
3 1-09-2014
Make it a pull saw.

I have the .010 and it is very good, wish it were a pull saw not a push.

Mobiuscloud  Berkeley, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 1-02-2014
Gauged Saws

The perfect tool for perfect results, finally! I just need to make handy stand for them now. Cheers!

PETER POPE JONES  MEXICO Read my reviews (3)
5 11-22-2013
Great for everyday jobs

I use the .010" saw, and it works well for everyday tasks such as trimming bindings, purfling, backstrip, inletting kerfed linings, etc. in addition to nut work. To make this a pull saw, pull the blade off of the spine with pliers or whatnot. Be extra careful to not bend or break the blade but once you are able to pull the spine off, simply reverse it and pound it (carefully) back into the spine, and now you have a pull saw without affecting the function of the saw. It will need sharpening eventually as the saw doesn't come that sharp out of the box... some time with a saw file and it's good as new.

Tai Fu  Taiwan Read my reviews (20)
5 10-31-2013
I saw the light

I bought a set of these saws to cut the string slots for the brass nut on my project. They did the job flawlessly. I would recommend these saws to anyone. Finish off slot with the gauged files.

axe fixr  Richardson (Dallas) Texas Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-26-2013
Must have tool set

we have the set @ 4seasons pickups and makes repair jobs much eyser

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
5 10-01-2013
Nut file preservers

If have tested them on several nuts. Good cut. Fast and easy working. Well worth the money paid. Normally I prefer a push cut but with these saws I think pull is better. Not for control but the risk for buckling is higher when you push the saw. I have made a second handle which can be attached to the saws with 2 little clamp bolts.

Martin Fuerstenau  Unterfoehring Read my reviews (10)
3 8-29-2013
Good saws for the money

I would have given these five stars if the cut would have been pull instead of draw style, but these made quick work of the slots, allowing me to get more quickly to the slotting files I use.

Barry Evan Russ  Atlanta GA Read my reviews (2)
5 8-01-2013
To make it a pull cut

For you guys who wish it were a pull-cut saw:
Cut off the existing handle and epoxy a wooden handle of your own design on the other end. Anyone who can make a guitar should be able to tackle that simple task.

AJ Hand  CT
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce