Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bridges : Bridge Spatula

Bridge Spatula


Read 11 Reviews   |   Write a Review

"I saw this in use at Martin's repair shop 20 years ago, and have wanted one ever since!"—Dan Erlewine, guitar repairman

See details below

Email a friend
Bridge Spatula
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4466 Bridge Spatula Yes
$38.94


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Soundhole Clamps



Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron



Dan Erlewines Bridge Repairs



Neck Joint Steamer



Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank



Soundhole Clamps
Bridge Heater and Fingerboard Iron
Dan Erlewine's Bridge Repairs
Neck Joint Steamer
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank



Details
 Pictures
The right tool for bridge removal!
Super-thin and super-stiff, mounted at a shallow angle in a big block handle. The Bridge Spatula gives you more control when separating a loose bridge or fretboard extension from a guitar top. Works wonders for pickguard removal, too.

  • 0.012"-thin (0.3mm) stainless steel is sandwiched between wood blocks at a shallow angle.
  • Exposed steel is 2-1/2" x 5" (63.5mm x 127mm)
  • Hardwood block handle is 2" x 2-1/2" and 1" thick (50.8mm x 63.5mm x 25.4mm)
  • Thick felt on the underside of the tool handle protects the guitar top and helps it smoothly slide under your work.



/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bridge Spatula
Bridge Spatula
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 11 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 4-24-2014
Bridge Spatula

Used the spatula for the first time on a Taylor. Easy to use, felt protects the finish, pliable but firm enough to do the job.

Saladis Guitar Repair  Staten Island, NY
5 11-06-2013
Bridge spatula

Great tool! Works perfectly in combination with a mini bridge heating blanket. Able to remove my bridge in 5 min, watch in hand! And then to clean up the mess and glue back my bridge!

Mytch Berdah  France Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-11-2013
Nice Tool!

I have a drawer full of re-worked putty knives and spatulas, but this has a nice stiffness and good length for bridge jobs. I did finesse the blade to smooth it out a bit more. I also don't dig the square short handle and had to reform it to my liking. But it is a high quality tool!

Tom Krebs  USA Read my reviews (3)
5 8-22-2013
A necessary tool!

This is a handy tool for slipping between pieces that need separating, such as the neck and top or top and sides. The cork bottom helps protect the guitar's finish.

Steve West  Colwich, Kansas Read my reviews (7)
5 4-30-2013
Great results.

This is easily the best tool I've used to remove bridges. It's nice and wide and just flexible enough to shear the glue joint without catching run out in the top. It makes entry points a breeze. The only thing I suggest is deburring the edges of the knife (w/ fine sandpaper) so you do not score or scratch the finish around the bridge. Highly recommended.

Kevin, Chubbuck Guitars  Boston, MA
5 4-28-2013
Necessary tool

Why didn't someone think of this 30 years ago? Its use is so obvious and it serves it so well. The felt on the bottom is a nice touch. Works on fingerboards too.

John L  Kalamazoo, MI Read my reviews (15)
5 2-27-2013
The best tool for the job

This really simple tool makes removing bridges so much easier and cleaner than any method I've used before.

David Cavins  Columbia, MO Read my reviews (2)
5 1-18-2013
THE tool for bridge removing

This tool is stunning! I used to remove bridges with a narrower spatula and it was often going straight into the wood and not working as it should. This one is wide enough to take the whole width of the bridge in a time and this way it doesn't go into the soundboard. It's thin enough to enter smoothly under the bridge and stiff enough not to twist. The rounded corners are very safe for the polish. Removing a bridge almost becomes easy :)

Florian THOMAS Luthier  Bordeaux - France
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-09-2012
The tool that I missed

Long ago I made a spatula a little like this for fingerboards and bridges off. But it was too thick and stiff and do not work very well. I decided not to use it longer and I changed for what I found on sale. And I've never been really satisfied ... These tools were mostly not wide enough and when they were thin enough they did'nt resist very often the pressure required to penetrate inside the glue joint. With this new Stewmac's spatula, I tested very shortly after I bought it, I feel much more confident now to complete this task quickly and correctly.

Pavy Custom Guitars  France Read my reviews (2)
5 9-07-2012
Fingerboard Extension Removal

I first saw this in use at Martin Guitar Company but they don't sell them so when I saw it available from Stew Mac I had to order one. Awesome for removing the fingerboard extention from a flat top. Thumbs up!

Sam Michael  Delaware
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 29 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce