Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Brace repair : Brace Repair Jack

Brace Repair Jack


Read 22 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Simple fingertip adjustment. A real time-saver for holding a cracked brace, bridge plate or crack repair cleat while the glue dries.

See details below

Email a friend
Brace Repair Jack
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3544 Brace Repair Jack Yes
$9.42
3 or more $8.41  
12 or more $7.96  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scissor Jack



Soundhole Clamps



Soundhole Clamp Cauls



Protective Felt



Titebond Wood Glue



Scissor Jack
Soundhole Clamps
Soundhole Clamp Cauls
Protective Felt
Titebond Wood Glue



Details
 Pictures
It has simple fingertip turnbuckle height adjustment, and glue-resistant cauls.

The 7/8"-diameter (22.23mm) feet are glue-resistant HDPE (high-density polyethylene), one flat and one grooved to fit over a brace. The jack extends from 3-5/16" to 5-1/4" (84.14mm to 133.35mm).
This product is made exclusively for Stewart-MacDonald by
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Brace Repair Jack
Brace Repair Jack
 
3 out of 5 stars
Based on 22 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
2 3-26-2014
Hard To Use

Very hard to get the brace in place and turn it to expand while not moving it out of place. It needs a thumb wheel that you can turn while holding the entire jack in place. It works, but be prepared to spend some time getting it into position.

jtrimble62  Summerville, SC Read my reviews (7)
2 3-13-2014
disappointing

I'm sorry to say these don't work well for me. The older models were better, especially the ones with wooden ends with cork padding. Those were the best. Even the ones with the square black plastic ends were better than the current model. These new ones are too tall for many acoustics and the round shape of the ends makes it difficult to get the jack to stay in place while tightening. This is further complicated by the extremely slippery white plastic (nylon?) ends. Guys, please bring back the original design.

gtarfixr  NC Read my reviews (2)
4 3-01-2014
Nice idea, but a tad lightweight

They do the job, but I think the turnbuckle should be sturdier, and a little shorter.

unluthier  NC Read my reviews (9)
3 10-20-2013
A bit too big for my job

I got one of these for an ES 175 style kit that I'm building..the guitar had no bracing on the top plate so this was for clamping the braces at the rear. The jack was a bit too long for the job - the Scissor Jack would have been perfect. I'm sure I'll find a use for it though!

Roy Dean  Melbourne Australia
5 10-07-2013
Brace Repair Jack

I used these jacks on a old '69 Eko Ranger, with complete success. These guitars were never the best, but the wood was carefully selected for the body to get that special tone.

TERRY TREW  Co.GALWAY. IRELAND Read my reviews (2)
5 8-04-2013
The solution

Exactly what I need to glue the broken braces off this guitar. Easy to place and easy to fix for this gluing job. Easy to remove and no mark left!!! Perfect.

Domblo  France Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
4 5-31-2013
Hard to beat for the price

Like others have said, be aware that this is only going to work on full size and jumbo acoustic bodies or acoustic basses. The StewMac scissor jack is what you really need for the type of jobs where you would use this little tool. But for the price this one is hard to beat. I also appreciate that the plastic ends must have teflon in them cause dried glue that gets on them doesnt stick. Just pops right off.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
5 5-26-2013
StewMac's Brace Repair Jack

What a great little repair tool! Easy to install, operate & adjust.

RonSB  Richland, WA
3 2-11-2013
Not without Issues

Bit big for a lot of acoustics - would have more applications if 10mm smaller. Fiddly as well. On the other hand, can't think of another tool that does what this can

Brianm8461  Waterford City, Ireland Read my reviews (3)
4 9-10-2011
good idea, too big for size 5

This would have been just fine for fullsize, too big for Terz. I wound up using a metal ruler cut to size, used as a spring against the brace...worked perfectly.

JR Jenkins  Bakersfield, CA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 22 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce