Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 186 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 186 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  19 >
5 1-05-2012
Does the job.

Only complaint is I wish the .010 and .013 didn't wear out so fast but I guess that's to be expected since they are thin and I used them a fair amount. Works great!

George Casiano  Corona, CA Read my reviews (17)
5 12-25-2011
Exactly what you need!

These made achieving proper string height and slot width on the nut a breeze.

Wv Bluesman  Suwanee, Ga Read my reviews (4)
5 12-23-2011
Nut Slotting Files

These produce a very nice rounded shape for the nut slot with parallel vertical sides. I found matching the file gauge with the string gauge made the strings a pretty tight fit so I rock the file from side to side slightly to open the slot out a bit.The parallel sides of the file mean that if you haven't cut the nut top pretty close to the final profile the file snags a bit.

Overall I prefer the shape of the slot produced with this file than the double sided version which I also use (but doesn't snag)which produces a V shaped slot.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
5 12-21-2011
They are what they are!

I mean, I don't know what the alternative would be and they do what they're supposed to do and do it well - what can I say. I've had a set of these since I started and I sure can't imagine being without them.

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (14)
5 12-20-2011
The Bee's knees!

Perfect for the purpose.

Rick Harrison  South Australia Read my reviews (9)
5 12-17-2011
Another time saver!

How would you do without a complete set of these well made files? Just makes nut work fast easy and precise!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 12-14-2011
Nut Slotting Filles

I take older instruments and lower the action and make them easier to play fo the new player. I feel we have an obligation to make the instrument available to new players. These are great tools.

David Harper  Lafayette, Indiana USA
5 11-16-2011
Gauged Nut Files


I found these tools to be excellent...sure makes the job faster, easier, and more precise than my attempts to use home-made versions.

BCruise  Central TX
5 11-09-2011
great slotting files

I bought a couple of these to see how they would perform. They are very good quality. I ended up buying .010 through .050. I would defensively recommend them. I used them for nut slotting and ABR bridge filing. Great product.

dsteiner  Mechanicsburg, PA Read my reviews (9)
5 11-04-2011
Glad I Got These Files

I have a $100 acoustic guitar, and I didn't want to spend a fortune on tools, but I also wanted the job to go well, so I followed Dan Erlewine's advice in Guitar Player Repair Guide and got the .016", .024" and .035" size nut slotting files, along with a .012" X-Acto saw. I used feeler gauges to keep from filing too deep. The files worked great but I did put a scratch the peghead, so make sure the round end of the file is the one closest to the peghead.

Also, in spite of all my precautions, I filed too deep on a few slots, so have super glue handy. I didn't have any bone dust or baking powder, so instead I used a powdered white vitamin pill along with the super glue. When the filing was done, I rubbed some pencil graphite in the slot.

Slip'ry Dan Weisberg  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce