Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 186 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 186 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  19 >
4 2-24-2012
Good value

Just one teeny little niggle... The 0.010" file is thin, as you might expect. This makes it bendy and rather hard to use. You need two hands to keep it straight. So,I bought #3596 Guaged Saw to do the same job. It has a backing strip like a Tenon Saw, and can be used single handed. It's so much easier to use in practice. Other than this niggle, these files do an excellent job. If you order a set, purchase #3596 at the same time, it's only 8 bucks for a nice little saw that will save you a headache.

Phil from Oz  Perth, West Australia Read my reviews (6)
5 2-16-2012
Great files

I bought 4 of these for Ukes - 028, 032, 035 and 042. Just file away until the file touches a 050 feeler guage placed on the fingerboard - perfect!
Chris

ChrisG  Winnipeg, MB Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 2-08-2012
well worth the money

If you can afford these files buy them.They make your work so much faster and easier.Tip cleaners and feeler gauges for files are not accurate.These files will last forever if taken care of.

danor1023  oregon
5 2-03-2012
I agree with everyone else.

I got a set of these as a Christmas gift, from my luthier brother-in-law. As I play with dainty strings (mostly nines), I added the .010 file to the collection.

They work.

Are there better ones? Maybe...but I won't be looking for them.

They work. That's good enough for me.

Canada Guy  Church Point, Nova Scotia Read my reviews (3)
5 1-31-2012
invaluable

I've made countless nuts with these files. Their flat sides can be useful if using spacers to determine your slot positions. For example, I have found it useful to slot a small nut-sized piece of wood and get the spacing perfect. Then clamp this piece with your bone blank in the vise. The wooden piece acts as a template for transferring the slot positions - similar to using an old nut, but more accurate! These files are perfect for this method.

Moriarty Guitars  Dublin Ireland Read my reviews (12)
5 1-27-2012
beats a pocket knife

I have two sets (one for steel strings, one for nylon strings). Use to use a gent saw and a pocket knife to make slots. These files do a wonderful job. Well worth the money.

frailingbanjo  moorhead, mn Read my reviews (3)
1 1-18-2012
Very Poor Quality

Half of the files ordered are very dull, I have some very well used ones that do just as good of a job.

Compton Custom Bridges  Minnesota Read my reviews (2)
5 1-12-2012
Stewmac nut files

I needed some nut files to set up a couple of cheap ukuleles i own, with some advice from Pete Howlett a luthier, I purchased 2 nut files from Stewmac, they arrived quite promptly considering the distance they have travelled, i carried out the work and now the 2 ukes are set up perfectly for me, will i be buying from Stewmac again, YOU BET I WILL

kaizersoza  Swansea Wales
5 1-11-2012
a MUST have for alternate tunings

I set up my guitars with many different tunings with different string gauges.
These do a wonderful job of help me set up each of my guitars for the specific gauge set!

Jeremy Jo  Mississauga, ON, Canada
5 1-06-2012
Great & Excellent!!!!

Nothing to say... simply wonderful and a must have tool for nut filing!!!

Kelvin Tay  Singapore Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce