Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Basic Setup Kit

Basic Setup Kit


Read 97 Reviews   |   Write a Review

  • String action gauge
  • Understring radius gauges
  • Precision straightedge
  • FREE guitar setup instructions


See details below

Email a friend
Basic Setup Kit

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3910 With inch String Action Gauge SAVE $4.90 Yes
$96.95

3910-M With metric String Action Gauge SAVE $4.90 1-2 weeks
$96.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!



Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Make any guitar play better!
We're often asked to recommend "must-have" tools for setting up acoustic and electric guitars. We've made it easy—the Basic Setup Kit includes our most popular setup tools. These are the same super-accurate, high quality steel setup tools that professional repair shops depend on.

Includes:

String Action Gauge The fastest way to measure the height of strings, nuts, saddles and pickup polepieces. Designed for stringed instrument work, it's much faster to use than any ruler.

18" Precision Straightedge Machined for fanatic accuracy (to ±.0015" per foot)! Use it to check neck relief and evaluate truss rod adjustments.

Understring Radius Gauges A big help for matching bridge saddle heights to the fretboard curvature, for easier playability. Accurately laser-cut from stainless steel, the set includes 9 different fretboard radii.



Truss rod adjustment is an important part of guitar setup, too.
Our Truss Rod Wrench Set has the tool you need.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 97 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 >
5 9-26-2012
Great tools to have!

I am an amateur guitar player, mostly preferring electric. I have a strat, a Gibson ES 137, and Epiphone Genesis, and my 1976 Takamine acoustic. I found the straight edge to be way helpful for deciding whether or not a neck needs fussing with. My visual inspection and measuring string height at the 8th fret and such is just not the same-not as accurate.The string height measuring tools is very useful and essential to set up the guitar. It is easy to use and comes with good instructions. The under-string -radius device was only needed in the Fender size (9.5), since I only used it for adjusting the individual saddle heights(which only the Fender has). Overall these are a must-have if you want to do your own set ups. Excellent quality, by the way.

ccutter  Crescent City Cal Read my reviews (8)
5 9-13-2012
Superb!!

This kit may seem a bit pricy, but it is worth every penny.

JohnnyB  Jacksonville Beach, FL Read my reviews (2)
5 9-10-2012
The right tools for the job

I am not a pro guitar builder or setup tech but that is exactly why I bought the Stewart-McDonald Basic Setup Kit. It gave me everything I needed to check the neck, set neck relief, adjust string action, match the set the string radius to match my neck radius and actually wind up with a guitar that plays with no guessing a long the way. The tools are first rate in terms of quality and the rectangular string gauge/height gauge is a wondcer to work with. It makes all of this so simple but very accurate. It is tools like this, with quality and good price that keep me coming back to Stewart-McDonald!

TomHintz  Concord, NC Read my reviews (4)
4 8-20-2012
Basic Setup Kit is a great start!

These are great tools to get you going on doing your own setups. The string action gauge is so much better than using a regular ruler. The beveled edge on the straight edge really allows you to see better and work more efficiently. The under string radius gauges save a lot of time and are easy to use. A must have set of tools for the shop.

Mr. Slick Fingers  Kenosha, WI
5 8-20-2012
Basic Setup Kit

I use StewMac tools 40hrs a week at work and they cop some serious abuse.
I expect that the tools I have purchased for home will last me a lifetime!
Thanks StewMac :)

MakingMusick  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (4)
4 8-09-2012
Almost perfect

All the items are useful and nice. But I have to say that progressive height scale measures only from 0.25 to 3.5 mm, enough for electric guitar but insufficient for classical guitars. Concert classical guitarrists fit the saddle height at 12th fret between 4 mm to 5 mm. Just a bit more lenght and classical luthiers will be happy too.

Jose Maria  Valladolid, Spain Read my reviews (4)
5 7-25-2012
A great bit of kit!

These tools are great quality and have paid for themselves many times over!

Dave M  Los Angeles, CA USA Read my reviews (7)
5 6-18-2012
A Must Have For Every Guitarist

Extremely useful kit. Guitars sound great after setting up. Just wished that the instructions had more detail for beginners like me. But regardless, buy this item now! You need it!

Bald Bear  Malaysia Read my reviews (3)
5 6-13-2012
Perfect tools

Works perfectly. Very well built. I recommend.

Felipe Braz  São Paulo, Brazil Read my reviews (7)
5 6-11-2012
A great add to my tool kit

Basic set-up kit was as good as advertised: easy to use and immediately helpful, even to an amateur like me. Great way to assure consistent action on all my guitars.

Kevin Fitzgerald  Minneapolis Minnesota
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce