Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : 3-Corner Fret Dressing Files

3-Corner Fret Dressing Files


Read 34 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Specially made for traditional fret crowning and shaping.
SAVE when you buy the set of three.

See details below

Email a friend
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1600 Complete set of 3 files SAVE $5.00 Yes
$77.58

1601 Small, 7-3/8" Yes
$22.25

1602 Medium, 8" Yes
$23.88

1603 Large, 9" Yes
$36.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Radius Gauges



Fingerboard Guards



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Erasers



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Radius Gauges
Fingerboard Guards
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Erasers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Smooth corners protect the fretboard.
These special files are for those who prefer a traditional method of fret crowning. Their smooth corners won't leave scratches in the fretboard, and they're great for shaping the ends of the frets.

The small fine-cut file has 3" x 1/8" tapered cutting surfaces, and the medium-cut file has 5" x 1/4" tapered surfaces. The large file is known as a cant saw file, and is a favorite of our fret expert Dan Erlewine and many other well-known luthiers. It has a versatile flattened-triangle shape, with a 4-5/8" x 1/2" and two 4-5/8" x 5/16" cutting surfaces. All files have comfortable rubber-coated handles.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather
Ouch! Dry weather makes fret ends stick out. Here's the fix.
Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather Read more

In this issue:
This week, Erick Coleman answers a wintertime question: What to do about fret ends that stick out of the sides of the neck?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 34 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-06-2011
great file

Needed for fret dressing.

Set-up Technician  Solon,Ohio Read my reviews (18)
5 10-01-2011
Arhh... simple, quick, accurate

I've tried other files for dressing and crowning. These work the best. I use the large for all the shaping and finish off with a touch from the two smaller ones if needed. Spot on!

Brett Menadue  Adelaide, South Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 9-10-2011
Great!

This is a great file. I bought the Medium. It's very easy to control and cuts nicely.

szlash280z  Jacksonville, FL Read my reviews (8)
5 8-31-2011
Must Have

I have all 3 sizes. I use the smallest one the most. It has replaced my "fret-end file" because I prefer the single-cut teeth.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 8-17-2011
Three corner files

Just got the three corner files and they are doing the job. I work for Los Lonely Boys as their guitar tech and fast is part of the job. These files have taken time off the clock for me and that's what I'm about. Great files

Ish  Austin,Texas
3 7-30-2011
it's ok

it's ok.

Marv  Cleveland, TN Read my reviews (7)
5 6-01-2011
Great fretwork

Very happy with the purchase of the set of 3 triangular fret files - tidying fret ends is now a pleasure and takes 15 minutes as opposed to the half day it used to take me when messing around with sanding blocks and regular needle files. You won't regret buying these.

Toby Carter  UK Read my reviews (8)
5 3-29-2011
Fret Ends; No Problem

I was a bit squeamish about doing this job myself, but after reading on line advice at Stew Mac I went ahead and ordered the small fret dressing file. After masking the fingerboard with Blue masking tape I carefully began filing down the fret ends exposed by my shrinking fingerboard. The small file worked fine, but the medium might be a little better for overall coverage. The file did a great job and I finished this task in under 2 hours. The micro buffing pads and fret end dressing file finished the job nicely.

Wayne Tutzauer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (4)
4 3-06-2011
8" three corner fret dressing file

Good quality file that cuts well. (Rub with white chalk to help prevent clogging and use a small wire brush to clean)
Strongly recommend buying the Stew Mc fret shields as even though the corners of the file are without teeth, they can still leave a nasty groove.

michael morris  brisbane, australia Read my reviews (2)
4 2-09-2011
Good files but....

I bought these files (1601, 1602) because the cutting surface went all the way to the end, and for the nice handles. I did, however, have to smooth the corners with my Dremel tool using the round sanding attachment because the corners, even though they were ground down, still cut into the masking tape while I was dressing some frets. There is some kind of coating on these files which is probably to prevent rust, but it is too abrasive. After polishing the corners, though, these files work really well.

Jeremy C  Denver, CO Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce