Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Scrapers : StewMac Ultimate Scraper

StewMac Ultimate Scraper


Read 56 Reviews   |   Write a Review

It's the best scraper we've ever used!
Revolutionary tools, unsurpassed for smoothing wood surfaces, arched instrument tops, bindings and more.

See details below

Email a friend
StewMac Ultimate Scraper

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0631 Original Yes
$30.95

0632 Mini Yes
$24.45

0623 NEW! Rectangle/Concave Yes
$30.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Blades



Ibex Archtop Carving Planes



Archtop Tops



Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin



Top Wood for Carved-top Solidbody



Scraper Blades
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
Archtop Tops
Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin
Top Wood for Carved-top Solidbody



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
For an ultra-smooth wood surface, nothing beats a good sharp scraper. Veteran luthier Al Carruth has given the simple scraper a revolutionary makeover, with practical improvements for stringed instrument work: the original Ultimate Scraper. We added a second mini version that's popular for working in tighter areas.

Go for the rectangle/concave scraper when you need to keep a good, tight, square corner in binding channels and neck pockets. Also great for smoothing bindings and many steps of making a new neck. Thanks to renowned bass luthier Michael Tobias for suggesting this new shape!

  • Refined shapes are superior for arched tops and flat or curved surfaces.
  • 1/8" thickness adds stiffness and greatly reduces chatter.
  • Two working edges for scraping with both pull and push strokes.
  • Durable tempered steel edges, for smoothing harder woods.

At 1/8" thick, Ultimate scrapers are much beefier than standard scraper blades. Two cutting edges let the tool work in both directions, without flexing and with less chattering. That saves a lot of time and effort! The tempered tool steel holds a more durable edge, too. The shapes are specially refined for hand-contouring and graduating arched instrument tops and backs, as well as smoothing bindings and flat surfaces.

Dimensions
#0631 Original: 3-3/4" x 1-11/16" (95.25mm x 42.86mm)
#0632 Mini: 2-1/2" x 1-1/2" (63mm x 38mm)
#0623 Rectangle/Concave: 3-7/16" x 1-13/16" (87.31mm x 46.04mm); three straight edges plus 20”-radius concave edge

From luthier Al Carruth:
"In Il Segreti di Stradivari, violin maker Simone Sacconi wrote 'scrapers were made from blades of sabers. Since they were of very hard steel one could not turn the edge and therefore they were used like a knife.' When I began working with violin maker Carleen Hutchins she used such a scraper. This is, in my estimation, the best possible scraper for builders of arched instruments.

"It works on the same principle as scraping with a broken piece of glass; a common technique among carpenters. A very hard material can take an exceedingly keen edge and when it is perpendicular, as it is in broken glass, it can last for a long time even if the material is brittle. This tool has the advantage over glass of having a shape that is well defined and re-sharpenable."

How Al sharpens his scraper:
Sharpen the Carruth Ultimate Scraper on a grinding wheel"I find it easiest to hollow grind the edge perpendicular to the centerline of the scraper. Simply set the tool rest on your grinder perpendicular to the wheel and grind all around. Use as fine a wheel as possible and don't apply too much pressure. If desired, the edge can be further dressed on a fine stone with or without a guide block.

"In use, this scraper will give an extremely smooth cut even on soft or highly figured wood. It has little tendency to chatter due to its weight and does not heat up. It is much easier on the thumbs than a “normal” scraper as it is not “sprung” in use. To re-sharpen simply lap the surface on a fine stone and re-grind the edge."

Watch the video! Al Carruth shows how to use and sharpen the Ultimate Scraper. Watching Al, you'll see how easy this is.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 56 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 1-30-2013
Easier than expected

Used the original size to scrape some tortoise binding and a rosette, and the results are outstanding. No chatter and such a smooth cut. Well done!

Steve J  Williamstown, NJ Read my reviews (2)
5 1-27-2013
THE ABSOLUTE BEST......

This thing is simply THE SCRAPER OF THE GODS.

Bill Meyer/Jack Straw Guitars  Prescott, Arizona Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-27-2013
Handy for so many things

Feels great in the hand, Chunky and sharp

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
5 1-26-2013
Fantastic Scraper

I bought this scraper for instrument work, but it has really proven itself in inlay work for some furniture projects. Stiff, durable, and holds its edge much longer than a card scraper. First class!

Aaron Hess  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (13)
5 1-03-2013
The Great (E)scrape!

You never really know when you purchase an item from another country whether it will live up to expectations when it arrives. I have only done some test runs with it so far but the Caruth Utimate scraper is a gem. Beautifully made, easy to use and does a fantastic job.It should be in every toolbox.

Leroy49  Tasmania Australia
5 12-17-2012
Carruth Scraper

If you use scrapers you have to get this one for sure, it removes 50% more wood then a thin card scraper and is so easy to use I love it.

Barry Branco  Danville CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-07-2012
Best addition this year

Can't say enough how much easier scraping bindings flush is with this tool. Highly recommended!

Rob McD  Cochrane, AB Read my reviews (2)
5 12-07-2012
The Way to Scrape!

I learned to scrape wood with a wide, thick metal scraper made from blade steel. I resorted to the thinner gauge scrapers that have been available, but was never satisfied until I got the Carruth Ultimate. This scraper has comfortable mass, stays sharp, does flats and dishes. Next purchase: the Mini for the small bits. Thanks for making these available.

Scott Reeves  Simsbury, CT Read my reviews (3)
5 11-28-2012
can't beat it

This is a great scraper. It stays sharp and creates a perfect shaving

jack thompson  spokane washington
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-31-2012
Buy This NOW!

Simply incredible! I agree with all the above rave comments. A true 'must have' in any shop!

Tom Krebs  USA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 26 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce