Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Scrapers : StewMac Ultimate Scraper

StewMac Ultimate Scraper


Read 56 Reviews   |   Write a Review

It's the best scraper we've ever used!
Revolutionary tools, unsurpassed for smoothing wood surfaces, arched instrument tops, bindings and more.

See details below

Email a friend
StewMac Ultimate Scraper

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0631 Original Yes
$30.95

0632 Mini Yes
$24.45

0623 NEW! Rectangle/Concave Yes
$30.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Blades



Ibex Archtop Carving Planes



Archtop Tops



Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin



Top Wood for Carved-top Solidbody



Scraper Blades
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
Archtop Tops
Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin
Top Wood for Carved-top Solidbody



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
For an ultra-smooth wood surface, nothing beats a good sharp scraper. Veteran luthier Al Carruth has given the simple scraper a revolutionary makeover, with practical improvements for stringed instrument work: the original Ultimate Scraper. We added a second mini version that's popular for working in tighter areas.

Go for the rectangle/concave scraper when you need to keep a good, tight, square corner in binding channels and neck pockets. Also great for smoothing bindings and many steps of making a new neck. Thanks to renowned bass luthier Michael Tobias for suggesting this new shape!

  • Refined shapes are superior for arched tops and flat or curved surfaces.
  • 1/8" thickness adds stiffness and greatly reduces chatter.
  • Two working edges for scraping with both pull and push strokes.
  • Durable tempered steel edges, for smoothing harder woods.

At 1/8" thick, Ultimate scrapers are much beefier than standard scraper blades. Two cutting edges let the tool work in both directions, without flexing and with less chattering. That saves a lot of time and effort! The tempered tool steel holds a more durable edge, too. The shapes are specially refined for hand-contouring and graduating arched instrument tops and backs, as well as smoothing bindings and flat surfaces.

Dimensions
#0631 Original: 3-3/4" x 1-11/16" (95.25mm x 42.86mm)
#0632 Mini: 2-1/2" x 1-1/2" (63mm x 38mm)
#0623 Rectangle/Concave: 3-7/16" x 1-13/16" (87.31mm x 46.04mm); three straight edges plus 20”-radius concave edge

From luthier Al Carruth:
"In Il Segreti di Stradivari, violin maker Simone Sacconi wrote 'scrapers were made from blades of sabers. Since they were of very hard steel one could not turn the edge and therefore they were used like a knife.' When I began working with violin maker Carleen Hutchins she used such a scraper. This is, in my estimation, the best possible scraper for builders of arched instruments.

"It works on the same principle as scraping with a broken piece of glass; a common technique among carpenters. A very hard material can take an exceedingly keen edge and when it is perpendicular, as it is in broken glass, it can last for a long time even if the material is brittle. This tool has the advantage over glass of having a shape that is well defined and re-sharpenable."

How Al sharpens his scraper:
Sharpen the Carruth Ultimate Scraper on a grinding wheel"I find it easiest to hollow grind the edge perpendicular to the centerline of the scraper. Simply set the tool rest on your grinder perpendicular to the wheel and grind all around. Use as fine a wheel as possible and don't apply too much pressure. If desired, the edge can be further dressed on a fine stone with or without a guide block.

"In use, this scraper will give an extremely smooth cut even on soft or highly figured wood. It has little tendency to chatter due to its weight and does not heat up. It is much easier on the thumbs than a “normal” scraper as it is not “sprung” in use. To re-sharpen simply lap the surface on a fine stone and re-grind the edge."

Watch the video! Al Carruth shows how to use and sharpen the Ultimate Scraper. Watching Al, you'll see how easy this is.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 56 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 3-19-2013
Amazing scraper

I must say this is the most amazing tool in my shop. I use if for everything. I don't know what I did without it. Makes spring steel scrapers obsolete. A must-have tool.

Eddie Blevins Mandolin Works  Blountville, TN Read my reviews (4)
5 3-08-2013
Not only a scrapper

I love this tool ....great for shaping as well as a perfect relicing tool ...I find I use it for more than shaping ...extremely useful and high quality

mikrow  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (34)
5 3-08-2013
Ultimate Scraper

Fabulous!

Gmax  Burleson, TX.
5 3-07-2013
excellent scraper

Recently purchased the Ultimate scraper because I was currently building two kayaks. I needed the scraper for the removal of epoxy runs and creating flat surfaces over the length of 15'. Needless to say that the scraper worked better than I could have imagined. Highly recommend this product for it's stiffness, ease of use and sharpening.

RKF  Tampa Fl
5 3-04-2013
StewMac Scraper (large)

I'm just starting out with guitar making and repair, on my lean budget guitar tools are sometimes very expensive, so I don't have a lot of the hi end tools to do the work needed. I received your e-mail on the scrapers and thought that would really come in handy. I used it on a maple top I am making and it really did the job well. Thank you so much StewMac for resolving another issue for me. Doug

D.A.D.  Fullerton CA Read my reviews (4)
5 2-27-2013
Curruther Scraper

I used this for the first time on a 12fret OM I have just finished building and I must admit it works well and is a lot less fatiguing than normal scrapers , my only regret is I didnt get the small one as well .As always StewMac shipping never ceases to amaze ,if I place an order on a friday night in Perth it is delivered to my front door on Monday morning .......how do they do that ......I dont think I could get to them in that time on commercial flights ????

Dave Wishart  Perth, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-27-2013
A great Scraper

This tool is my first experience of using a scraper. Wow, what an amazing little tool! I love it. I have mainly used it for scraping bindings so far and it saves so much time and as it creates shavings and not dust is much safer to work with. I want a bigger one! Martin Taylor Guitars

MartinT  Central Coast, NSW Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-14-2013
It really is the ultimate scraper.

Not only does it stay sharp longer, I love the heft and the way it feels in my hand. Great design!

Chuck Moore  Hawaii Read my reviews (2)
5 2-13-2013
best scraper ever

Expensive scraper, but worth any single euro of its cost. I often make African Blackwood guitars, this scraper works wonders on A-B saving hours of work. Great on those maple archtop backs too... and it holds an edge better than any other scraper I have (including my expensive scraper plane)

Ciro Marzio  Napoli - Italy Read my reviews (12)
5 2-02-2013
No Lie - One Heck of a Scraper

Immediately very impressed with the ease of use and efficiency. Easy and intuitive to control, shaves a good and appropriate amount of material using a comparatively light touch and takes it off *evenly* without gouging or chattering. Feels solid in your hands. It takes a lot for a simple scraper to be worth $30. This one is.

Brian in Texas  Austin, TX
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 26 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce