Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Scraper Blades

Scraper Blades


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For ultra-smooth wood surfaces. The first time you use a scraper blade, you'll discover why it's a favorite tool of traditional woodworkers.

See details below

Email a friend
Scraper Blades

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0654 Large, rectangular Yes
$6.84

0628 Large, curved ends Yes
$6.38

0655 Large, French curve Yes
$9.64

0625 Mini, concave/convex 1+ month
$6.98
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0626 Mini, oval Yes
$6.49

0627 Mini, rectangular Yes
$7.98

0629 All 3 mini scrapers SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$21.45
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0630 Scraper blade kit (all 6 scrapers) SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$41.31
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.

Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Burnisher



Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



De-Glue Goo



Scraper Burnisher
Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
De-Glue Goo



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Our versatile stainless steel scrapers leave wood surfaces ultra-smooth. They're also the best tools for smoothing plastic bindings, because they don't heat, soften or scratch the material the way sandpaper can. Occasional squaring and burnishing of the edges keeps them sharp and efficient (the Scraper Burnisher makes it easy). These scrapers are available with convex, straight and concave edges, for smoothing and fine-contouring wood surfaces on practically any instrument.

Large scrapers have a variety of contours for trimming bindings, neck profiling, fingerboard surfacing, archtop contouring and graduating, wood deburring, acoustic bridge shaping, and more. Supplied unburnished.

#0654 Rectangular2-1/2" x 6" x .028"(63.50mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0628 Curved ends2" x 6" x .028"(50.80mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0655 French curve3-1/8" x 5-1/8" x .028"(79.38mm x 130.17mm x 0.7mm)


Mini scrapers are for smoothing smaller areas with finer control. Among their many uses, the concave/convex version is handy for acoustic guitar bridge contouring, and the oval scraper makes quick work of spot-leveling drop-fill finish repairs. The rectangular version has rounded 1/8" and 3/32" notches for fast and easy acoustic bridge saddle crowning (a bonus inspired by an idea from Freddie Cisneros). Supplied unburnished. Order all 3 and save!

#0625 Concave/convex1-31/32" x 1-17/64" x .016"(50mm x 32mm x 0.4mm)
#0626 Oval1-25/32" x 1-3/16" x .008"(45mm x 30mm x 0.2mm)
#0627 Rectangular1-25/32" x 63/64" x .016"(45mm x 25mm x 0.4mm)


Our scraper blade kit includes all 6 scrapers (3 large, 3 mini) in a versatile money-saving set for the guitar shop.

Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows why he uses scraper blades instead of sandpaper for the final smoothing before the finish goes on a guitar.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 4-05-2014
Excellent tool

Easy to make sharp, and the stand time is long when I use the tools. Thanks.

Bjarne Christensen  Løgstør Denmark Read my reviews (8)
4 3-23-2014
Scraper Blades

Scrapers are very useful for working and preparing wood. They leave a much finer finish in much less time. Unfortunately they are not easy to use and much less sharpening. It took me quite some time to put them to good use and still is difficult to put them in good condition, especially the curved parts.

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
5 2-12-2014
Mini scrapers with attitude

I really like the mini scraper set, the shapes and sizes are very useful, and the saddle notches on the square one are brilliant, way nicer than wrestling with a utility blade. Recommended for your scraper arsenal!

Leo M Whitebird  Mpls Mnn Read my reviews (17)
5 2-03-2014
Scrapers

Good investment! Bought the whole set. Makes it easy to get everything nice and smooth.

Serb200  Valparaiso, IN
3 2-02-2014
Average

Average quality, feels too thin but ok for the price

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
5 1-12-2014
Great, great, great!

I got the small curved and the oval one. Just the things I needed for completing a complicated volute I was trying to achieve.

Greg  Columbia, SC Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-23-2013
scrapers

Handy work :)), but it,s Ok. You can change everything with them . We are talking about wood, you know that.

Criselectroputere  Romania
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-09-2013
Effective and easy to use

Quality tools, easy to use, works splendid

Davor Pantoja  Santiago, Chile Read my reviews (9)
5 7-17-2013
Great

I wish I got these earlier they work great, Thanks
Michael - Modesto

Smith  Modesto,Ca. Read my reviews (5)
4 7-10-2013
great scrapers

these are good tools, must have something like this at your workshop. got the mini concave-convex, the rectangular and the french curve. helps in many situations

Fábio Cardelli  Barueri, Brazil Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 32 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce