Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Saws : Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set

Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set


Read 20 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For easier refretting! Two specialized tools for scraping away wood chips and old glue, in ONE money-saving set!

See details below

Email a friend
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3603 Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set SAVE $3.30 Yes
$29.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slot Cleaning Tool



Refret Saw



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Chip Stoppers



Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
Refret Saw
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Chip Stoppers



Details
 Pictures
New frets won't seat correctly until the old fret slots are clean! These unique tools are needed to loosen and remove packed wood dust and old glue, and deepen shallow fret slots.

Refret Saw has two slim .020"-thick blades—one cuts on the pull stroke, the other on the push. Also sold separately

Fret Slot Cleaning Tool has a thin, hooked, square-edged chisel that's ideal for getting into the corners of the slots on bound fretboards and pries up dried glue. Also sold separately

Additional widths are available for the Refret Saw.

Additional fret slot cleaning chisel blades are sold separately.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 20 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2
5 4-11-2012
fret tool

worked as advertised, good stuff

Marvin James  Kersey, Colorado Read my reviews (9)
5 1-13-2012
The best for bound fingerboards!

Essential for fast and accurate results, a must have.

LiquidFingers  Montreal
4 1-13-2012
good but dangerous

These can be very helpful, but you can also f**k things up them. The hooky scratchy tool can chip the edges of the slot and the saw can leave you with a slot that's too wide. But when used with care these are very helpful tools.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
4 1-09-2012
Rescuing fretboards.

I purchased these tools to clean out the slots on some old fingerboards that a friend gave me. I first had tried a ground down razor knife and that really didn't work very well. This combo used together worked out better. Start with the slot tool and then move on to the push-pull fret saw. If anyone has trouble with the saw they need to try again with a gentler hand and it will probable work better.

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
5 12-17-2011
Essential Tools!

Gotta have em for fret work if you care about speed and quality!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 10-21-2011
Great Set!!

Excellent tools for bound finger boards. You need a little practice with the saw, I found a gentle touch works best. Don't try and force the saw. I use them both every day. A great time saver and worth every penny.

Good Vibrations  Seattle, Wa Read my reviews (8)
5 6-23-2011
Refret Saw & Slot Cleaning Tool

Once again Stew-Mac has delivered great value in your excellent tool offerings!

In my repair biz I do a lot of refretting and as such my life has been made easier by these two excellent tools. It's very clear to me that these tools were engineered by someone who knows what's needed to accomplish these tasks efficiently, safely, and successfully.

As I add more and more Stew-Mac Lutherie tools to my shop it's very clear to me that Stew-mac's excellent offerings are absolutely right on the mark!

Thanks Stew-Mac!!!

Lenawee Lutherie  Tecumseh Michigan Read my reviews (4)
5 2-22-2011
Just the thing for the job.

I was thinking how to manage planing of my bound fretboard to an even radius without having to remove the white fretboard edging, and still be able to restore the fretwire-slots to correct depth. I was advised to check this tool out and it was the perfect tool for the job.

Magnus  Onsala - Sweden Read my reviews (2)
5 1-21-2011
Perfect tools for the Job!

Well, Firstly I would like to point out that the review by RSE was unfair, and basically due to user error. These tools (especially the cleaning tool) are not meant to Deepen the fret slots to the extent I believe the previous Reviewer was saying took him 6 hours. In 25 minutes, I managed to clean and restore the fretboard of a vintage ebony boarded electric guitar with thin binding, without so much as a single chip.

If you have a burnisher (just a hand held one for use on scrapers) and know how to correctly burnish an edge, It can help on the end of the cleaning hook so that you don't end up angry like the other guy. I did this, and restored the edge within 30 seconds. The hook then worked BETTER than I could have ever imagined. It worked like a miniature plane in the fret slots, and got all the old glue and dust out after the reprofiling of the fretboard.

One of the best tools in luthiery I have ever used. I'll probably buy another one just to have a spare.

NOTE: Use the cleaner before the refret saw, as if you haven't, you may find it really hard to get the refret saw into the slot.

Happy playing. :)

Dave H  Canberra, Australia
1 11-03-2010
Refret tool and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool

My task was to deepen fret slots in an ebony bound ebony fret board on a classical guitar, after planing down the fretboard. I found the Refret Saw was totally useless. It just jammed in the existing slots and could not be moved, no matter how much force was applied.

I accomplished the job by scraping the fret slots with the Fret Slot Cleaning tool, but it was a laborious 6-hour job, and wore out both of the blades that come with the tool. StewMac needs to sell replacement blades. The Slot Cleaning Tool also tended to jam, and then suddenly slip, damaging the binding in several places. A carefully guided Dremel with the right size end mill might be a better tool for this job.

RSE  Canada
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce