Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Sanding tools and supplies : Robo-Sander

Robo-Sander


Read 30 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Works with your drill press! The Robo-Sander™ abrasive drum features a built-in guide wheel for accurate pattern-sanding using templates you make in your own shop.

See details below

Email a friend
Robo-Sander
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5665 Complete set of 3 Yes
$91.50

5662 1" x 2" Yes
$19.93

5663 2" x 3" Yes
$26.90

5664 3" x 3" Yes
$44.67


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Luthiers Friend Sanding Station



Replacement Abrasive Sleeve



Scraper Blades



StewMac Ultimate Scraper



Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank



Luthier's Friend Sanding Station
Replacement Abrasive Sleeve
Scraper Blades
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank



Details
 Pictures
Available in three diameters, the Robo-Sander runs on a bronze bearing for smoothness. It works with your drill press to sand wood and other materials up to 2-3/4" tall. Each Robo-Sander is supplied with a 50-grit abrasive sleeve.

Sold individually or as a complete set. Replacement sleeves sold separately.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Robo-Sander
Robo-Sander
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 30 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 3-28-2014
Robo Sander

These work perfect for sanding flush to templates if you dislike the thought of using a router table. i would definitely recommend these for shaping guitar necks. obviously it takes a lot longer than a router but it is better than destroying a piece of wood or worse a finger. great product !!

ukmanufactured  england Read my reviews (9)
5 2-03-2014
Mr Robo

Excellent! Takes a little practice to replace sleeves easy.

BerBer Guitars  Belgrade, Serbia Read my reviews (10)
5 11-16-2013
drum!

makes contour easy. :)

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
5 10-20-2013
Nice Robo-Sander

This is a very well done product. Inexpensive for what it does.

Lucas Caracik  São Paulo, Brasil
2 8-20-2013
Not good quality.

The size of the wheel is greater than the body. Sandpaper is difficult to replace.

R.s.neuf  seoul,korea Read my reviews (3)
5 4-03-2013
first class tool

super robo

fret  athens greece Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
3 3-18-2013
Out of line

This arrived in the UK in double quick time as usual using DHL. I know that the Robo-Sander has got very favourable reviews but it does have problems. I bought it primarily to shape truss rod covers like the StewMac but in wood. Unfortunately, the tool really needs very thick patterns to work effectively. The big plastic washer which butts onto the pattern is chamferred which means that the pattern has to be thick if the copy of the pattern is to reach the abrassive. There is a gap between the bottom of the drum and the washer which means a thicker pattern still. You could have the abrassive a bit lower but then it would not be supported by the drum which is not a good idea. If the pattern is not very thick (say 18 mm) even then you are sanding on a very narrow strip with no room for adjustment. So, get rid of the chamfer, Stewmac, please as a starter. Also consider having the washer cut upwards so it is at the bottom of the drum. Once you have made your chunky pattern it works well enough for that purpose though it is slow compared to an oscillating sander as you would expect.

CliffE  UK Read my reviews (7)
5 1-18-2013
Great tool!

I've ordered the smallest one. Great tool which makes it very easy to sand smooth corners in to difficult woods like an ebony bridge.

Kevin Gillet  The Netherlands
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-10-2013
Good stuff

This thing was a stroke of genius I tell you.
Perfect for making body edges straight.

Jessie  Wagga Wagga, Australia
5 12-05-2012
Robo sander

It's just arrived now and I already love it. Great custom service guys it's arrived in just 2 days... it takes more to receive stuff from shops in my town... Great work guys I'm surely going to get more stuff from your store

Giorgio Trippa  Rome Italy
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 24 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce