Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Sanding tools and supplies : Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads

Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads


Read 95 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Extra-gentle hand polishing for high-gloss finishes. Fingertip-size foam pads with the remarkable Micro-Mesh™ abrasives on both sides.

See details below

Email a friend
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3711 Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads Yes
$11.21
3 or more $10.07  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



Preservation Polish



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
The cushioning allows gentle polishing of finished surfaces to a mirror gloss. We use these regularly in our own shops for finish touch-ups and repairs.

The set of nine pads includes #1500, 1800, 2400, 3200, 3600, 4000, 6000, 8000, and 12000 grits. Use the grits in sequence to achieve a super gloss.

Micro-Mesh™ features tiny abrasive crystals on resilient cloth-backed latex. These gentle "cushioned" particles generate less heat and friction than ordinary finishing papers, don't load up as quickly, and last up to 15 times longer. Use Micro-Mesh with soapy water to produce a scratch-free mirror shine on finishes and pickguards. Great for repairing scratches and overspray. Use them for polishing frets, too.

Micro-Mesh was developed for polishing jet windshields to maintain their optical clarity. Imagine how your instrument will look!

Also see: Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit and Touch-up Stick.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 95 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  10 >
5 5-25-2012
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads

I purchased 2 sets and they work great for cleaning up pick scratched. Easy to use and a very effective solution for various surfaces.

Roadstead Music  Yucaipa Read my reviews (2)
5 5-21-2012
sweet

After using all the fret erasers then move to these wow... what a shine. Buy these. Forget the old sand paper and steel wool mess

kennylee  aberdeen maryland Read my reviews (4)
5 5-18-2012
Great product

These pads make your frets look like jewelry.

Douglas Kratz  Malvern, Arkansas Read my reviews (7)
5 4-23-2012
Definitely a must

Got a set of these for a few different uses. They really did a great job in all of them. I used them for polishing up binding, finish, & frets, and they exceeded my expectations, especially at the very reasonable cost of a whole set.

Danny Clayburn  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-19-2012
Must have

Great for finishing and they start at a lower grit as opposed to other suppliers who start at 2400 grit. Price is right.

easy1  Florida Read my reviews (11)
5 4-05-2012
Great for polishing

I had just bought a used telecaster and the frets were worn some, so I leveled them and re-radiused them with a fret file and then used the fret erasers to smooth them up and completed the job with these polishing pads. They worked great as you can see in the picture.

R J Adams  Waynesboro, Va Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-04-2012
Micro-Mesh Finishing Pads

Have tried many polishing methods on frets and this system is by far the best. Did a wonderful job on my SS frets!

Suhr3825  CA Read my reviews (44)
3 4-02-2012
based on buffing

why this isn't getting a 4 or 5 this isn't to say its a bad product and I hate to be negative but I'm no stranger to sanding but here's what I don't like about the product.

the color coding system inside the plastic you really have to use your imagination the colors aren't 100% like the pads, perhaps writing them on the sides or individually packaging them maybe if not a thin sticker that would peel off them but that may clog the abrasives, but some of those ideas would make the product more expensive perhaps.

I'll find some other uses for this and probably just use these on hard to reach places but this isn't "endgame" for me I'll still buy waxes, polishes..ect. Good luck to anyone else interested in this product I used every grit three times up and than down making sure one grit got rid of the previous grits scratches without missing a single grit and im not happy with the results I'm sure some may have the patience , willpower or whatever you want to consider it for this messy process but I don't knowing I can blast my buffer on and in minutes i'll do what the half hour or so my micromesh couldn't.

jasontallwood  canada
4 3-23-2012
Great stuff!

First I masked off the outer area with painters tape (don't use tape on vintage guitars) then I soaked the pads in water with a little suds of Dawn. Starting with the more coarse (only a few strokes) and to the nest finer (less course) pad until all pads were used. It took less than 5 minutes in all. The first time I was not that impressed but I did the exact same thing the next day and MAN, IT LOOKS GREAT!

David Mears  Manchester, NH USA
5 3-11-2012
Excellent Finishing Pads

These pads are so useful, they have a multitude of uses they are excellent for cleaning fret boards, finishing small touch ups between coats, polishing frets off and the polishing of any metals. One of the best uses I have found is removing marks from finished area’s of the guitar i.e. The forearm comfort camber on a strat, I had a dark mark that nothing would shift on the camber, but these pads moved it. The most recent job I used them for was on my 1973 strat, to polish the frets after removing some marks and re-crowning them, these pads are the bee’s knee’s, don’t know how I managed without them and to top it all they are very good value fort money.

M Dawes  South Shields, England Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce