Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Sanding tools and supplies : Fret Dressing Stick

Fret Dressing Stick


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The Fret Dressing Stick features interchangeable sanding belts for removing the scratches left by leveling and crowning files.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Dressing Stick
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1826 Dressing Stick with 10 belts (2 of each grit) Yes
$10.74

1827 Dressing stick only Yes
$2.89

1828 120-grit replacement belt (red), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1829 240-grit replacement belt (blue), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1830 320-grit replacement belt (green), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1831 400-grit replacement belt (yellow), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1832 600-grit replacement belt (black), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Details
 Pictures
File a notch in the end of the stick to conform to the crown of the fretwire, and with the finer-grit belts it becomes a great tool for fret polishing.

This 6" x 1/4" (152.40mm x 6.35mm) tool is spring-loaded to keep pressure on the sanding belt. A flip of your thumb rotates the belt for a fresh sanding surface.

The Dressing Stick isn't only for fret work. It's great for leveling drip marks in lacquer finishes or super glue touch-ups, for sanding inlays, for fine scroll work, and more.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 4-29-2013
Great tool.

Bought this to dress frets. Cut a groove a little larger than your fret size to allow for sanding strip thickness and put it to work. Thanks

Jerry Lee  Pass Christian ,Ms Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-11-2013
Dressing stick

I've just began working on frets(I'am a Diy)and i've found that this tool works great,precise handling to do an accurate job step by step.

JJ Blues  CAUVIGNY FRANCE Read my reviews (10)
5 2-22-2013
Fret Dressing Stick

A great little tool that makes you wonder why you haven't had it for a lot longer. Perfect for fine hard to hold work in those difficult to reach places.

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
5 9-27-2012
Muito bom.

Bastante prático e pode ser aplicado em várias situações diferentes.

Rodrigo Gomes  Brazil Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-08-2012
Sticky Ideal!

Great innovation. Have not used it very much yet, but it looks like it will be one of the tools that stays directly above my bench!

EMichaelJ  Dayton Ohio Read my reviews (4)
4 8-30-2012
Handy, but belts need clearer labelling

It's a handy little sanding stick that has many different uses.

Make sure you write the grit number on back of each belt a few times when you get them! The last thing you want to have to do when you need to use it is have to refer to a colour code system online or in a catalog - 3 different grits of the belts that I received didn't even b>HAVE/b> any colour markings on them!

Casual Rex  Australia Read my reviews (2)
4 8-02-2012
As advertised.

The stick works as advertised. Very versatile, and I love it for sneaking into hard to reach areas. A bargain.

Chris C.  Lumberton, NJ Read my reviews (4)
5 7-02-2012
fret dresser

this is great for dressing frets and the back works great for contours on the body of my guitars

lefty's rule  duluth mn Read my reviews (32)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-02-2012
Easy to use

Works great and easy to get smooth action and results. The different belts come off and on easily and stay put while working.

Brian Herbert  Smithers, BC, Canada Read my reviews (4)
1 4-30-2012
Not that impressed

I have such a limited budget for tools, I basically could get this or the 'Fret End Dressing File' (#1175). I chose this, and wish I handn't. The belts are not marked what grade they are, and I can only sand about 10 strokes before the belt has to be moved. It just isn't that good of a tool.

Jeff P Blues  Space Coast, FL Read my reviews (4)
StewMac responds

Jeff P,
We're sorry you weren't happy with the dressing stick. Rather than grit numbers, the belts have a colored stripe on the back to tell you which grit you're working with. The red stripe is 120-grit and the black stripe indicates 600-grit, for example. (Refer to the color codes listed online and in our catalog). For precision sanding of small parts, sometimes the dressing stick is the perfect tool for the job. We hope you can still find some uses for it in your shop.

Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce