Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Sanding tools and supplies : 3M Flexible Polishing Papers

3M Flexible Polishing Papers


Read 76 Reviews   |   Write a Review

'Finishing fabric' conforms to any surface. Strong micro-grit papers so flexible you can use them like cloth, wet or dry!

See details below

Email a friend
3M Flexible Polishing Papers

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6040 Green, 30 micron/400 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6041 Gray, 15 micron/600 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6042 Blue, 9 micron/1200 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6043 Pink, 3 micron/4000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6044 Aqua, 2 micron/6000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6045 White, 1 micron/8000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6046 Set of all 6 grits SAVE $1.00 Yes
$13.16


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Fret Erasers



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Fret Erasers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Because they conform to any surface shape, they're great for polishing contoured guitar finishes, frets, plastic pickguards, pearl inlays and more. The first samples we received were jealously hoarded in our shops, quickly becoming favorites for polishing nuts and saddles, and for touchups in lacquer finishes.

Sold individually or SAVE $1.00 when you purchase the set of all six grits.

"Indispensable for polishing bone and pearl nuts. They leave a gorgeous luster with no dark residue in porous bone."
—Don MacRostie, Red Diamond Mandolins

Each sheet is coated on one side with micron-graded particles of aluminum oxide (1200-8000 grit) or silicon carbide (400-600 grit), on an extremely flexible non-woven .007" synthetic backing.

The pattern coating won't clog quickly. They leave no dark residue in porous bone nuts and saddles. The durable tear-resistant sheet washes easily in water.

Each sheet is a generous 9" x 11" (228.6mm x 279.4mm).

"The most versatile abrasive in my shop."
—Erick Coleman

"Lasts a long time, and so flexible you can buff shoeshine-style!"
—Dan Erlewine

Polishing papers: flexible, reusable abrasives
Erick Coleman’s filling his toolbox with polishing paper scraps
Polishing papers: flexible, reusable abrasives Read more

In this issue:
Why has Erick Coleman been hiding small scraps of 3M Polishing Papers in his tool chest?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 76 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  8 >
5 4-01-2014
Great Stuff!

I used these wet in lieu of the coarser compounding steps on a recent finish project and they worked really nice. Wet-sanded with paper thru 1500 grit, then used 4000 and 8000 polishing paper, wet, followed by "swirl remover" compound, looks spectacular. Expensive, but one piece goes a long way.

Steve Fillipp  Lubbock, Texas Read my reviews (4)
5 3-31-2014
Useful

These polishing papers work well if you begin at the most-course and work all the way through from Green to White. I was surprised how rough my frets were when I looked at them with the Optivisor with lights (fabulous product, also). I made my way through and thought, I'll use my 0000 steel wool (about half-way through) "and see if it can get even *better*!" Oi! Big misstep, as the steel wool left scratches that I had to then go back and polish out. Bringing a fretwire to mirror polish on a guitar that has never had them polished will take time and patience. Once polished, I'm anticipating touch up's will be much simpler. I also used the 600 to knock down the gloss finish off of a section of a neck so I don't keep getting stuck on it when I sweat. I had success washing out the papers as well. Good stuff, but I'm looking to buy a set of erasers to find if they are an easier medium for the abrasives set. I channeled a pink school eraser with a chain-saw file (round) and that helped because there is enough support to do the work and enough flexibility to yield without creating more problems.

Stringdriver  US Read my reviews (3)
5 2-11-2014
These work great

I bought the set of all 6 grits. Listen to the previous reviewer and print out the colors/grits from this page, the sheets are not marked. I use these to polish frets after a level and crown. I cut a strip off the sheet and wrap it around a small eraser. Work through all the grits and the frets come out super smooth and shiny. I touch up the frets with the finer grades at string change time, much better than steel wool, and no messy cleanup afterward. Polish a bone nut or saddle with these and it gives a beautiful finish. The finer grades really smooth out the slots in them also.

Glenn Hughes  Oregon, MO Read my reviews (2)
5 1-24-2014
Wow! Wish I had tried it sooner!

When my most recent shipment from StewMac came in, these papers being a part of it, I had just finished fitting an acoustic saddle for a customer and decided to use these to give it the finishing touches. After cutting some small strips off the sheets, I went to town. Gotta say, I love how the flexible backing allows you to "strap" it over pieces of bone for smoothing and polishing. Excellent results. Afterwards, I blew the bone debris out of the strips with some compressed air, and used them to polish the frets on a level, crown, and polish. Taking the frets through all 6 grades is a sure-fire, and cost-effective, way of making those babies shine bright enough to blind someone, though unless you take some breaks during the process your arm/shoulder won't be thanking you afterwards.

Todd Reich  California Read my reviews (2)
5 12-20-2013
Truly great product!

I purchased the set of all 6 grits (highly recommended) and am really happy with the results. I recently bought a new guitar that had some rough finish spots on the neck - I won't mention the brand, but this was a 2K guitar and the finish is nitro. I just spent an hour or so polishing the neck with the 3M grit pack - starting at pink/3 and ending at white/1. Wow! Totally removed the uneven nitro spots (pink/aqua) and then brought the finish back to original gloss (white). A final polish, and you can't even tell I did anything. I was nervous doing this on a brand new guitar, but am really glad that I did. Thanks to the other reviewers who posted and got me educated on this amazing product!

TrimPot  CA
5 11-20-2013
Excellent wet sanding.

Expensive, but worth it. Print out this page with the corresponding colors and grit as there are NO MARKINGS on the papers themselves. I had to keep checking it for reference.

Daddy-O  Philadelphia Read my reviews (7)
5 11-11-2013
must have !!!

After recraning my frets,i use Fret Erasers and after it just wraparound it for a mirror shine, also great for Guitar Finishing. Absoult Great Product.

kamarija73  Sarajevo B&H
5 11-01-2013
Brilliant!

Wonderful stuff! It is flexible and fairly tough. I can start a fret polish job with one of the Fret Erasers (also found here on Stew-Mac) and then put a small piece of the finer grit fabric under the rubberized eraser and continue. Since there is some fine grit in the fret eraser, it holds on to this fabric material better than a regular rubber school eraser does, so I can use a smaller piece of fabric and not have to wrap it around the eraser. I save 2 ways: time and materials. My only gripes are that this fabric abrasive is not marked with the grit number on the back as well as using a color code - which I always forget; and that the color code does not match the fret erasers colors.

Angelwood  IN Read my reviews (11)
5 10-31-2013
Excellent stuff wet or dry

Better than paper or cloth.

jay jay  land o lake, fl Read my reviews (3)
5 10-09-2013
Very Nice..even for a non-pro

I have been setting up my guitars for years and always finish up - before stringing - with cleaning up the fretboard and polishing the frets with 0000 steel wool....I find the metal lint a real pain, though I am very careful to mask all the metal parts. I ordered these polishing papers and used them today on one of my Gibson Electrics (nighthawk). They really allowed me to clean up the frets, and even better get in tight where the frets meet the fretboard...and no scratches on the wood. I used the 400 grit, then the 600. Worked great!! I was able to polish any minor dents and scratches right away. But be a little careful, the papers collected metal dust and in my zeal it was transferred to the white binding. Pretty easy to clean up, but much easier to be careful and avoid it altogether. However, these are really great. A small piece (3 x 2 or so) did the whole job.

Byron123  new york, ny
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce