Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Measuring tools : Understring Radius Gauges

Understring Radius Gauges


Read 150 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate bridge saddle adjustment.
Each of these unique gauges has an accurately radiused arc on both the top and bottom surfaces, and is shaped to fit easily under the strings.

See details below

Email a friend
Understring Radius Gauges

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0353 Set of 9 Yes
$29.50

0352 17" gauge only Yes
$3.28


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Radius Gauges
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Use the bottom curvature to determine your fretboard radius, and the matching top curvature becomes a reference for setting string saddle heights for best playability.

Set of 9 now includes new 17" radius for Ibanez guitars!

Find your fretboard radius, and set your bridge saddles to match. They're handy for matching pickup polepiece heights to the arc of the strings, too. Precision laser-cut from .050" stainless steel.

The set of 9 gauges includes:
7-1/4", 9-1/2", 10", 12", 14", 15", 16", 17" and 20" radii.

They'll work for string spreads and fingerboards up to 2-5/8" (66.68mm) wide.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 150 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  15 >
5 3-29-2014
The best radius guages

I find these essential. They are far more versatile than any other type of radius gauges. Wouldn't be without them.

JMW  Biggleswade, UK Read my reviews (13)
5 3-26-2014
Very Helpful

Nice for getting the perfect adjustment!

Fred G  NJ Read my reviews (4)
5 3-25-2014
great tool

Essential tool when setting up your guitar or bass.These most certainly saved me time and money.

PK  lakewood,nj Read my reviews (2)
5 3-05-2014
TROUBLE SHOOTER

These saved me from an error I found on a neck said to be 12" radius. It had a 16" instead while the frets were at 12". Bought the 16" radius sanding block and self adhesive 320 grit/paper and voilĂ , problem solved. Also great for radius' on Gibson saddles, if you have a high/low spot and need to re-slot each saddle.

RF-GUITARS  Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 2-26-2014
Fantastic!

Another use for that hole.I turn it into my multitool.

yustech  Malaysia Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-07-2014
Size does matter...

I like the compact design on the gauges. The hole in the handle was a nice touch too. Gauging beneath the strings between the pickups makes saddle adjustments so much easier and quicker.

ElectricLarryLand  New Braunfels, Tx Read my reviews (8)
5 2-02-2014
Multi use tool

I use mine for under string adjustment, "over string" adjustment, nut shaping, even pickup pole profiling. Also good to investigate and spot fake necks (most signature fenders are 9.5, and most gibsons 12"). I like to check fret seating too (a small flashlight and the corresponding gauge do the trick).

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
5 2-01-2014
Very helpful gauges

Another item I put off buying in favor of making my own from online printouts, to bending a piece of wire to match the radius. These take all the hassle out, and showed me where I was off with my homemade gauges! Worth the price and very well made.

WBR Guitars  USA Read my reviews (9)
5 1-12-2014
Smooth Sailing

I am truly impressed with the ease of use of the Understring Radius Gauges. Up until that point, the action on my bass was too high and uneven across the neck. Now the action is low and silky smooth. A must have tool for ALL basses and guitars. Thanks again StewMac...

Brian J. Kelley  New Jersey Read my reviews (2)
5 11-10-2013
Fundamental tool

Great and simple. Precise construction!
Many application with it.

Sylvain  Matane Qc Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 13 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce