Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Measuring tools : String Action Gauge

String Action Gauge


Read 178 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate measurements for setups. Our String Action Gauge is a "Swiss Army Ruler" for setup adjustments on any stringed instrument.

See details below

Email a friend
String Action Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0670 Inches Yes
$18.95

0670-M Metric 1-2 weeks
$18.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Fret Rocker



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Fret Rocker
Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
This pocket-size stainless steel rule has become a luthier's favorite in busy shops. It's the best way yet to get vital measurements on acoustic and electric instruments.
• String height
• Bridge saddle height
• Saddle slot depth
• Fret slot depth (unbound fingerboards)
• Nut height
• Pickup polepiece height


No more "three-and-a-half-64ths or 3/32" plus one of those little lines." This gauge measures in ways that regular rulers can't. —Dan Erlewine

Developed here at Stewart-MacDonald by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie, the gauge features a progressive string height scale: simply slide it across the frets and read the measurement under the string. It's faster to use than any ruler, and stays parallel to the fingerboard—much easier than trying to hold a ruler perpendicular to a rounded fret. The string height markers are graduated from .010" to .140" on the inch model, and from 0.25mm to 3.50mm on the metric version.

The back of the gauge has a time-saving fractional/decimal/metric conversion chart.

The String Action Gauge is made of durable stainless steel with precision-etched markings, and fits right in your pocket.

Tip: You can use the gauge to set router depth, instead of a shop ruler. It sits solidly on your router base, with the scale right where you need it.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 178 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 151 – 160 < 1  ...  15  16  17  18 >
5 1-26-2011
String Action Gauge

I have tried several methods of measuring string height. From expensive digital measurement devices to the go-nogo methods. I can say that the String Action Gauge is the easiest, fastest and just best way i have found to do this. I carry it around in my pocket. You'd be surprised how many times a day i reach for it. It's a must have in my opinion

Big Dave  Troy, Missouri Read my reviews (2)
5 1-26-2011
a great tool

I added another great tool to my arsenal!! This really helps take the guess work out, no more guestimating!!

Back Porch Mojo  Southern Illinois Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-21-2011
String action Gauge

I have been Playing for 25 Years and have a Tech that sets up my Gear . I purchased this Gauge and it is a Time saver and makes setting up your Guitar a Breeze. I would recommend this for a beginner very easy to use . My Guitars just Play great.
Thanks Guys for another Great Product.

guitarman1  Orlando ,Florida
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-21-2011
A Winner

Now this is just the greatest little rule ever super smart idea.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 1-20-2011
A MUST have tool!

This little guy gets used constantly in my shop.

I can precisely talk to a customer about action and relief with the help of this guide.

It also comes in handy for making nut slots, setting pickup and pole piece heights, and I've even used to to measure the height a floyd rose bridge was sitting off the body, as my customer wanted it to sit "EXACTLY where it is now" when he brought it in for a setup.

Just a tip for the Aussies; Although in Australia we use the metric system, I got the Imperial version. Anything to do with measuring guitars, i prefer imperial, as 99% of reference material (DVDs, Books, Factory Specs) are all written in inches. Sure saves time doing the conversions. It takes a little getting used to, but I'm now really comfortable working with imperial measurements.

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 1-20-2011
string action gauge

i have used the gauge on all 12 of my guitars and it is very easy to use great pocket ruler!!!

jeffcshop  fulton Read my reviews (2)
5 1-09-2011
Incredibly useful tool

This tool maybe somewhat deceptively named. I have not only used it to set string action, but pick up height as well. It has really improved my guitars' sound and feel. I just set up my Dbl Cutaway Les Paul last night and it plays better than it ever has. The rest of my 15 guitars play the same way, thanks to this easy-to-use tool.

Once again, Stew-Mac to the rescue and my guitars are now setup professionally (by me). Loads of money saved and the use of this tool is exceptionally easy, even for a beginner. Stew-Mac also included a suggested setup sheet with mine that tells exactly where to start fine tuning my guitars' setup.

This tool isn't one of those cheap plastic ones that tear up within a month, but is heavy gauge stainless steel and will last for years to come. Thanks Stew-Mac! I am one happy customer!

Michael Myers  Maryville TN Read my reviews (2)
5 1-04-2011
Awesome!

One of my "desert island" tools!

DM  NS Read my reviews (2)
5 12-26-2010
like getting micrometer eyeballs

This is so easy to use and much easier to read than any traditional measuring tool. String height/action is a unique and critical specification for set up. This tool is specific and unique for the task.

Paul Hartmann  Hyde Park, NY Read my reviews (4)
5 12-23-2010
string action gauge

After using a pocket clip style ruler to set up guitars and dealing with the shadows,hold it straight,wobble it to find your height, this tool is nothing short of perfect and fast. Critical measurements are a breeze. Of all the tools I bought to do neck and fretboard work this gave the biggest bang for the least bucks. Now that I'm used to the .010 bar graph, measurements are super quick. You will love this tool.

hbgb  New Braunfels,Texas Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 151 – 160 < 1  ...  15  16  17  18 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce