Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Measuring tools : Notched Straightedge

Notched Straightedge


Read 66 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Read the fretboard instead of the frets. Developed in our shop, the notched straightedge has become a standard for evaluating fretboards.

See details below

Email a friend
Notched Straightedge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3814 For guitars Yes
$79.37

3813 For basses Yes
$81.58

3812 For short scale basses and baritone guitars Yes
$81.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Neck Relief Gauge



Radius Gauges



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Neck Relief Gauge
Radius Gauges
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
The notches fit right over the frets so you can check the straightness of the fretboard itself, without the interference of worn or badly-seated frets.

Made of machined stainless steel, satin-finished for easy marking with a pencil (cleans off easily).

#3814 For guitars
One edge is notched for Gibson "long scale", plus Fender and Martin fretboards. The other edge fits Gibson's 24-3/4" scale, plus 25" Paul Reed Smith and Dobro® Scale.
Length 16-1/2" (420mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)

#3813 For basses
One edge is for Fender 34" scale; the other edge for 35" scale.
Length 22-5/8" (575mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)

#3812 For short scale basses and baritone guitars
One edge fits Fender Bajo Sexto 30.2" scale, Gibson EB 30.5" scale, plus Fender 30" short-scale bass and Danelectro 30" baritone scale. The other edge fits Fender's Baritone Custom Jaguar 28.5" scale, Eastwood's 28" scale and custom baritone scales falling between 28" and 28.5".
Length 19" (482.6mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 66 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 >
5 8-06-2013
Get Straight!

Got the Bass one too! Wham-Bam, get the board straight then start finding high/low frets with the Rocker. But you better keep both hands on this thing with a good grip. If you slip this thing will ding a guitar big time.... You been warned....!

Mikaleno  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (5)
5 7-18-2013
Worth every penny

The notched straight edge paid for itself the first day I had it. I had one guitar that had tuning, action and intonation issues. Using the notched straight edge I was easily able to straighten the massive relief in the neck and after a string height adjustment to reset the action, I was able to perfectly set the intonation which has been an issue for this particular guitar for years. Perfect!

WAR  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
5 6-27-2013
Awesome!!!!

Pricey but the best tool for fret level prep. Must have for serious techs or builders..

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
5 6-14-2013
Notched straight edge

Setting up my guitar myself is all pretty new to me so any tool that helps me achieve a decent setup is a real plus.

j1shot3  Ct. USA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-13-2013
Expensive Yet Important Item!

This is excellent when you want to check the relief of a neck that has very uneven frets! By reading the board instead of the fret tops, you are eliminating a lot of guess work! Too bad its soooo pricey!

Rockin' Mike Burton  Canada Read my reviews (22)
5 3-23-2013
Buy this tool

If you have more that one guitar, this pays for itself instantly! Quality and easy to use. Must have for any guitar player.

Vinsaniity  Frederick,md
4 2-26-2013
Good tool and good value

I was a bit reluctant on buying this because I was unsure if I would really need it. But when doing fretwork like refretting and fret leveling, and to ensure the neck is straight, this tool is really worth it. I have the one for bass and guitar, and could not be without them now. The price is a bit high though, so that is why I do not give it a rating of 5 stars.

Tim Skau  Norway Read my reviews (17)
5 1-20-2013
Great tool

Allows me to read the fingerboard properly and avoid guesswork. Excellent quality but if you're a guitar instructor as well as repair tech..watch your fingers! The edges are precision machined and can be a bit spiteful if handled with anything less than caution.

Tom Sawyer (really!)  Vernon, CT Read my reviews (9)
5 11-26-2012
more scales

Works great, wish there was one for shorter scales (mando, tenor guit,etc)

Leo M Whitebird  Mpls Mnn Read my reviews (17)
5 11-25-2012
Awesome tool!

I work in a large retail music store where the norm for guitar setup prior to my arrival was the "just throw a wrench on that guitar" (meaning adjust the truss rod) approach. Any guitar tech or luthier with half a brain knows that proper guitar setup is much more than a truss rod adjustment. These straightedges allow for an ultra precise view of your neck's relief or lack thereof. Sure, you can eyeball it, but WHY? I love being able to demo this tool while I'm checking out a customer's guitar. Customers are VERY interested in what it is and what it does. It really makes you look like a pro because pros use the right tool for the job and don't worry about looking like a know-it-all, eyeball it and hope for the best, Mr. Cool dude.....

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce