Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Measuring tools : Neck Relief Gauge

Neck Relief Gauge


Read 17 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Takes the guesswork out of guitar truss rod adjustment, for more consistent and accurate playability.

See details below

Email a friend
Neck Relief Gauge
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2004 Neck Relief Gauge Yes
$99.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set



Nut Slotting Gauge



Truss Rod Wrench Set



String Action Gauge



Basic Setup Kit



Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
Nut Slotting Gauge
Truss Rod Wrench Set
String Action Gauge
Basic Setup Kit



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Adjust a truss rod without guesswork!
Our Neck Relief Gauge helps you quickly and precisely adjust guitar fretboard straightness (for comfortable playability without fret buzz). It accurately measures the amount of variation from a dead flat position, to take the guesswork out of adding or subtracting neck relief as you adjust the truss rod.

Playability you can measure. You'll see the relief measurement on the dial as you adjust the truss rod, so it's easy to keep the neck playing its best. It's a great way to establish optimum standards for individual instruments, string gauges and playing styles.

Dependable and accurate. Designed by Don MacRostie here in our R&D shop, the Neck Relief Gauge is made of machined aluminum for stability. It has an easy to read dial indicator that's super accurate to .001". The feet of the gauge rest directly on the frets, so the measurement won't be compromised by a worn fingerboard. It's 12" (304.8mm) long, and can be positioned to take a relief measurement at either the 5th or 6th fret on a guitar fingerboard.

Instructions are included.

The Neck Relief Gauge is included in this money-saving set:
Nut Slotting Gauge and Neck Relief Gauge Set


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Neck Relief Gauge
Neck Relief Gauge
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 17 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 2-09-2014
Neck Relief Gauge

Added the Neck Relief Gauge to my arsenal of tools. Good quality and very accurate, a great purchase!

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
5 9-12-2013
Fast measurement

Very accurate tool if your goal is working on your fretboard.

pablopuerto  Chile Read my reviews (16)
5 3-28-2013
Essential Item

I think it would help if it was shipped set up on a straight edge and marked (straight is straight) but once done if you have a bunch of guitars it is the only thing to use to set neck relief which typically has to be done at least twice a year, in the winter when the heating comes on and in the summer again. The reading is not a real number like a feeler gauge where you read 0.01" etc. but when you cross reference and get a feel or it you know what reading on the gauge relates to 0.01" or whatever you want for that guitar (keep a record). You will find that you stop bothering about the actual measurement and just work with the number on the gauge, and then checking relief is so easy it just becomes a regular thing. So takes getting used to but once mastered you will wonder what took you so long t get one.

Jeremy T  London
3 3-27-2013
Simple Solution

I've been buying tools happily for many years from Stew-Mac but I got to agree with others this is one product that a short video can help clarify on how best to use. I'm sort of surprised that folks at Stew-Mac who are extremely helpful and responsive haven't done it already.

GuitarZenMan  Elk Grove, CA
5 4-28-2012
Excellent Choice

I have all my guitars with the same neck angle and action thanks to this tool. 100% Recommended

Miguel H Peña  Venezuela Read my reviews (4)
1 2-24-2012
Neck Relief Gauge needs a Calibration tool

Bought this a few years ago. Since you need a dead-flat surface to calibrate it, like those crazy $$ granite stones, it hasn't aided me much at all. Stew-Mac need to repackage this with something to calibrate it against(what ever that may be) to make it worthwhile. Until then, it sits in my tool drawer.

Armando  Parrish, FL Read my reviews (2)
5 2-07-2012
better instructions?

This gauge works great...The problem with others users reviews is ,they needed better instructions....You have to rock the gauge back an forth to get the correct reading on a rounded fret..The correct reading is the largest number {change} from your zero point..Which is usually a minus with some relief..Finding a flat surface for calibrating can be a problem..if you have a good straight edge, that will work..Better instructions are needed..

jerry wallace  artesia, nm Read my reviews (3)
2 12-02-2011
Faulty instructions

I had the same difficulty in getting an accurate reading as the two other negative reviewers. Also, I don't have a truly flat surface to calibrate it. And the instructions don't mention that the lowest reading is when it's flat. Maybe it should be obvious but it wasn't to me. I wonder why it wasn't mentioned to me when I called about returning it. I got a straight edge from StewMac and that works fine.

RalphWB  New York
5 10-05-2011
You need opposable thumbs to use this tool

This tool works great. I am shocked at the reviews of JukinJimmy and SteveC, saying they can use it. You have to learn to coexist with any tool. Sure, it must be held steady by one hand to obtain a good reading. If you are not certain if it is flat across the frets, rock it back and forth. During this rocking, the lowest reading is when it is flat. A wider base would present a new problem by rocking fore and aft across the curvature of the fret.

Steve West  Colwich, Kansas Read my reviews (7)
1 5-08-2011
Could be better

I'd have to agree with jukinjimmy of Iowa. I too found the base to be so unstable that the readings were unreliable, and sent mine back. What would improve this tool tremendously would be to give it the same broad base as the nut slotting tool - THEN it would be able to give repeatable measurements. Till then save your money.

Steve C  Twin Cities, MN Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 14 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce