Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Measuring tools : Fret Slot Depth Gauge

Fret Slot Depth Gauge


Read 35 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Be sure your fretwire will fit! Don't wait until after you've installed a fret to discover the slot wasn't quite deep enough!

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Slot Depth Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5435 Fret Slot Depth Gauge Yes
$4.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Japanese Fret Saw



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Japanese Fret Saw
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Dan Erlewine developed this remarkably handy "look-before-you-leap" gauge for quickly comparing the wire to the slot. Simply hold the flat edge against the fret tang, note the height of the tang against the reference lines, fit the appropriate curved edge into the slot, and compare the lines again.

The gauge is machined from .018" (.46mm) stainless steel for durability in the repair shop, and it fits into any fret slot. It's a big help for refret jobs (it fits bound fingerboards), for setting the depth stop on our adjustable fret slotting saw, and for setting the cutting height of our fret slotting table saw blade. The non-glare etched surface is easy to read, and the curved edges fit all popular radiused and flat fretboards.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 35 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 10-09-2011
Simple but important tool

Works like a champ. Helps assure the fret slot is cleaned out, deep enough across the width, not just in spots.

D Graber  Vermont Read my reviews (7)
5 8-29-2011
Very handy!

I like the depth gauge for finding the depth of old slots.It's definitely an upgrade and quicker than using a rule.Thanks for another great fretting tool.

Dave Anderson Guitars  Port Richey,Fl. Read my reviews (5)
4 6-25-2011
Very handy

While you can use other devices to perform the same function, I just found this to be pretty handy especially to measure the fret slot across the broader neck dimension especially at the ends of the slot towards the fretboard binding. Careful as it may not be thin enough to easily measure some slots that are very tight (.020-.021).

P Smith  Cary, NC Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-02-2011
Fret Slot Depth Gauge

Great gadget - I used this along with a fret saw to get just the right depth. Worked great. Highly recommended so you don't over or under cut.

MarcMaria  San Jose CA Read my reviews (6)
4 4-07-2011
Fret Slot Depth Gauge

This is a super handy tool! The frets slots are cut while the board is still flat. Once the binding is glued on, and the radius is sanded onto the front, your fret slots are now shallower at each end! Now, you can't see in there to check, because the binding is in the way. What is the easy, and more importantly, accurate, way to determine if the fret slots are still deep enough? Fret slot gauge to the rescue! It's the easy way to verify that your fret slots are still deep enough, and not obstructed by glue, from putting on the bindings. It's far better that the various strips of assorted "stuff" I've used in the past for this job. Considering the very small price tag, this is a must have item if you make fret boards!

Frank B  Youngstown, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
5 3-07-2011
don't leave home without it

fast and accurate really helps to make sure your frets slots are deep enough. Helps you follow the curve of the fret boards

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
5 2-24-2011
Very handy tool.

It is a little on the small side but if it were any bigger I wouldn't be able to use it on other smaller instruments.

jLam Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 2-11-2011
Great tool

This tool can save you a lot of aggravation. Pressing a fret in a slot that is slightly too shallow can spoil your day and your fretboard! It is small and easy to lose, so put it in a safe place. Not small enough for mandolin boards, though. A scaled down version would be handy.

John G  Cleveland, OH Read my reviews (2)
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

A simple little tool that's worth its weight in GOLD

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 10-26-2010
Small tool..big value

I chuckled when I saw how small this tool was. Then the first day I used it, I found it was a great bang for the buck. I was able to locate a fret slot that had a slightly shallow area to it. This allowed me to resolve the issue BEFORE I pressed the fret into place. It saved me time and most importantly it saved me any damage from removing a new fret to resolve an unforeseen issue.

JRE Productions  Plainfield, IL USA Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce