Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Leveling : Fret Rocker

Fret Rocker


Read 118 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Pinpoint those pesky high frets, and check the final height after you've redressed or replaced them, reach for the Fret Rocker!

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Rocker

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3770 Fret Rocker Yes
$24.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Action Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Essential Fretting Kit



String Action Gauge
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Essential Fretting Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Our 4-in-1 mini straightedge spans three frets and "rocks" to indicate uneven fret heights. Precision-machined for accuracy to .0015" per foot, the 4", 3", 2" and 1-5/16" edges make it versatile for any fretted instrument, from basses to guitars to mandolins.

The Fret Rocker is made of 1/8" nickel-plated steel with a satin finish, for durability in professional use. It's an indispensable diagnostic tool, before and after partial refretting and recrowning jobs. It lets you do more accurate fret work for better playability.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Rocker is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 118 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  12 >
5 6-18-2012
It is simple and it works.

So easy to use anyone can find the frets that are causing that buzz. A must have if you plan on doing any guitar repairs.

abilbay  Ft Worth, TX Read my reviews (12)
3 6-13-2012
Works great But....

Works good and is everything that it states it is.... but..... It is, again, much more expensive than it needs to be. I love Stewmac through and through... but Geeeeeez.. Lower your prices!!!

Habstep18  Colorado Springs Read my reviews (2)
5 6-07-2012
Very useful

This works as expected, and 10 minutes after I got it, I found the frets that needed adjustments. Very helpful

Tim Skau  Norway Read my reviews (17)
5 5-10-2012
Ready to Rock

After doing my first fret job, this is an invalueable tool to level everything out. You hit the highspots with a good single cut file, finish it out with the 3 in 1 fret file, then hit it with the fret polishing stick. Put the neck back on, string it up and you're ready to rock! StewMac has everything you need! The right tools always let you win.

axe fixr  Richardson (Dallas) Texas Read my reviews (10)
5 5-09-2012
I love this thing

What an ingenius little tool. I use it non stop while refretting.

Nick Knirk  McKinney, TX Read my reviews (4)
5 4-19-2012
Quickly find high frets

I had seen a video where a guy used a credit card to check for high frets. Seemed like a good idea and works to some degree, but if the credit card isn't completely flat it loses accuracy. Trying the credit card trick made me decide to order the fret rocker. I wanted to see how it works and I love it. It is wide enough to stand on its edged so you know it is perpendicular to the frets and there is no question about its accuracy. Bad thing is that now I see how much work I really have to do to make my guitars play better.

Kris Reese  Fishers, IN Read my reviews (4)
5 4-19-2012
Useful tool.

I am restoring several old Silvertone and Harmony acoustic guitars. I found this tool to be helpful in identifying high frets that were causing fret buzz. These old guitars are notorious for having extremely high action. I have been able to get the action as low as on any quality modern guitar. Some might say that wouldn't be possible but it is and this tool helped get it done.

JHW  Lexington, KY Read my reviews (12)
5 4-02-2012
It just plain works

Works just like the video says. Found the high fret, filed it, no more buzz. A must if you like low action.

Joey D  East Meadow, NY Read my reviews (3)
5 3-29-2012
Elegant Solution

Armed with this and a Sharpie, you can find any and all high frets (or _areas_ of frets) on an entire fretboard in not much more time than it is taking me to type this. Simple + incredibly effective = elegant solution.

Jim Marple  WV
5 3-19-2012
Quit dithering and buy it.

I'm the kind of fellow who likes to get by with as few special-purpose tools as possible. This thing is an exception. Does exactly what it says it does and pays for itself the first time you use it. And if you ever want a rather unpleasant surprise, take this thing to the factory necks of some of the big-brand name and find out just how many high frets they have. You'll probably find at least two or three even on $1,000 plus instruments!

Steve N  Santa Barbara, California Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce