Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Leveling : Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files

Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

These custom-made files give you a handle on your fret work!
SAVE when you buy the set of all three.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0861 Fret Leveler, 3" Yes
$35.94

0862 Fret Leveler, 6" Yes
$39.74

0864 Fingerboard leveler, 6" Yes
$39.74

0860 Set of 3 SAVE $6.93 Yes
$108.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Snapfile Leveling System



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Snapfile Leveling System



Details
 Pictures
These files work quickly to level frets or fingerboards, leaving a smooth finish.

Each file is 1" wide with a comfortable hardwood handle. The 6" length is for general use, and the 3" length is for spot leveling.

The fret leveling files have single-cut teeth with a steeper angle to eliminate "chatter." They cut faster and smoother than most fret leveling files we've used, they work quickly, and they're great for dressing and beveling fret ends.

The fingerboard leveler is a double-cut file for ebony, rosewood and pearl inlays. Despite its rough appearance, it leaves a smooth finish.

Essential for fretting
The #0862 Fret Leveling File is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 39 < 1  2  3  4
3 7-30-2011
It's ok

Lawn mower blade from hardware store cut better for me. A lot to pay for a wood handle.

Marv  Cleveland, TN Read my reviews (7)
5 5-28-2011
Very nice

Did my very first fret level with this and it turned out great.
Easy to use.

Mojoman  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
5 4-24-2011
Awesome Tool

I purchased the 6" file, it was easy to use and worked great. After crowning the frets the bass sounds great with no buzz. Just be careful not to take to much off when filing.

mamonday  Albertville,Al USA Read my reviews (2)
5 2-02-2011
Excellent file!

This is a very easy file to use. It has a great grip, is comfortable, has no sharp edges in the wrong places, cuts just enough and not too fast. Highly recommended. I used this file to knock down the exposed edges of a new Am Std Strat. Then I cleaned them up with a fret dressing file and finished with a series of abrasive pads. All from Stew Mac and it turned out much better than the factory fretjob!

James Finnerty  ROCKville, MD Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
4 11-30-2010
Nice file with useable handle

I was using just a plain file in the past but the wooden handle has me spoiled, keeps your hands far away from the sharp ends. Would not be hard to make. The only issue I had is after 6mos of minimal use the file separated from the handle. I could have just re glued the file to the handle but in looking at it, not enough glue was applied in the first place (IMHO). I did contact Stew Mac and they replaced the filed right away. Other than that it is my go to file for the fret edges.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
5 11-25-2010
Fingerboard leveler, 6"

Excellent tool for leveling inlays. Leaves an almost perfect surface, and doesn't "dig in" and scuff up the surrounding wood, like so many other files will.
I have yet to find a better tool for this job.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 11-22-2010
Good tool

Handy and efficient file. Cutting surface planŠµ is absolutely flat (of course I don't mean surface itself), that is essential for fret leveling. This tool saved A LOT of my time and abrasive papers.

It leaves some unwanted scratches on frets, but you need only minor grinding (i use 320 abrasive paper) to eliminate them.

i wish i had the same tool but extended length - like 9 or 10 inches.

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
5 11-14-2010
excellent

Great product. Levels frets quickly.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
5 11-08-2010
Very Efficient File!

I have always use regular rat-tail metal files in the past to level frets. After buying and using the 6" file from Stewmac, I will only use my new file. It handled a challenging fret job with ease. It cuts quickly, so go slowly!

JC Leonard  Sarasota, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 31 – 39 < 1  2  3  4 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce