Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Leveling : Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam

Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam


Read 46 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Extended length for fast, precise shaping. Create a constant radius on an unfretted fingerboard, or level installed frets with this unique tool for the professional guitar shop.

See details below

Email a friend
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5640 7-1/4" radius Yes
$132.15

5641 9-1/2" radius Yes
$132.15

5642 10" radius Yes
$132.15

5643 12" radius Yes
$132.15

5644 14" radius Yes
$132.15

5645 16" radius Yes
$132.15

5646 20" radius Yes
$132.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

4 Radius Blocks



8 Radius Blocks



Radius Gauges



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



4" Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
Radius Gauges
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
The 18" long extruded aluminum block is comfortable to hold, and its stiffness and precisely machined radius assure accuracy that's not possible with a wooden block of the same length. We designed this tool for a lifetime of use in the busy shop.

Lifetime durability • Extended length
Fast, accurate fret leveling and fingerboard shaping


Dimensions: 18" long x 2-3/4" wide (457.2mm x 69.85mm)
Seven different radii are available, for popular fretboard shapes.

A great clamping caul for glue-in fret jobs!
"I use aluminum fretboard sanding blocks to hold and clamp the frets in place while the glue dries...A scrap of Neoprene on the bottom of the caul protects the frets from the texture of the machined surface, and serves as a cushion that conforms to the radius a little better, conforming to any slight variations in the fretboard."
Excerpt from Erick Coleman's book Fret Work Step-By-Step

Cut and stick!
3M Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives are the right width for our leveling and radius sanding tools. Attach 80 through 220-grits for radiusing and leveling the fingerboard, and 220 through 400-grits for leveling the frets.
Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 46 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
4 5-29-2013
Great but should be wider

The Aluminum radius sanding beam is the best quality beam on the market. However it is, as are all of StewMac's radius blocks, too narrow for 5 string bass guitars. The should all be made 3.25" wide.

Roger Sadowsky  NY, NY Read my reviews (5)
5 10-07-2012
Works so fast

This tool certainly speeds up the process of levelling the frets. I havent used it yet in the gluing process as yet

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
5 9-21-2012
Great tool for new or refret leveling

Great tool, use for leveling finger boards & frets. Machined well, fits the hand and does a great job.

Tom Clement  Hale, Mi. USA Read my reviews (2)
5 9-15-2012
Straight as a razor!

Been using wood blocks for so long I didn't know what I was missing! This tool has cut my fret finishing time considerably and has more than paid for itself!

tootall  Oregon Read my reviews (2)
5 9-10-2012
wow kickass tool

omg stewart Mac, make guys like me (DIY) work like PRO this is a perfect tool for level fretboard, level freet, press fret etc etc it will make your job look well made in the end, i love this beam my guitar dosen´t play anymore , she sings!!!!!! :)

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
5 9-06-2012
Radius sanding beam

I like this product. It gives a good view of the fret heights from a radius view. We're ordering another radius.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
5 8-30-2012
Beaut!

This is the best thing since sandpaper! Got the radius done on two necks in the time it took me to do one with the shorter timber radius block! It sits in your hand perfectly and due to it's weight you don't have to put too much pressure to get the sand paper to do it's job. Another must have tool for the workshop!

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 8-01-2012
Usefull tool

I was looking at this tool for long time now. Finally I pulled the trigger, and bought the radius block. Is little pricey, but now my fretboards and frets are perfect.
Alex

Aleksander  NJ, USA Read my reviews (4)
5 4-28-2012
16inch radius sanding beam

This is a quality piece of kit, and has a satisfyingly heavy/solid feel in your hand. The radiused wooden blocks give pretty decent results, but these are a marked improvement. As a previous reviewer quite rightly pointed out, these 18 inch beams are best used in a simple jig, to keep it absolutely parallel to the piece you are sanding. Done this way the results are faultless.

Quentin Howarth  Cumbria, England. Read my reviews (5)
5 4-10-2012
Amazing Tool

Makes fretting and leveling a joy. I glue in the fretboard and then progress from 80 grit through 320 grit until I get the perfect radius and thickness. I drill the shallow holes for the pearl dots and glue them in. I level them with the radius block with 220 and 320 grits. I press in SM fret wire with a SM Jaws 2 fret pressing system. I sight down the fretboard and make any adjustments needed with a few hammer taps. I level with the 18” block with 320 grit until the frets are perfectly level and if I’ve done my job with a good wood sanding and good pressing, the adjustment is minimal. I recrown where needed with a SM diamond crowning file…400-1000 grit paper and steel wool until the frets and fretboard are buttery smooth and that’s it. About 2 hours start to finish and much less opportunity for screw ups. Great solutions from this company.

cknob  Media, PA Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce